any Casing recommendation for my first rig?

ken_lzj

decided to build my first rig and bought all the components from Amazon during Black Friday.

will get casing fr local retailer considering the shipping fee. but having some troubles selecting a good model after researching online and a few hours in sim lim..

requirement: solid and durable (plan to use the PC for 5-6yrs); better have two usb2.0 and two usb3.0 on top. will OC in the future so cooling is impt.

budget: below 150

currently looking at Cooler Master HAF912 (frd's recommendation) and Cooler Master Storm Enforcer (very similar to HAF912 but one less fan)

my build: i7 6700k, gigabyte z170 gaming-7, cosair 8GB*2 3000MHz, Asus STRIX 1080, Crucial MX300 750GB, Seagate 3TB, RM750x, C.M Hyper D92,

Any other recommendations?
Thanks!

ken_lzj

Or any suggestion on where i can get relevant info?

decided to build my first rig and bought all the components from Amazon during Black Friday.

will get casing fr local retailer considering the shipping fee. but having some troubles selecting a good model after researching online and a few hours in sim lim..

requirement: solid and durable (plan to use the PC for 5-6yrs); better have two usb2.0 and two usb3.0 on top. will OC in the future so cooling is impt.

budget: below 150

currently looking at Cooler Master HAF912 (frd's recommendation) and Cooler Master Storm Enforcer (very similar to HAF912 but one less fan)

my build: i7 6700k, gigabyte z170 gaming-7, cosair 8GB*2 3000MHz, Asus STRIX 1080, Crucial MX300 750GB, Seagate 3TB, RM750x, C.M Hyper D92,

Any other recommendations?
Thanks!

ken_lzj

ohh second recommendation on RD5 liao.
thanks for the link and the info.

i like the silent design but a bit worried abt cooling (didnt buy water cooling). how's ur experience on this?

buying asus cos i didnt research enough and my friends using asus...

so asus gpu fr amazon doesnt have warranty locally but EVGA has?

Fractal Design Define R5

Comes with 1 extra free fd case fan.

They comes in white, black, titanium. window and non window versions.

Just curious; why buy asus gpu, not evga? Touch wood anything happen, posting to Usa quite expensive.

ZrE0_Cha0s

i like the silent design but a bit worried abt cooling (didnt buy water cooling). how's ur experience on this?

yup. but R5 can remove the hdd cage for more airflow.

as for wc i didnt see any reviews on the intial release, but maybe u can go you tube to see now.

well the EVGA warranty also not LOCAL. but u will need to send to their Taiwan side for RMA. but their service is good so u dun have to wry about that.

xiaozozo

Fractal Design R5, and Corsair 400 ba?

Im using R5 personally, and it is really customizable/modular. Comes with CD-rom bay, but can be removed for putting radiators. Comes with 7HDD bays, in 2-separate trays, and can be removed to meet your needs. Has ample backroom for cable management. It is deep enough to house fat/tall/long gpu cards. Im using gtx 1070 no problem. Wont have clearing issue with radiator.

Audio+Mic jacks can be found infront, 2xusb3.0 and 2xusb also can be found in front.

ken_lzj

saw a cooling performance review(cant paste link here), a few degress higher than other models. but overall ratings are all very good. looks not bad.

yup. but R5 can remove the hdd cage for more airflow.

as for wc i didnt see any reviews on the intial release, but maybe u can go you tube to see now.

well the EVGA warranty also not LOCAL. but u will need to send to their Taiwan side for RMA. but their service is good so u dun have to wry about that.

ken_lzj

how's the cooling performance on ur build?
not sure it can hold i7 6700k with fan cooling and gtx1080 under 60 degree, a review testing it with i7-870 and ATI 5870 reading 59 degrees with min fan speed and 53 with max fan speed.
think internal temperature too high is not good in long term?

Fractal Design R5, and Corsair 400 ba?

Im using R5 personally, and it is really customizable/modular. Comes with CD-rom bay, but can be removed for putting radiators. Comes with 7HDD bays, in 2-separate trays, and can be removed to meet your needs. Has ample backroom for cable management. It is deep enough to house fat/tall/long gpu cards. Im using gtx 1070 no problem. Wont have clearing issue with radiator.

Audio+Mic jacks can be found infront, 2xusb3.0 and 2xusb also can be found in front.

kurui_

I'm not using r5, I'm using define s. Literally r5 minus all the drive cages plus an additional front 140mm fan mounting. Define S no USB 2.0 at front, r5 will suit you more.

Airflow wise think will be around the same, they do the same. Just minus 1 fan at the front.

Shipping to Taiwan is cheaper than to usa.

MianBaoFren

No local warranty for all. But evga allows u to ship to Taiwan for rma and it's cheaper.

Seriously all asus? Dear lord too rich...

Sent from A Cat Who Does Not Need A Reason To Post using GAGT

ken_lzj

i see. did u buy fr the link u sent me? it's good that lazada has lower price than sim lim and even with a free fan.
probably i will get the window one, to let the light out:s13:

I'm not using r5, I'm using define s. Literally r5 minus all the drive cages plus an additional front 140mm fan mounting. Define S no USB 2.0 at front, r5 will suit you more.

Airflow wise think will be around the same, they do the same. Just minus 1 fan at the front.

Shipping to Taiwan is cheaper than to usa.

ken_lzj

i guess they presume asus got better quality control...and willing to spend more for less trouble LOL

No local warranty for all. But evga allows u to ship to Taiwan for rma and it's cheaper.

Seriously all asus? Dear lord too rich...

kurui_

i see. did u buy fr the link u sent me? it's good that lazada has lower price than sim lim and even with a free fan.
probably i will get the window one, to let the light out:s13:

Yup, I got it from lazada convergent too. Best of all is no need to carry from sim lim.

Be warned, the case is huge.

You want can wait for lazada 12.12, or wait for Friday got MasterCard discount

AlvinDj

Wow.. So many R5 owners here...

And yes, after studying / checking / reviewing / researching high and low... With so much dilemmas...

I finally went for the FD R5 as well during 11/11..

ken_lzj

lolll.. how much did u get it? and how is ur experience with ur build?

Wow.. So many R5 owners here...

And yes, after studying / checking / reviewing / researching high and low... With so much dilemmas...

I finally went for the FD R5 as well during 11/11..

ken_lzj

all the components should arrive bfr 9th Dec so probably cant wait for 12/12 leh...thanks for the advice though

Yup, I got it from lazada convergent too. Best of all is no need to carry from sim lim.

Be warned, the case is huge.

You want can wait for lazada 12.12, or wait for Friday got MasterCard discount

AlvinDj

lolll.. how much did u get it? and how is ur experience with ur build?

Still awaiting my most important part to arrive... My Mobo!

But I have messed with it abit here and there already... Build quality seems rather solid I'd say... Paid $138 after discount (Listed price $158 during 11/11) Titanium / Window version

This case is considered a tad heavier than others due to the quality of the build.. Hence, the free delivery directly to your doorstep is definitely a plus!

Frankly... I was torn between 2 brands of chassis only... Corsair or FD...

Then later I chanced upon the Phanteks Enthoo Tempered Glass after purchasing R5 lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.