Apple TV 4

marquez

Output looks 720p. Quite compressed. I was trying to watch football on it, and if you are used to watching on Starhub or Mio, the Cast quality is crap. Main issue is it's 25fps which is not good for sports. Has judder with fast motion of the camera.

Bro why not in 1080p 60fps?

kurch

Anybody encounter apple tv power cut off after plugging in the HDMI cable?

Are you connecting to older Samsung TV with Anynet+ (mine is year 2016 model)? Try to unplug all the hdmi except the Apple TV and let see whether the problem still persist.

For me, i have this problem because my Samsung TV connected to Sonos soundbar and Apple TV using HDMI 1 and HDMI 2; my temp resolution is to turn on TV and let the sound is projected to Sonos first; after that i turn on Apple TV. But once a while, the problem still there but at least, the Apple TV still rebooted once then connected correctly.

marquez

Are you connecting to older Samsung TV with Anynet+ (mine is year 2016 model)? Try to unplug all the hdmi except the Apple TV and let see whether the problem still persist.

For me, i have this problem because my Samsung TV connected to Sonos soundbar and Apple TV using HDMI 1 and HDMI 2; my temp resolution is to turn on TV and let the sound is projected to Sonos first; after that i turn on Apple TV. But once a while, the problem still there but at least, the Apple TV still rebooted once then connected correctly.

I think my problem is because i using hdmi switcher.

bodohboy

Any updates on the quality and framerates of the Singtel TV Go app or the Cast App? Been using the Mibox S to watch BPL but really cannot tahan the frame rates drop and the video seems to be stuttering. Is an Apple TV 4K going to be better?

Glariel

Singtel TV Go app no frame rate drop. Cast I not sure.

Apple may release the next version of Apple TV so not really worth to buy the current one now

Any updates on the quality and framerates of the Singtel TV Go app or the Cast App? Been using the Mibox S to watch BPL but really cannot tahan the frame rates drop and the video seems to be stuttering. Is an Apple TV 4K going to be better?

xiaofan

Mi Box S is probably a bit weak in terms of CPU but CPU may not be the main issue. Did you get good WiFi from your Mi Box S? Have you tried using Ethernet by buying an UGreen USB hub with Ethernet?

But from the Nvidia Shield TV thread, it seems to me the users there also encounter frame drop issues on Nvidia Shield TV, in that case it is the problem with the SingTel Cast app, not the HW. Apple TV 4k will not help in this case.

bodohboy

Mi Box S is probably a bit weak in terms of CPU but CPU may not be the main issue. Did you get good WiFi from your Mi Box S? Have you tried using Ethernet by buying an UGreen USB hub with Ethernet?

But from the Nvidia Shield TV thread, it seems to me the users there also encounter frame drop issues on Nvidia Shield TV, in that case it is the problem with the SingTel Cast app, not the HW. Apple TV 4k will not help in this case.

Yes bro I am using the ugreen ethernet adapter and getting good speeds, all other apps such as Netflix, YouTube, and Singtel TV GO’s on-demand service is working well on the MiBox S only when it comes to their live option (Singtel TV GO and Cast) then will have frame rate drops. Thought it might be because it’s an app built for android so if tvOS should be fine? Any feedback?

xiaofan

Yes bro I am using the ugreen ethernet adapter and getting good speeds, all other apps such as Netflix, YouTube, and Singtel TV GO’s on-demand service is working well on the MiBox S only when it comes to their live option (Singtel TV GO and Cast) then will have frame rate drops. Thought it might be because it’s an app built for android so if tvOS should be fine? Any feedback?

Sorry I only have old Apple TV 3rd gen and my TV boxes can not run SingTel Cast. And I can only watch the free channels with Singtel Cast where I do not see any problems.

Still I tend to believe it is a SingTel problem and Apple TV 4k will not help.

Just as a test, do you see lags when running SingTel Cast on your phone? If yes then it has nothing to do with Mi Box S.

bodohboy

Sorry I only have old Apple TV 3rd gen and my TV boxes can not run SingTel Cast. And I can only watch the free channels with Singtel Cast where I do not see any problems.

Still I tend to believe it is a SingTel problem and Apple TV 4k will not help.

Just as a test, do you see lags when running SingTel Cast on your phone? If yes then it has nothing to do with Mi Box S.

Nope lags don’t happen when I watch it on my phone, tablet or casting directly to my Chromecast 2.0. However when I use the inbuilt, Singtel Cast, Singtel TV GO and casting to the inbuilt Chromecast on Mi Box S then will have frame rate drops. It’s not that it lags a lot but it just stutters and it’s really frustrating when watching sports. 😡

xiaofan

Nope lags don’t happen when I watch it on my phone, tablet or casting directly to my Chromecast 2.0. However when I use the inbuilt, Singtel Cast, Singtel TV GO and casting to the inbuilt Chromecast on Mi Box S then will have frame rate drops. It’s not that it lags a lot but it just stutters and it’s really frustrating when watching sports. 😡

I see. In that case Mi Box S' slow CPU/GPU may play a part. The problem is that the people in the Nvidia Shield TV thread also reports lag where the CPU/GPU is pretty good.

Hopefully Apple TV 4k users with SingTel Cast can chime in here.

But why not stick to cast using Chromecast if that works. I have my Chtomecast 1st gen as well and it works fine. My Apple TV 3rd gen is actually collecting dust...

xiaofan

From this thread Apple TV does not help. It is the Cast app problem.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-season-epl-matches-$49-90-mth-6091469-9.html

bodohboy

I see. In that case Mi Box S' slow CPU/GPU may play a part. The problem is that the people in the Nvidia Shield TV thread also reports lag where the CPU/GPU is pretty good.

Hopefully Apple TV 4k users with SingTel Cast can chime in here.

But why not stick to cast using Chromecast if that works. I have my Chtomecast 1st gen as well and it works fine. My Apple TV 3rd gen is actually collecting dust...
From this thread Apple TV does not help. It is the Cast app problem.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-season-epl-matches-$49-90-mth-6091469-9.html

Ah because I sold my Chromecast 2 before my Mibox S arrived, thought the inbuilt Chromecast was the same 😅 Wah then seems like the best way for fuss free and reliable quality stream for EPL and UCL is to get the Sports Value Pack from Singtel ($69.90) plus rental of set top box @ $4.90 with a 24 months contract...

Total must pay $74.80 per month, man it’s tough being a sports fan in SG.

xiaofan

Ah because I sold my Chromecast 2 before my Mibox S arrived, thought the inbuilt Chromecast was the same 😅 Wah then seems like the best way for fuss free and reliable quality stream for EPL and UCL is to get the Sports Value Pack from Singtel ($69.90) plus rental of set top box @ $4.90 with a 24 months contract...

Total must pay $74.80 per month, man it’s tough being a sports fan in SG.

If you are not SingTel Fibre user, check out the offer mentioned in the following thread to get 12months free of Sports Value Pack out of 24months contract (50% off), not so sure about the box rental though.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...clinic-4/singtel-1-gbps-fibre-5930834-28.html

If you are existing SingTel Fibre Broadband or SingTel TV customer, check out the offer from the SingTel TV counter in SingTel shop, you may get 50% off TV packs and free basic box rental as well.

bodohboy

If you are not SingTel Fibre user, check out the offer mentioned in the following thread to get 12months free of Sports Value Pack out of 24months contract (50% off), not so sure about the box rental though.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...clinic-4/singtel-1-gbps-fibre-5930834-28.html

If you are existing SingTel Fibre Broadband or SingTel TV customer, check out the offer from the SingTel TV counter in SingTel shop, you may get 50% off TV packs and free basic box rental as well.

I am with both Starhub Broadband and TV, contract nice year then expire sian 1/2. But just checked the thread you mention and the Singtel offer’s T&C never mentioned Sports Value Pack leh only those basic packages.

“ This bundle includes Free 5 months on 1Gbps Fibre Home Broadband (Effective price of $39.50/mth after 5 free months on a 24-months contract) & Free 12 months on Singtel TV Lite/Starter/Trio Pack..”

Looks like have to rely on alternative methods to watch sports

xiaofan

I am with both Starhub Broadband and TV, contract nice year then expire sian 1/2. But just checked the thread you mention and the Singtel offer’s T&C never mentioned Sports Value Pack leh only those basic packages.

“ This bundle includes Free 5 months on 1Gbps Fibre Home Broadband (Effective price of $39.50/mth after 5 free months on a 24-months contract) & Free 12 months on Singtel TV Lite/Starter/Trio Pack..”

Looks like have to rely on alternative methods to watch sports

Based on the Singtel TV website, Mio Stadium at S$64.9 per month is considered as a starter pack.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/tv/packs/starter

You can talk to SingTel to check out as well.

bodohboy

Based on the Singtel TV website, Mio Stadium at S$64.9 per month is considered as a starter pack.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/tv/packs/starter
You can talk to SingTel to check out as well.
Don’t bother. You won’t get any discount for Mio Stadium individual pack or packs that’s contain Mio Stadium.

Alright thanks bros, seems like an Apple TV 4K would not help my cause then. Will consider and try out more options till my StarHub contract expires. Thanks for the help!

*adiBOY

Alright thanks bros, seems like an Apple TV 4K would not help my cause then. Will consider and try out more options till my StarHub contract expires. Thanks for the help!

I am in the same dilemma as you bro. My StarHub Fibre Internet and TV have expired and now I am looking at ST's Internet and TV too because of MioStadium.

However, they don't give discount for MioStadium so signing up with ST does not give me extra incentives given StarHub has offered me 4-months free of HomeHub Plus on a 24-month contract.

I guess I will continue with StarHub and look for alternative for Premier League games.

xiaofan

I am in the same dilemma as you bro. My StarHub Fibre Internet and TV have expired and now I am looking at ST's Internet and TV too because of MioStadium.

However, they don't give discount for MioStadium so signing up with ST does not give me extra incentives given StarHub has offered me 4-months free of HomeHub Plus on a 24-month contract.

I guess I will continue with StarHub and look for alternative for Premier League games.

Not many good options actually if you have higher requirements like the lag or frame rate.

Other than Mio Stadium, the cheapest is SingTel Cast here in Singapore.

Then there are those gray IPTV package which I believe will be even worse than SingTel Cast.

The other method is to use VPN and overseas streaming platforms, I highly doubt they will be better than SingTel Cast. Still here are some options.

1) UK VPN with UK streaming services

2) Astro Go with Malaysia VPN, if you can find a working VPN or ask your friend in Malaysia to set up an openvpn server there.

3) If you do not mind Chinese comments the CCTV5/5+ have some live events. China live TV Apps are free. No VPN is needed.

4) If you do not mind Chinese comments, PP Sports Soccer VIP plus China VPN can be used. Pretty cheap but I think China VPNs like Transocks are not that good for this purpose.
https://vip.pptv.com/sports

All included 足球通 VIP price is about RMB518 per year but often got offer. EPL only VIP is about RMB258 per year but often got offer.

bodohboy

When I recontracted last year they gave me 3 months free HomeHub Plus with a set of Google home mini. I was offered when I went down to sign a Sim-only data plan for my dad, signed both plans in a hurry without checking other telco now need wait till 2020...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.