Ang Wei Neng: Issue university degrees with a validity of five years to encourage lifelong learning

since1976

A typical Singaporean has many commitment. Will be nice to concentrate on studies pushing all commitment aside.

Shinji.Ikari

To be fair to him, that's not what he meant. If u break down what he said and listen carefully, he is saying he wants degree holders to do compulsory lifelong learning every 5 years. And he went on to say we have to be radical in our approach to ensure this happens and don't just pay lip service and he simply cited a 'poor' example of what he meant by radical i.e setting an expiry date to degrees.

Laguna123

Actually what’s wrong with his suggestion? He obviously doesn’t mean it seriously. But his point is that keep talking about lifelong learning but not doing anything is useless
Mean he is just another parrot of his master.:crazy:

sickoflife

Few things.
The ceca FW may not have better skills to begin with.
In terms of upgrading, it is a individual choice.
There is no need to whip the livestock to do it.
That is too much interference.

What is discussed in the House is serious.
So, you cannot tell lies.
And also not to suggest any stupid ideas.
Overall, I’ve seen a lot of high quality FTs applying for jobs here. There are low quality ones for sure but that’s not the point. I only have one position open and I choose the best. And FTs can easily swamp us with numbers.

that’s why sinkies don’t have a choice but to upgrade and compete against the best in the world.

it’s a cruel process because no other countries are subjected to this kind of worldwide competition. But unfortunately this is the price of living here

PaulLevesque

Knn say one thing and test response

Response good = implement and take credit
Response not good = flip flip flip away

sickoflife

To be fair to him, that's not what he meant. If u break down what he said and listen carefully, he is saying he wants degree holders to do compulsory lifelong learning every 5 years. And he went on to say we have to be radical in our approach to ensure this happens and don't just pay lip service and he simply cited a 'poor' example of what he meant by radical i.e setting an expiry date to degrees.
Finally got one PAP guy that dares to think out of the box and tio kan by conservative sinkies

jack-320

Looks like his cert is really expired

go to uptron, no need to worry about expiry date

Matjes

I will give him benefit of the doubt and assume that he’s not serious about the actual suggestion.

however it is also true that our workforce needs to upgrade skills and many are not motivated to do it.

how like that? Just wait for Indians FTs with better skills to come in and replace us?

Giving him the benefit of the doubt is as stupid as believing GST won't increase when they said only reckless spending will lead to it. Given the power, he WILL PUSH FOR IT!

Medicated Oil

Overall, I’ve seen a lot of high quality FTs applying for jobs here. There are low quality ones for sure but that’s not the point. I only have one position open and I choose the best. And FTs can easily swamp us with numbers.

that’s why sinkies don’t have a choice but to upgrade and compete against the best in the world.

it’s a cruel process because no other countries are subjected to this kind of worldwide competition. But unfortunately this is the price of living here
I dun disagree with you.
As I highlighted, it is a personal choice.
There is no need to force it like the snake oil.

guile

He obviously succeeded in shifting attention away from other more pressing issues.

Sauron

Why he don't know parliament is for serious discussion? Can suka suka mouth off his food for thought and radical idea. Need to be sacked

marksnow44

Obviously being Fxxxxxed by the BOSS.

They are the JLB for so long ask them to go continual learning sure die one.

Courage

If he was not serious about it why waste parliament time listening to his dross

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.