What did you do there?

How many days did you spend there?

Is Dec a good time to go?

Worth the experience?

shodan99

Me, 2D1N. Arrived in the afternoon, settle at hotel. Go for dinner then go see the ice carvings. Next day morning see the snow sculptures then leave already.

XcoVar

cannot la

such cold places
look very nice but go there

freeze until nipple drop off
step out of tour bus 10 seconds want to go back in liao

enjoy from photos good enough
Once in a lifetime, the excitement & cold will etch in your memory. Last Feb was in Hokkaido, we visited the Asahiyama Zoo in the mountainous region, it's around -11 degree, still manageable.

Zorroh

In winter, people will go see the ice sculptures. Sun island. There is a Russian village and a busy walking street.

harbin-ice-festival-at-night.jpg

f65fd5a2c6d90403c4f1baee56a1af39.jpg

202401128260d3e5955e49bfa855d093821edf04_XxjpbeE007258_20240112_CBMFN0A001.JPG

Quala98

i think the coldest period is Jan

during that time can see the ice sculpture lor.. my ML from harbin sent pics to me while she was home

MoeLanYong

Wife wants to go but I'm trying to talk her out of it. Thinking of exploring rest of Japan, am considering the coldest prefecture Rikubetsu (-20 degree).
Once in a lifetime, the excitement & cold will etch in your memory. Last Feb was in Hokkaido, we visited the Asahiyama Zoo in the mountainous region, it's around -11 degree, still manageable.

Last Dec I was at Hokkaido too. Sibeh shiok -15 degrees. Am thinking cannot every time Japan.

Rikubetsu got what?

FireEmblem

Dun go during December. Even late december, the ice sculptures etc are still in early stages and some not even completed yet.

I went twice before in Jan and another time in late December. The late December trip, many of the sculptures not ready yet

Go in mid Jan onwards is best.

XcoVar

Since we're on the topic of Harbin. Those who went there, can share what are the nice food? I'm a foodie when comes to travel, if the place nothing nice to offer then better forget it.

FireEmblem

Since we're on the topic of Harbin. Those who went there, can share what are the nice food? I'm a foodie when comes to travel, if the place no nice food then better forget it.
Can try Russian food there I guess. Taste subjective and I find the taste too heavy (too spicy and salty to prepare for the cold) there so dun like the food and mostly ate western fast food there

Yvaine

chiobu a lot but not sure from Harbin or just tourists from other regions

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.