Are Huawei owners screwed?

SGTechGamer81

I heard from a friend that do phone sales, Google isn't going to provide android updates and security updates for all Huawei phone models. He asked all of us to sell the phones we have. My dad uses a huawei p30 Pro should I let him know ?

Or are these just rumors?

Glad I took his old Samsung S9

1982-1994

existing models are not affected. just that there's no major OS update. wait for their own OS to be released lor.

I'm totally fine. not affecting me much.

virus2977

Existing cannot update to new OS android software. Better sell it off fast....

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX 3 using GAGT

ckling

Nvm, can continue to use as long as it can. Who knows how things pan out months down the road... =:p

kryptonit3

I heard from a friend that do phone sales, Google isn't going to provide android updates and security updates for all Huawei phone models. He asked all of us to sell the phones we have. My dad uses a huawei p30 Pro should I let him know ?

Or are these just rumors?

Glad I took his old Samsung S9
It would be good to wait awhile before selling as there seems to delayed for 90 days period at least until then nobody knows what could change. No point in panic sell out and most likely you gonna be seriously low balled on price as well.

elementz

Will just continue using my mate20pro instead of selling to those lowballers. Use it as a media device also shiok.

Maybe this is only temporary and the ban will be lifted (or partially lifted), or Google and Huawei will find a way to work this out. It is not just Huawei who will be negatively affected, but also the value chain and Android ecosystem.

Or maybe Huawei has some special software or OS or don't know what to surprise us.

ozy615

according to current news, at least still got all updates and fix for current OS. But may not be able to push to install any newer android OS. Like you are on win10 now you still got all updates, later may not able push win 11 to your device. The situation may improve if Trump changes his mood, but dont think can go any worse than now.

Not much affected for existing users. My spare phone 3 years old, never update the OS, but can still enjoy all new apps and app updates.

But if you die die must enjoy the newest OS later, then Huawei phones may not be able to do it, at least according to the info available now.

Jeremy1

Actually to me no update better. I hate everytime update.

Anyway, no update still can used. Does not really make any difference.

St00ky

wait and see first. now trump flip prata liao. US delays Huawei ban for 90 days

Existing users of Huawei phones will continue to receive software updates until 19 August without fear of losing any major functionality such as access to the Google Play Store and services. If the U.S and China fail to resolve trade tensions by 19 August, Huawei will be locked out of Android apps, OS and security updates again.

https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tec...ows-huawei-continue-providing-android-updates

molecule

Just use it now, it is still a fully capable and functioning phone with the apps available. No point selling now at low prices.

qifatt

Screwed or not, i not sure, just feel one option less for good phone. As a huawei user, i still hold on to two huawei phone. For me will still buy huawei phone if is good product.
以前没钱买华为,现在没钱买华为

micgoh

Was looking for a spare phone.

Friend recommended me carousell

Registered new account and saw so many Huawei sellers.

Endup both 2.

Huawei p30 pro for $550
Huawei mate 20 pro for $400

I think I will use p30 pro as rough daily beater and mate 20 pro for in law to try out andriod.

Cheap

molecule

Good deals for excellent phones. Definitely last for 2 years easy, then u can decide what phones to upgrade to.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.