Are cinemas dead?

Monstruo^

Wow.. you have how many gfs? JSKM..
😬🤣

I rem got one woman she ownself shared her Netflix account with me. We were just hanging out but I don’t want to get together. After a few mths she angry because I didn’t want to be in a rs, so we stopped contact.

One day, I wanna watch sth. Some US drama. I realized I still can log in to her Netflix account leh :o :s13: So I used lor. I think for many months. Like so bad hor. After maybe a year I cannot go in liao. 🤣 Then Netflix also changed the login security after that, cannot share or what

Usually girls like to subscribe to Netflix, duno why.

OutBreak

😬🤣

I rem got one woman she ownself shared her Netflix account with me. We were just hanging out but I don’t want to get together. After a few mths she angry because I didn’t want to be in a rs, so we stopped contact.

One day, I wanna watch sth. Some US drama. I realized I still can log in to her Netflix account leh :o :s13: So I used lor. I think for many months. Like so bad hor. After maybe a year I cannot go in liao. 🤣 Then Netflix also changed the login security after that, cannot share or what

Usually girls like to subscribe to Netflix, duno why.
She is chiobu? Chiobu loves bad boys. :ROFLMAO:

Joseph12

u hardly see any queues at cinema nowadays. not to menstion they dont want to lower the prices. and rather let the screening have empty seats.

used to use shaw 1+1 tickets promotion. now thats gone and probaby will stop going too.
Cinemas are killed in Singapore
Not least because rentals are expensive and no one is saying cos you are a cinema you can pay less

Ottoke

Cinemas will still be around because there is still distribution windows to adhere to for most film production companies.

A normal window will look like this:
Cinemas > DVD/Blu-ray > VOD purchase > general streaming (Netflix, D+ etc) > pay-tv movie channels (HBO etc) > finally FTA TV channels
Stage 2 3 and 4 sometimes can come together these few years
Unless the film is direct-to-video

Ever since COVID hit, the window is blurred, ppl prefer to stay at home and watch movies, therefore Disney+ came out with premium pricing to stream some particular new releases during the pandemic, which then will be lowered after that for general streaming release.

Most studios in Hollywood, Hong Kong and even in China are trying to bring back cinema screenings normal period, which they are trying very hard to do. They are fighting with social media's gaining advantage of ppl's short attention span with short videos etc

One can argue "I climb Bukit Timah watch" but the pirates also depend on the actual cinema and streaming release. If cinema dies, everything else very likely dies along with it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.