Are S’poreans losing jobs to outsourcing? Most seem to think we’ve lost our regional edge

Ubi-Warrior

And still got people here with the mindset I know engrish the international language well and that s good enuff I no need to learn other language 🙁

Learn how to survive is the best skill to have no matter how many language you speak

Akky85

What unique expertise do we have left that the other countries don’t have? Now all we can do is try to have to try to upskill our competencies exponentially while bringing down our high labor costs to stay relevant and competitive? The high rental is not helping costs too.
Frankly i cannot tell u what expertise we have right now off my head. Our recent bets in the upcoming big stuff have mostly fallen off the mark too. Foresight is certainly something the PAP of today does not have. We simply have to pick 2-3 realms of expertise and start on it now.

Social costs can be controlled via policies, most of the time, it's a matter of willingness or not, not so much about viability.

Unic0rn

Frankly i cannot tell u what expertise we have right now off my head. Our recent bets in the upcoming big stuff have mostly fallen off the mark too. Foresight is certainly something the PAP of today does not have. We simply have to pick 2-3 realms of expertise and start on it now.

Social costs can be controlled via policies, most of the time, it's a matter of willingness or not, not so much about viability.
The policymakers and leaders with the data available to them need to have the foresight 20, 30 years into the future to plan ahead the next big economic trend for us to plan our future graduates 🎓 groomed to best take advantage of the opportunities 20, 30 years later as the best of the best and hold that competitive advantage for the next 5 to 10 years. The process is an ongoing effort every decade have to plan for the next generation big thing.

Akky85

The policymakers and leaders with the data available to them need to have the foresight 20, 30 years into the future to plan ahead the next big economic trend for us to plan our future graduates 🎓 groomed to best take advantage of the opportunities 20, 30 years later as the best of the best and hold that competitive advantage for the next 5 to 10 years. The process is an ongoing effort every decade have to plan for the next generation big thing.
That's assuming... they are not doing as a job but out of passion la.

Truly how many can that label be on?

Quala98

last time say we can be bridge between china and usa cos of our billingualism

but go see our secondary and even JC students.. who speaks mandarin anymore?

then China and USA citizens are learning languages of other countires... they can be their own bridge, no need sinkees

Mr Totoro 38

Answer to your question - YES.

We are losing every bit of all jobs! Soon we have to eat grass or West North Wind...

Too costy and expensive for operation costs in sg...

Other neighbouring countries are catching up. is a fact ok

Unic0rn

That's assuming... they are not doing as a job but out of passion la.

Truly how many can that label be on?
This is a higher calling, not for profits and revenue but for the future of the nation of course definitely is out of their passion? If I’m them, I will donate my salary to the needy and less fortunate, serve the people full time as their representatives in Parliament!

socratesg

LOL 65% majority voted for the open leg. Kpkb for what ?? Just suck it up and be glad still have a job. If not go do delivery or clean toilets lor.

Akky85

This is a higher calling, not for profits and revenue but for the future of the nation of course definitely is out of their passion? If I’m them, I will donate my salary to the needy and less fortunate, serve the people full time as their representatives in Parliament!
Sadly not every MP in Parli thinks the same as you as dignity is more important to them.

carey

even Jetstar same , cite Singapore operational costs. increasing airport fees to fund T5.

doing business in Singapore is not cheap.

just like sinkies hire cheap labour for construction and domestic helpers . any jobs can be done by cheaper and better.

nowadays education standards world wide all improving.

that is why Singapore needs to find new areas that regionally can't compete yet.

if anyone has such an idea , you will be a billionaire

The cost of doing business here is really too high

Every year need to pay this admin fee and that licensing fee to the G and it adds up

Add rising rental to the mix, no wonder many companies are forced to move out

Wstc333

Correct , it will impact everyone.

However Govt focus should be on Singaporeans and how to build something where its Singaporeans dictating policy and someone FT overseas
Unfortunately I don't see their policies as pro singaporeans

zueinder

the people i know, in the entire group, there are 50% of them opposite from your observations. many rely on 1 skill, and think that the skill can feed them till they retire, and want to leech company benefits till gao gao
can you imagine a mother tell me company benefit outpatient 1200 a year, she say not enough, she go and demand more from the boss....
and another mum will be proudly discussing chinese period drama in WA group during official working hours, and say cos she WFH so she can finish the entire chinese period drama in 3 days

there is another group of 50% who are damn hardworking, but some are just suay and picked the wrong career path..
then you suay lor. Surrounded by alot of bloodsuckers.

Unic0rn

Sadly not every MP in Parli thinks the same as you as dignity is more important to them.
to serve the people in office is the highest honor and privilege that transcends personal money 💵 concerns - how can our government leaders be so money 💵 hungry/minded then how to trust them?

SageWolf

rean. It just simply doesn't make sense to be a bad employee as much as I dislike work in general and don't
No disrespect intended.
Just that I never tot of it from your perspective and agree with you somehow.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.