[Asiaone News] Member of HDB dragon boat team dies after race at Water Sports Centre in Kallang

EdenHazard

Civil Service is full of brainless middle and senior management who still believe in old school mindsets like "pain is just weakness leaving the body", "mind over body" and other unscientific crap. Imagine your retard jocks from the 1990s and 2000s whose only claim to sporting glory is making it into their school team 20 years ago but will act like they are still fitzais even when they are old and pot bellied senior managers/assistant directors/deputy directors now. And they will sabo others by egging them on with harmful encouragement like "push it! don't stop! you can do it!". Then knn these people really push until they get injured because they are told to ignore their body signals.

I saw so many cases of injuries in my CS departmental games lmao, all dumbasses pretending they are getting any sort of "glory" when all they are doing is pushing their bodies past their healthy limits but still performing below any random 15 year old kid lol.

I won't be surprised if HDB like whack their trainings without actually properly taking into account the limitations of their participants.
I urge pap to ban all these games. Civil serpents are not paid to play sports during work hours. The fact that they getting year end bonus soon irks me to the core.

Humster

Got kid ah. Jialat. Got company insurance boh for rep company
That I dunno.

Malay or Chinese?
Malay.

So after retrenchment, he found job at hdb?
Ya, that's a good, I think more than 10yrs liao.

Now think back the days working with him and the stuff we talked about. Still remember the joke he made that if I fell of a tall stool at the pantry, nobody will help me, but instead head straight to see roster to see which day can take OT. :flash:

Damn, really shocking to be frank.

Checkyrmed

Civil Service is full of brainless middle and senior management who still believe in old school mindsets like "pain is just weakness leaving the body", "mind over body" and other unscientific crap. Imagine your retard jocks from the 1990s and 2000s whose only claim to sporting glory is making it into their school team 20 years ago but will act like they are still fitzais even when they are old and pot bellied senior managers/assistant directors/deputy directors now. And they will sabo others by egging them on with harmful encouragement like "push it! don't stop! you can do it!". Then knn these people really push until they get injured because they are told to ignore their body signals.

I saw so many cases of injuries in my CS departmental games lmao, all dumbasses pretending they are getting any sort of "glory" when all they are doing is pushing their bodies past their healthy limits but still performing below any random 15 year old kid lol.

I won't be surprised if HDB like whack their trainings without actually properly taking into account the limitations of their participants.
Surely they are aware of this, much like they are aware that homeless people receive none of the GST vouchers.

Humster

After 40s must do some health screening.

Good to do once every year if possible. If not once every 2 years those check-up also do pee and sh!t one, not just blood. I 46 liao, after 42 I can feel body going downhill fast liao.

AuraKUPO

49yo already still do this kind of strenuous sports. Overestimate own body already. This age the heart cannot keep up with the muscles already. Even though your body can push, but your heart says otherwise.

Checkyrmed

Good to do once every year if possible. If not once every 2 years those check-up also do pee and sh!t one, not just blood. I 46 liao, after 42 I can feel body going downhill fast liao.
Insulin resistance and hs-CRP are the true early warning signs of metabolic collapse, yet they are routinely ignored by our GP.

Shinning_Wolf

As you aged your body need to do conditioning for intensive physical activity, even Mike Tyson need to train for almost 8 months, 6 hours a day, before fighting Jake Paul.

socratesg

Speaking to AsiaOne, the captain of “Team HDB” said the team was "still a bit shaken" by the death of one of its members.

"We have one more race in the afternoon, and we are going to continue to race for him," she said in the morning.

Huh ??? One of their members tragically and unceremoniously uplorried and still got mood to carry on racing ???

lalalalalala

Rest In Peace.
Really cannot chiong too much after 40 for some people including myself.
i think start from 30 need to be careful liao. recently so many cases, marathon, ippt, and now this. now i also scared to push, exercise enough to lose weight build abit of muscle can already. anyway 90% is diet, exercise only 10%

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
tsk
already at that age, sometimes it'd be best to not engage self in strenuous exercise

dragon boat rowing ain't a joke
need lots of stamina to last the whole race

EdenHazard

Speaking to AsiaOne, the captain of “Team HDB” said the team was "still a bit shaken" by the death of one of its members.

"We have one more race in the afternoon, and we are going to continue to race for him," she said in the morning.

Huh ??? One of their members tragically and unceremoniously uplorried and still got mood to carry on racing ???
Ya I thought this was a bit uncaring

lizzykai

No safety time out is wild

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.