Are japanese hospitals reluctant to admit toreign patients even if in critical condition?

fly1111

Ain't that cuz it's free, if give them any clinic free likely won't have same issue
It’s not free :(
They have universal health insurance :(
Sinkie needs to accept that sinkieland is not always limber huan :(
The only thing I’m confident Sinkie land will always be limber huan is minister salary :(

klim668

Based on 小S case, can feel that jap hospitals are unfriendly towards tourists
Not only small S, last time Beyond singer also died after a slip & fall accident in japan. Wonder if he could survive if he was treated in HK or other countries...

KPO_SAHM

Everyday complain Singapore healthcare lousy. Then all go to other countries tio whack left right centre then know Singapore healthcare is world class.

But come ED all still want to abuse doctors and nurses. Many tourists praised our healthcare to be no1

Yes.....medical waiting time is not as bad here.....we can't deny that till we seek for medical treatment in foreign lands.

TiedInsurer

A relative got a minor heart attack but was sent home after observation
It depends on whether you have medical insurance.
A lot of foreigners end up skipping on their hospital bills. They are not a charity, and they don't want the bad debt.

Btw, it's the same in SG. If you are a foreigner hospitalised in SG, but will not die immediately without the procedure, they will not do it. They will make sure you are able to pay first. If not, please GTFO.

wwenze

Yes.....medical waiting time is not as bad here.....we can't deny that till we seek for medical treatment in foreign lands.
I love the double meaning hidden in this sentence.

rrr2015

often foreigners took advantage of their system which i believe already overload. one case was china guy insist on hiking mt fuji during off season when hiking was not allowed. got into trouble & need emergency. did not only once but few times. don't understand why japan didn't deport him

TiedInsurer

I love the double meaning hidden in this sentence.
Lol.... my waifu from China... She is surprised by how crazy the wait times are here. Do a medical checkup, have to wait several hours to get the test done. Then have to come back next day, and wait several hours more for results.

She said in China, such a procedure, you request it from the doctor, the doctor will get arrange it to be done immediately, have the results out in 30mins, and you will be in and out of the hospital in under 2hrs, and won't even have to come back next day. All subsidised by the state too.

xdivider

Cos u no medical insurance there. Too many folks wine and dine....

chaiscool

It’s not free :(
They have universal health insurance :(
Sinkie needs to accept that sinkieland is not always limber huan :(
The only thing I’m confident Sinkie land will always be limber huan is minister salary :(
Universal healthcare? So go any clinic no need pay? Sure boh

Roid Rage

A relative got a minor heart attack but was sent home after observation
Not a matter of willingness. My wife is Japanese and she used to work in health care in JP. the real reason is that the staffs may not speak English and they may misdiagnose you, so why should they take the risk of getting into lawsuit with you. It's true that most Japanese can't speak english, even doctors. recently i talked to a doctor working in SG, can't understand his Japlish even my family also speaks Japlish, he had to type on his phone then I understand.

But if i'm not mistaken, now there's new law that says hospital cannot reject patient due to this reason.

Fun fact, there are some funny law with their doctors' licensing. do you know that for Japanese doctor legally cannot treat foreigners overseas? So in SG, there are Japanese hospitals with Japanese doctors, they can only treat Japanese here

Roid Rage

Lol.... my waifu from China... She is surprised by how crazy the wait times are here. Do a medical checkup, have to wait several hours to get the test done. Then have to come back next day, and wait several hours more for results.

She said in China, such a procedure, you request it from the doctor, the doctor will get arrange it to be done immediately, have the results out in 30mins, and you will be in and out of the hospital in under 2hrs, and won't even have to come back next day. All subsidised by the state too.
I just kana this. Tried public hospital for the first time. tried to do MRI, first you need get a referral from poly, after poly, wait 1-2 week for SGH doctor appointment, after SGH appointment, wait 1 month for MRI. after MRI, wait 1-2 month for doctor review. WAH , like that people die liao lor, YE KANG!

ApeTruelove

I just kana this. Tried public hospital for the first time. tried to do MRI, first you need get a referral from poly, after poly, wait 1-2 week for SGH doctor appointment, after SGH appointment, wait 1 month for MRI. after MRI, wait 1-2 month for doctor review. WAH , like that people die liao lor, YE KANG!
that mean you not urgent case :) If urgent case will get slot very fast

arcturuz

they need to prioritize healthcare for their own citizens first

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.