Any NS experts can advise?

MoeLanYong

My son ghost NS today.

The Major who spoke at BMT auditorium said the new system One BMT is where 10 schools will take turn to run BMT. For this batch, it is his turn. He is CO of Guards.

He clarified this does not mean BMT will be more siong or if all from this batch will be posted to Guards.

After the briefing I asked him how many will be posted to Guards. He said per last batch 375 out of 1,000 enlistees. The rest will go command schools and others.

Means what? Is this normal? They really take turns? Or my son suay suay kena Guards already?

zoossh

My son ghost NS today.

The Major who spoke at BMT auditorium said the new system One BMT is where 10 schools will take turn to run BMT. For this batch, it is his turn. He is CO of Guards.

He clarified this does not mean BMT will be more siong or if all from this batch will be posted to Guards.

After the briefing I asked him how many will be posted to Guards. He said per last batch 375 out of 1,000 enlistees. The rest will go command schools and others.

Means what? Is this normal? They really take turns? Or my son suay suay kena Guards already?

U asking if we can predict if your son will kena guards?

we are not scrabby. We can’t make predictions…

LoUsyGamER

My son ghost NS today.

For honor and glo.. Oops.. Wrong unit.

Cannot do anything then lun for 1 year 10months

treeskull

I can tell u it’s the OC will determine your son’s life in BMT. Last time my OC wanted to catch the first boat out of Tekong to accompany his wife so the last attendance taking very early like 6pm ish right after dinner then we hear the next company still left right left

xiao.xin

The idea of One BMT aka common bmt experience is that every recruit, other than Pikachu, will go to tekong.

Those active battalion will also take turn to station their unit to support BMT as part of the rotation.

So in the older arrangement, you've what they call a mono intake that will follow the unit all the way now you'll have jc kids mixing around with Chao ah beng so that nsf know the different sort of Singaporean and not just from their SES and education background

diequick

My son ghost NS today.

Last time (2+ yr NS), got mono-intake, the recruits will do BMT in units (likely kena tekan bcos unlike in schools, the training cadre are "left over" 2.5 yrs, no OO).

Now they change the system so every recruit will go BMT at BMTC (except for those divers and CDO), the platoon in BMT could be ear-marked for a particular unit. That whole platoon (or maybe company, that idk), will be (lets say 3rd Guards), then after BMT, men go 3rd Gds, Specs go SCS, Officer/Ocifers, go OCS, when they all complete, they go back to the same unit. Could be buddy buddy from BMT all the way to reservist.

Improved NS experience for all
Good or nt? No idea, i think last time betta, just in case buay ngam. Besides, in war time, really got full strength one meh? If the section only got 5 men, u still go lor, some got to take more ammo and run.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.