Anyone bought a property in Dubai ? What is your appreciation?

Laneige

Yup... as I only paid 10% they claim no refund long story short they wanted me to pay up the 1.5 millions and wait for future development but it's almost 10 years since the cancellation
So that purchase considered fell through or they still can come n ask u for money

archie7

some property developments quality very basic or like malaysia
becos mostly built by foreigner works from nearby countries
plus they dun have proper maintenance or MCST to look after the properties so will run down very fast
only buy from reputed developers

plus dubai very dusty/sandy. clean up is a headache

forests_gump

Agreed.

The ones offered are residues - not good facing, poor locations or good but expensive.

For SG, I think we are done. Fairly balanced portfolio for us. I'm worried how SG going to weather the decoupling. If countries go on bilaterals, business hubs becomes challenging. Local demand is insufficient to propel momentum.
I think your worry is unfounded, S'pore has venture into vices, which are largely insensitive of any geopolitically situation & highly lucrative

esandwich

So much risk involved, currency risk, regulation risk, country risk, scams, bankruptcy, yada yada. All that with no guarantee of profits. What is the 20 years ROI of properties? For local properties the ROI is clear for all to see.

Diverification is to reduce risk no? Getting foreign properties is adding risk for no good reason.
well, different folks diff strokes.
but if everyone has this thinking, there will b no expansions, no globalisation, no trade.

born2fly

So that purchase considered fell through or they still can come n ask u for money
Property was not never build project cancel and never materialise, 150k total lost but no news from developer! Consider adios amigo 👋🏼

Laneige

Property was not never build project cancel and never materialise, 150k total lost but no news from developer! Consider adios amigo 👋🏼
They never say that piece of land how hor
Like u r a part of the land owner ba

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
Yup... as I only paid 10% they claim no refund long story short they wanted me to pay up the 1.5 millions and wait for future development but it's almost 10 years since the cancellation
this is scary sia

10 years liao

Laneige

this is scary sia

10 years liao
I think because they have lands
Can afford to be like this
Their palm design saying some of celebrities also went there to buy … end up never materialized (now not sure)

Sg also has dev busted but don’t know how liao

hctawsgs

Is the property a condo or villa or townhouse?

Beach facing? Town?

Which year bought?

Financing by Dubai banks like Emirates NBD or others?

What is your cap appreciation YTD?

Thanks

I bought a sea-facing villa for only USD10k 10 year ago....now is worth USD100m......:s8:

cloudstrife9798

Some of these stories really are wild… ten years and still no proper outcome? That’s brutal.

Anyone seriously thinking about buying there should factor in not just the developer risk but also the reality of managing or offloading the property later. Even just moving in can be a headache without local contacts. For what it’s worth, I used this link to sort out relocation stuff, at least that part didn’t turn into another stress pile.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.