Jeremy1

I don't really find it nice.

Still prefer Lim Chee Guan

Ethan_

Just curious, supermarket that brand can makan or not? Got vegetarian one some more, nice?

CCCustom

Fragrance cmi lah... I been eating peng Guan. 20/kg during normal seasob... It's good enough for me

I dunno how they can sell so cheap compared to fragrance and bee cheng hiang. But it's good enough for me
The past 2 years The Other Half buy KA laundry pod give free Fragrance bak kwa, 1 shot buy 1 year worth of pods so we redeem a few packs :s13: I tell my mother-in-law, her daughter like that buy, we 1 year no need to buy washing powder :s13: :s13:

I eat Fragrance bak kwa okay leh … I’ll go as far as to say that, both give me free, I’ll rather eat Fragrance than Kim Peng Hiang.

But this year The Other Half don’t want to buy, because this year Fragrance give their version of pineapple bak kwa instead of the standard sliced bak kwa the previous 2 years. She too hated the Kim Peng Hiang pineapple bak kwa even though it’s supposed to be their signature, and she scareded the Fragrance 1 will also taste similar.

fandango

The past 2 years The Other Half buy KA laundry pod give free Fragrance bak kwa, 1 shot buy 1 year worth of pods so we redeem a few packs :s13: I tell my mother-in-law, her daughter like that buy, we 1 year no need to buy washing powder :s13: :s13:

I eat Fragrance bak kwa okay leh … I’ll go as far as to say that, both give me free, I’ll rather eat Fragrance than Kim Peng Hiang.

But this year The Other Half don’t want to buy, because this year Fragrance give their version of pineapple bak kwa instead of the standard sliced bak kwa the previous 2 years. She too hated the Kim Peng Hiang pineapple bak kwa even though it’s supposed to be their signature, and she scareded the Fragrance 1 will also taste similar.
I find the KPH original bak kwa taste better that the pineapple flavor one.

d3fc0n

Fragrance cmi lah... I been eating peng Guan. 20/kg during normal seasob... It's good enough for me

I dunno how they can sell so cheap compared to fragrance and bee cheng hiang. But it's good enough for me
low cost maybe cause no spend marketing money

orhneeorh

$20 per 500g or 1 kg ??

CCCustom

I find the KPH original bak kwa taste better that the pineapple flavor one.
I don’t know if it was “special” for the year I managed to queue for it … their sliced bak kwa 1 piece is like 2 slices bbq-ed together so they are stuck together, you cut it into small squares you could probably peel the 2 slices apart, but 1 whole piece you try confirm will tear into pieces. It wasn’t a one-off … this was every piece in every pack.

This makes their sliced ones somewhat more juicy in the middle which I guess people prefer compared to hard and dry like Bee Cheng Hiang … but it also makes the middle somewhat not-so-cooked resulting in a more porky taste.

fandango

I don’t know if it was “special” for the year I managed to queue for it … their sliced bak kwa 1 piece is like 2 slices bbq-ed together so they are stuck together, you cut it into small squares you could probably peel the 2 slices apart, but 1 whole piece you try confirm will tear into pieces. It wasn’t a one-off … this was every piece in every pack.

This makes their sliced ones somewhat more juicy in the middle which I guess people prefer compared to hard and dry like Bee Cheng Hiang … but it also makes the middle somewhat not-so-cooked resulting in a more porky taste.
The KPH pork is truly those sliced ones compressed together. Because when you tear it, you can still see the pork sinews thread by thread.

CCCustom

The KPH pork is truly those sliced ones compressed together. Because when you tear it, you can still see the pork sinews thread by thread.
Ah so this is their style then … different from others … but as I mentioned lor … because the 2 sides of the 2 slices stuck together are not bbq-ed directly, it end up got more porky taste, which is not a good thing. Less chao tar, not as hard … that’s the only thing going for theirs.

gongzz

Yesterday went to dabao dinner at Seng Kee mee sua around 6pm. Looked over KPH and see it's still open and got Q. Went to join and waiting time was about 40 minutes. Price for their royal / chili bakkwa is $29/500g. Pineapple is $31/500g. Limit 2kg of pineapple per person.

Previous time (and also 1st time) i ate was around 6-7 years ago. I think it's still nice and tender but didn't give me the 'wow' feeling like the 1st time

d3fc0n

end up i didn't go queue cause wife's friend was buying last week we just tompang order. heng ah

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.