Any tech convention like Computex in SG ??

klap_hanz

Why Taiwan can have show like Computex which show off all the latest upcoming technologies and hardwares to make tech enthusiasts drooled whereas SG tech shows are all for selling stuffs only...

Krabs.

because singapore mentality is instant gratification

no point see things that are months away / cannot buy immediately

blackestvoid

you have it show, pc show, comex, sitex, and now cee
then you have communicasia

u0206397

Because we only have distributors and retailers. No new ideas, concepts or products to showcase. This is the hard truth.

Unless you count having TradePac and PC Themes showcase their latest PC builds as showcase. Mai sia suay in front of international trade visitors and foreign media lah. Ask CNET come and cover lor.

u0206397

On a related note. Why do the tech industry hold such events when they cannot sell anything or earn a cent? Renting the exhibition and convention hall costs money. How to break even cover the costs? It is more like a marketing event.

LiLAsN

Correct. Computex events is all about marketing. That is why you usually see all those media influencers being sponsored with a nice plane ticket and hotel lodgings for free and to come and tell people about the products marketed at the event. All those are from the respective company's marketing budgets spent on them so that they will feel more apt to put your products in a better light to all their audience that they can influence. And from there, the people will then get the word out there to even more people.

That is why the some products in the end hold a 'premium' price tag as the marketing funds are then paid by the consumers like you and I. :s13:
So giving away or loaning review samples like 100 of their products for free to each media influencers are not a big deal since it will be their audience that will incur the marketing costs of these items.

That is why you can see 24 cans worth of 100 plus drink can literally cost only $9+ when you buy from distros but shops like 7-11 are selling it to you at the price of $1.80 each. That's 4.3 times more than the original price times the amount of all the other items being sold at the mart.

So if I were you, I'd be glad that there are not much huge events being held elsewhere and especially in Singapore. Goodness. The ridiculous rental costs and not to say shipping the items over to Singapore is just not sensible and will only drive the prices of our consumer products even higher.

CI

Long long ago there is Comdex Singapore tradeshow. That's back in the P55C era.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.