Apple Servicing Question

sheldoncooper

Hi, my Iphone 6 from Telco has a dead pixel

I took my Iphone to A. Lab and they told me they are not doing replacement anymore

They will repair my Iphone and it will take 5 days. They can replace immediately if I have Applecare.

I was expecting they will replace my Iphone on the spot, that's what I have been doing since Iphone 3g. Any problem, even small issue, they will replace with refurbished set

They even said they don't provide loaner set

I did call the Apple Hotline and they can't help also, they said it depends on the service centre, not Apple

Did I call the wrong department?Or is this how Apple servicing procedure now?Or is it because they don't have stock?

dawntime

Try QCD? I don't think this is a standard procedure for Apple and such

NeonX

last time telco use to do 1 - 1 exchange, but now i think since the servicing center take over, they will try to repair then can claim from apple

sheldoncooper

Try QCD? I don't think this is a standard procedure for Apple and such

QCD accept telco set?

last time telco use to do 1 - 1 exchange, but now i think since the servicing center take over, they will try to repair then can claim from apple

is it the SOP now?the apple rep that I called did mention that maybe the service center does not have any stock atm, but in the end they said it depends on the service center whether want to replace or repair

if this is the SOP now, I will know what to expect from now on

speedster4005

QCD accept telco set?
Yes they do.

is it the SOP now?the apple rep that I called did mention that maybe the service center does not have any stock atm, but in the end they said it depends on the service center whether want to replace or repair

if this is the SOP now, I will know what to expect from now on
I think they will replace the LCD only - hence repair. Even in the US, they can opt to do replacement of lcd only instead of replacing the whole unit.

fade_white

What does it mean replace only if u have AppleCare? Don't all devices comes with one year AppleCare?

fade_white

So buying AppleCare+ affects the first year coverage too? Didn't realise that. Thought all the same for first year, AppleCare is only second year onwards.

sheldoncooper

I think they will replace the LCD only - hence repair. Even in the US, they can opt to do replacement of lcd only instead of replacing the whole unit.

Yes I can understand, but from what I know so far they will replace even the slightest problem, for example: home button spoilt

For now I don't mind 5 days, but last time they replaced on the spot, even if they have no stock they will try to give you loaner set

Now we need to wait 5 days, who knows in future we will need to wait for 2 weeks, so it's the same standard with Samsung / Nokia

Is the Apple standard dropping?I hope not

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
The default 1 year warranty is not AppleCare/ApleCare+. They are different.

All iphone now comes default apple care 1 yr.

Apple care+ is the one that you need to purchase which extend to 2 yrs with 2 incident coverage.

You CANNOT buy apple care now for iphone since all iphone comes default with 1 yr apple care.

You can only buy APPLE CARE for MAC. Iphone/ipad/ipod are all Apple care+ now.

vipassana

Singtel recently announced that they no longer service or do exchangess. All Singtel sets with issues will be referred to QCD and A. Labs. This is the same for Starhub and M1 sets I reckon.

I recently bought AppleCare plus for my IPhone 6 because the former AppleCare ($99) is now only available for Mac. AppleCare Plus must be purchased within 60 days from the date you bought and activated your phone.

Depending on the issues of your phone, you can no longer take it for granted that all issues will lead to 1-1 exchange.

speedster4005

All iphone now comes default apple care 1 yr.

Apple care+ is the one that you need to purchase which extend to 2 yrs with 2 incident coverage.

You CANNOT buy apple care now for iphone since all iphone comes default with 1 yr apple care.

You can only buy APPLE CARE for MAC. Iphone/ipad/ipod are all Apple care+ now.

As I have said, AppleCare is not the same as the 1 year limited warranty - technically speaking, as mentioned in this site:
https://www.apple.com/sg/support/products/

fade_white

As I have said, AppleCare is not the same as the 1 year limited warranty - technically speaking, as mentioned in this site:
https://www.apple.com/sg/support/products/

According to this

https://www.apple.com/sg/support/products/iphone.html

It actually looks like the first year coverage is the same, only second year is additional (red in the chart). Unless you're talking about phone support.

Also, when I took my phone with AppleCare + for exchange, the section under 'coverage' was filled as 'apple limited warranty'

Jer

Singtel recently announced that they no longer service or do exchangess. All Singtel sets with issues will be referred to QCD and A. Labs. This is the same for Starhub and M1 sets I reckon.

I recently bought AppleCare plus for my IPhone 6 because the former AppleCare ($99) is now only available for Mac. AppleCare Plus must be purchased within 60 days from the date you bought and activated your phone.

Depending on the issues of your phone, you can no longer take it for granted that all issues will lead to 1-1 exchange.

Where can I find this news??

wkweewee

Hmm do note that the 1yr default warranty will not cover accidental damage like dropping/smashing of the screen other than manufacturing defects (the cost of repair would be like 100+ to 400+ depending on alot of factors even when it is within that 1 year). The apple care+ allows for the subsidised repair for the above. However whether or not it justifies the extra one year and the upfront cost (138+108) is subjective to individual.

The default 1 year limited warranty is now known as apple care while the latter 2 years warranty is known as the apple care+.

And the phone support is buang unless you need someone to chit chat and lim kopi with you on the phone on software issues etc. If the phone is faulty, in the end you will still need to go back to the 2 service centres. For repairs, the service centres can choose to repair the affected part, or give you a new/refurbished set- totally up to their discretion. There is no guarantee of any sort.

sheldoncooper

Hmm do note that the 1yr default warranty will not cover accidental damage like dropping/smashing of the screen other than manufacturing defects (the cost of repair would be like 100+ to 400+ depending on alot of factors even when it is within that 1 year). The apple care+ allows for the subsidised repair for the above. However whether or not it justifies the extra one year and the upfront cost (138+108) is subjective to individual.

The default 1 year limited warranty is now known as apple care while the latter 2 years warranty is known as the apple care+.

And the phone support is buang unless you need someone to chit chat and lim kopi with you on the phone on software issues etc. If the phone is faulty, in the end you willstill need to go back to the 2 service centres. For repairs, the service centres can choose to repair the affected part, or give you a new/refurbished set- totally up to their discretion. There is no guarantee of any sort.

that means standard dropping liao

I used to be worry-free if there is problem with my iphone, cos Apple would replace on the spot

Now must send for repair means few days without your phone

EJB

that means standard dropping liao

I used to be worry-free if there is problem with my iphone, cos Apple would replace on the spot

Now must send for repair means few days without your phone
At least the data and OS version remains.

I do have the phone locked with AppLocker, only concern is Apple Svc Center will reject JBen iPhones.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.