any pps solitaire member here?

tmkedmw

Yes, I know SIA abolished it in 2007. But I don’t know where the 1.9 million miles idea came from. It was never such an odd number.

Odd miles Probably rounded by 3 million km target.
ie 3000000/1.6 = 1875000 miles

Level42

Odd miles Probably rounded by 3 million km target.
ie 3000000/1.6 = 1875000 miles

Ok, fast track was indeed 3 million km.

https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/singapore-airlines-krisflyer/189178-pps-club-qualification.html

Post #14. Same understanding as me. 50K for 10 consecutive years, aka, PPS for 10 consecutive years. Except I forgot the criteria to cross 1 million miles in total. So @singexpat is right. Need to cross 1 million miles in total, in addition to 10 consecutive years of PPS status.

Fast track then was 3 million km. Apparently there was sector criteria too.

singexpat

It was 50K biz class miles for a year to get PPS. Then PPS for 5 consecutive years to get Solitaire. The moment one became a Solitaire member, the spouse also received a PPS card. Another 5 consecutive years of Solitaire membership granted the Lifetime membership. However, I vaguely remember First class travel got bonus biz class miles, so traveling in first class would earn more PPS miles. Cannot remember the percentage.

That 1 million miles you mentioned was also valid. Some kind of fast track, but I cannot remember the exact T&C. 50K biz miles a year for 10 years could be less than 1 million miles in total.

Update: Crossing 1 million miles was necessary to be given Lifetime membership. For Solitaire, there was a requirement to cross 500K miles first, before the status was granted.

I was told one reason lifelong was removed cos there was alot of Indonesian tycoons travelling on F class to SG and fro very often and chalking up the criteria fast.
Not sure how true it was but it was pretty interesting to a young adult me at tht time.

Level42

I was told one reason lifelong was removed cos there was alot of Indonesian tycoons travelling on F class to SG and fro very often and chalking up the criteria fast.
Not sure how true it was but it was pretty interesting to a young adult me at tht time.

You definitely know more than me about PPS Solitaire. 😄 I also forgot about the 500K total criteria after 5 years for transition to Solitaire membership. Now that I remember, my friend probably didn’t get her Solitaire status as we expected. Which means I don’t have a friend who has or had PPS Solitaire status.

Once, some frequent flyers were invited to do a market survey at SIA marketing agent office. We were given $150 gift voucher each. Doctors attending pharmaceutical talks then were given $100, so $150 was above market rate. There was a one-way mirror allowing the SIA staff to observe the participants. Another friend , who was with an SIA joint-venture , was sitting with the observers. He told me something to the effect that SIA was not really keen on the frequent flyer program as it was actually a cost to them. ;) I guess they are just maintaining it to remain in the competition. Whatever they do is aimed at improving revenue and profitability.

ONO

acttually if im SIA, i removed this "Class" system. its not attractive at all to majority of the people taking SQ flights.

souldude

that boomer's 30yr solitaire could be less impressive, because he could have cheong, when young and paid by company, to become lifetime solitaire (LPP) after 10 years. then the following 20yrs even if he flew only Econ he still remained LPP.

nowadays no more lifetime solitaire, and more difficult to maintain each year, so it's more impressive for someone to qualify as solitaire.

BBClone

All those PPS members were high level execs with tickets paid for by the company

I don’t know why they are so proud and lao lan, money spent also not theirs

Definitely

Have a friend whose father earned lifetime solitare because he flew business trips at the expense of his company. I went on a trip with him where he used his father's membership status. Not really a big deal if you ask me. At most the air stewardess knows you by name so you feel shiok, and can use the lounge.

ksapple

acttually if im SIA, i removed this "Class" system. its not attractive at all to majority of the people taking SQ flights.
is a "goal", ppl will try to take but will nv rich, ppl able to rich KF gold already happy liao.

Thats y u see so many sgean wan to take SQ in hopes that they can be gold 1 day.

hellfire88

I feel PPS status really nothing much, don’t feel much difference with the before/after for PPS

Also no special treatment from crew if you PPS

The paradox is if you PPS but flying econ there’s good benefits but if you are PPS why you go sit econ? Lol I will feel paiseh if crew see I PPS but sitting in econ

AngryPiglet

14.gif

Prime 13

That recent sia case juz shows the pps solitaire pple are suckas nia.
Lolz.

Definitely

I feel PPS status really nothing much, don’t feel much difference with the before/after for PPS

The paradox is if you PPS but flying econ there’s good benefits but if you are PPS why you go sit econ? Lol I will feel paiseh if crew see I PPS but sitting in econ
PPS Solitare is miles away from just PPS. If you're just PPS of course you feel no difference.

singexpat

Erhm, there was once a mentor asked me to join on a work trip and I fly economy on own expenses .
The Mentor also flew economy with me even though having solitaire status. Stewardess was very kind to my mentor and even the Chief also came to say hi and serve meals.

SpeedingBullet

No more liao. Think stopped around 2003-5 period or earlier.
Tiagong to qualify needs to fly 1million miles in Biz/first class or spend total 1million in Biz/First class.
Currently probably less than 20 ppl has this status and their average age is 60-70 yrs old
No lah. My company alone has like 8 ppl i know of who have PPS Solitaire. I know of many other folks outside that have it too, it's more common than you think.

99% of ppl with this membership tend to travel tons for business, that's how they qualify. Recreational travel is very very hard to hit.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.