Anyone using Daikin aircon face this problem?

eyz

I got a system 1. Use it more than 3 years. High usage. Average 15 to 20 hours a day everyday. Got this issue of ice forming on the coil and block air flow. So need to switch it to fan mode for a few minutes to melt the ice then resume to cooling mode. Happens few times a month to a nearly daily occurrence. Had tried chemical wash and occurrence reduced. My friend told me some sensor is spoil that's why the gas doesn't get cut off when it's too cold.

i think it has more to do with airflow, do you usually set the fan to the lowest?

if the coil is doing its job, and the air is not being drawn out, the coil will start to freeze.

try to set the fan to the highest to ensure cooled air is being drawn out.

also try to clean the fan roller blade.

hammerhammer

From my limited knowledge, there's a sensor which activates about 4 degree. It signals to cut off the compressor before ice is formed.
So probably the sensor stopped working or the feedback via the pcb is not working. Compressor continues to work and ice is formed.
Ya should be this problem.

hammerhammer

Tiagong Daikin is the most expensive and also very expensive in maintenance as hard to get parts compared to Mitsubishi electric.

I used my Mitsubishi every hour I am home for the past 11 years already, no such problem
ME and Daikin most expensive. And Daikin is very difficult to service. Last time I self service Chemical wash my Panasonic. ME also easy according to the aircon guy. Daikin is worst. Saw them dismantle really lousy design.

plasticpistola

daikin user here - system 3. more than 6 years riaos, so far no issue. service every 4 mths.

got a system 1 mitsubishi for the living room - that one right after 1 year got issue with the temp - it can suddenly become juak one -_-

hammerhammer

ME, Daikin and Panasonic.

dont put Panasonic in the same cat as Prism and Midea.

Hitachi, Jap made should be good, but due to less popular model, parts may be difficult to get when the model discontinued.
Prism+ brand I saw a few at newly BTO flats at punggol. Few months old saw green mold underneath the compressor. Should be water leaking out from compressor.

Midea one very cold and powerful. But very noisy after a few years. My place at FC all using appliances Midea. Washer ok. Water heater not very hot and small flow although twin elements.

carey

Check the gas level and thermostat. I had icing once and the issue was coil fins too dirty, they took it down and gave it a thorough wash.
My mom's aircon also got ice formation and the aircon service guy said it's cos gas leak - every few months must top up gas to prevent it from happening

Elfblade

I got a system 1. Use it more than 3 years. High usage. Average 15 to 20 hours a day everyday. Got this issue of ice forming on the coil and block air flow. So need to switch it to fan mode for a few minutes to melt the ice then resume to cooling mode. Happens few times a month to a nearly daily occurrence. Had tried chemical wash and occurrence reduced. My friend told me some sensor is spoil that's why the gas doesn't get cut off when it's too cold.
can form ice means hit 0 degrees Siol, your Daikin aircon damn power!

Unic0rn

turning on the ceiling fan with aircon means you increase wind chill factor, so theoretically you don't need to tune so thermostat to 20c. Possibly 22-23c is enough.
It feels super cold 🥶 chilling to the bone 🦴 but my desktop is able to maintain 36c at load 😏

jumpthepig

My 2 Daikin fan coils temperature sensor spoilt after 7-8 years usage... replacement cost was about $200 2 years ago….Now no more problem.

Lolicious

daikin is a jiaksai brand. i rem my mitsubishi 12yo no issues at all, only the case become yellowish and look fugly. bought and change to daikin cause boomer parents keep seeing this jack neo ads on daikin. knn motherboard spoil, capciator spoil, sensor spoil. all replace free la but aircon like always 1 week vannot use la all these need to wait for them to come. sibei siaj. and this issues keep ongoing until i got married and ownself got bto. and most ironica is my parents ended up trading in and bought a freaking midea

CCCustom

daikin is a jiaksai brand. i rem my mitsubishi 12yo no issues at all, only the case become yellowish and look fugly. bought and change to daikin cause boomer parents keep seeing this jack neo ads on daikin. knn motherboard spoil, capciator spoil, sensor spoil. all replace free la but aircon like always 1 week vannot use la all these need to wait for them to come. sibei siaj. and this issues keep ongoing until i got married and ownself got bto. and most ironica is my parents ended up trading in and bought a freaking midea
Uhh … Jack Neo aircon advertisement is StarMex leh … is your parents see Jack Neo so purposely get other brand is it? =:p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.