Anyone bought taiwan mango pineapple from NTUC recently?

lazy999

pineapple.jpg

As per topic. Bought one taiwan mango pineapple from NTUC on Sunday using CDC and cut it yesterday night then realized inside the flesh some parts turn brown, core also turn brown... Darn, receipt thrown away already.

Wasted $6++

Cant claim from NTUC.

Then go google, seem like happened before on 2021.

https://mothership.sg/2021/04/taiwan-pineapple-black/

PiKa

They are mostly too ripe.. maybe due to shipment or storage.
Didn't dare to buy them.

Btw, why you didn't remove the skin before slicing it up?
How are you going to serve it? With the skin?

sales69

Taiwan fruits exported here cannot buy one.

Their Kyoho grapes even lose to China now.

jeff79

Can still eat lah, fermented only. This tw pineapple ripen v fast, go home i cut already v delicious.
Last time news already reported. This is not fermented or over ripe. This is frost damaged by the container freezer during shipping.

I had eaten over ripe sarawak pineapple, the core was still yellow.

thwysg

PS. tagging along.

How about Taiwan pork? Recently saw FP selling it. I usually get JP or Iberico pork. Unless I’m making Korean stews or boiled soups, I’ll use Oz prime ribs since there’s no more Bulan pork.

lazy999

They are mostly too ripe.. maybe due to shipment or storage.
Didn't dare to buy them.

Btw, why you didn't remove the skin before slicing it up?
How are you going to serve it? With the skin?
I cut it into half first then realize the core is brown. Wanted to cut away the brown part then savage the rest but wifey said better dont eat... Wait i laosai , she still have to take care me...

Give her job do.

Kena F by her

= ..(

Dividends

Pineapples are non-climacteric fruits and don't ripen off the "tree" after being harvested, any soft or brown spots are just it rotting or starting to rot.

PiKa

I cut it into half first then realize the core is brown. Wanted to cut away the brown part then savage the rest but wifey said better dont eat... Wait i laosai , she still have to take care me...

Give her job do.

Kena F by her

= ..(
Ouch...
I feel you..
Take it as lesson learnt, next time no buy Taiwan pineapple..
I was very tempted to buy 3 weeks ago, but it smelled too sweet for me.. like too ripped
:(

Vegitto

Can only buy if just arrive/display in ntuc, then buy home liao must eat within 1-2 days.

If not will overripe.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
only heard of this fruit's existence thru' this thread today

anw depends on luck
can't see the inside of the fruit when buying anw

jeff79

Can only buy if just arrive/display in ntuc, then buy home liao must eat within 1-2 days.

If not will overripe.
Last time people reported self collected from the shipping container warehouse same day eat already black hearted.

testerjp

TS never heard of Taiwan 黑心凤梨? Appear on newspaper for many years already leh why still got people fall for it?

I asked a China agent for farm produce before and we talked about preservation and chemicals used.

He told me the reason why pineapple or fruits have a black rotten core is because they are injected with enhancers to make it sweeter. The problem is not only that, it is because they injected too much, this most likely means it is above safety standards.

And all fruits or veggies, even if travelling interstate, almost all farmers he know of internationally will need to apply more or less some preservation to maintain freshness. As long as it doesn't leave residue it is considered fine by international standards. Only those that grow below the ground, tend to survive better without preservatives.

These Taiwan fruits and veggies are confirm heavily artificially enhanced.

Our SEA are the best area for such tropical fruits, don't know why people buy from Taiwan. The recent season for the damn cheap black dream and the giant red Thai mangoes are good.

But unfortunately, people likes to believe the more expensive = better. That's why we see almost only the poor tasting MSW and no more cheap kumpung durians that can taste so much better.

To those who still think it's rot from weather or logistic.

Please wake up. Don't use AI, use simple logic also know that if the rot is consistently at the core, not at the side, something is wrong.

ChatGPT

If core rot consistently starts from the middle across a large batch, you’re likely dealing with chemical enhancer misuse, not just weather. Here's how to tell the difference — blunt and to the point:

🔍 1. Consistency of the Rot Pattern

Chemical abuse → Almost every fruit shows rot starting from the exact center, often clean skin outside
Weather-related → Rot appears inconsistent, may start at ends, near skin, or randomly inside

🧪 2. Taste and Smell

Enhancer misuse → Overly sweet, artificial taste, or sometimes metallic/chemical smell
Weather rot → More like fermentation, sourness, or mold smell

🧱 3. Tissue Structure

Enhancer rot → Core is soft, wet, dark, while surrounding tissue remains firm — clear boundary
Weather rot → More diffuse rotting with uneven texture breakdown, often discolored veins

📦 4. Packaging and Timing Clues

Chemically treated fruits are often uniform in size, glossy, and arrive out of season
Weather-damaged fruits tend to come from local harvests, often during wet seasons, with varied sizes and skin quality

lazy999

Ouch...
I feel you..
Take it as lesson learnt, next time no buy Taiwan pineapple..
I was very tempted to buy 3 weeks ago, but it smelled too sweet for me.. like too ripped
:(
Next time buy any taiwan fruit, must keep the receipt first liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.