Any 2022 model Apple Studio Display users?

Singrish

Can I confirm that it comes with a separate power cable that connects to wall power socket? Haven’t bought Studio Display yet cos waiting for M4 Mac Mini. 😅 Looks like have but “in the box” it only shows thunderbolt cable so i wasn’t sure.

I need to connect Lenovo laptop from work via its HDMI port to Apple Studio Display’s usb-c (not thunderbolt) port.

Cos Lenovo only has one thunderbolt port and its used to connect Lenovo to wall power socket. Hence the only video port i have on Lenovo is HDMI. So basically Lenovo HDMI port is the source and output is Studio Display’s usb-c (NOT thunderbolt 3) port.

Would something like this work for my needs assuming Studio Display has its a separate power cable?
https://sg.shp.ee/Hitxzqk

reddevil0728

Can I confirm that it comes with a separate power cable that connects to wall power socket? Haven’t bought Studio Display yet cos waiting for M4 Mac Mini. 😅 Looks like have but “in the box” it only shows thunderbolt cable so i wasn’t sure.

I need to connect Lenovo laptop from work via its HDMI port to Apple Studio Display’s usb-c (not thunderbolt) port.

Cos Lenovo only has one thunderbolt port and its used to connect Lenovo to wall power socket. Hence the only video port i have on Lenovo is HDMI. So basically Lenovo HDMI port is the source and output is Studio Display’s usb-c (NOT thunderbolt 3) port.

Would something like this work for my needs assuming Studio Display has its a separate power cable?
https://sg.shp.ee/Hitxzqk

can see unboxing video

PetPet

Bring your Lenovo laptop to the Apple Store to check for compatibility to save time.if I recall correctly Apple uses DSC and thunderbolt to output 5k with a single thunderbolt cable. it’ll be ideal to check whether your laptop support these.

Singrish

Thanks all. Confirmed cannot now cos Studio Display’s usb c ports are data only. The only port on SD that can work with video is the TB port but work laptop only got one TB port which is connected to wall charger. 🤦🏻‍♂️ If it had two TB ports problem would be solved. Boh pian need to get thunderbolt hub liao.

Wah the price varies a lot sia. Belkin Connect Thunderbolt 4 5-in-1 Core Hub is $579. OWC TB4HUB5P is $343 some more got one more TB4 port. These are SG official store prices via Shopee lah. Buy from overseas resellers might be cheaper but im worried about different voltage and power plug type.

PetPet

Have you considered other displays? If you prefer high PPI displays, the Samsung Viewfinity S9 might be a better choice, as it has better compatibility with Windows-based laptops.

Singrish

Have you considered other displays? If you prefer high PPI displays, the Samsung Viewfinity S9 might be a better choice, as it has better compatibility with Windows-based laptops.
Thanks but IMO the main problem is work laptop only has one thunderbolt port which is used to connect charger to wall power outlet. Viewfinity doesn’t have HDMI port. Only thunderbolt & display port.

Thunderbolt is out for reason listed above. Even DP port is useless cos my laptop doesnt have usb-c port with DP alt mode. Its a crap work laptop with one thunderbolt, one hdmi, one usb 2 and one usb 3.2

Plus its just a little bit cheaper than Studio Display & quality (display quality and also the make of the monitor) isn’t as good as Studio Display IMO.

PetPet

If I’m not wrong the Thunderbolt ports on the windows laptop are capable of charging the laptop as well.

Singrish

If I’m not wrong the Thunderbolt ports on the windows laptop are capable of charging the laptop as well.
Problem is office laptop only has one thunderbolt port. If its already used for connecting laptop to wall power socket, i cant use it to connect to Studio Display what.

Unless i don’t need to use laptop’s charger? Any idea if i plug my office laptop’s thunderbolt 4 port to my Studio Display’s thunderbolt 3 port, besides SD acting as external display, can it power my windows laptop too?

PetPet

The studio display will charge your MacBook or laptop as long as it’s supported.

Singrish

The studio display will charge your MacBook or laptop as long as it’s supported.
Usually the laptop charger i plug into wall socket via thunderbolt port is 65W. Since Studio Display says one upstream Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) port for host (with 96W host charging), i guess should be fine then.

So basically the SD acts like a hub lah hor? Powers Lenovo while acting as external display.

GotBetrayed

Seems like 5k 120hz display and 6k 120hz display Should be coming soon, either Miniled or Oled.

Fellowes

Waiting for refresh Apple new slimmer bezel Studio Display with 90Hz or 120Hz Promotion + nano texture, if there is one next year. Hope it include A16 or A18 chip with support for AirPlay 2.

Just use the latest MBP display technology into a 27" and settled, the new M4 MBP use Quantum Dot Display Technology.

GotBetrayed

Got 32 inch 4K Oled and qd Oled competitiors out there with 240k refresh and infinite contrast.

Singrish

TBH all these fancy figures & name. How many of us laymen can tell the difference in real world scenario especially if we’re not viewing super high res content or gaming and require super fast refresh rate? 🤣

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.