Ask a Bicycle Question - Part 6

Gixxerfied

Guys, is it straight forward to swap a S bar to M bar on a Pikes/3sixty? Besides the cable length, are the stems the same length? There is a promotion for 3Sixty but it is only for S bar, and it is too aggressive for me

S to m not hard..just have to change all cables and housing..

I change to a mini riser for my 3sixty

PR2JeAch.jpg

Computeron

If one pro cyclist riding those ah pek dirty bike can race win another pro cyclist riding a road bike? Both riding on same path.

You should train your leg muscles with any bike u can afford then you're cool with any wheels.
Riders that matter.
Get the right perception.

Gixxerfied

If one pro cyclist riding those ah pek dirty bike can race win another pro cyclist riding a road bike? Both riding on same path.

Scenario abit wrong unless you're pro-cyclist leh..

How about pro on mamachari vs beginner on pro bike..Or both beginner but one has stronger core muscle and the other just starting out with both on the same bike and component.

This below is not a pro..just got strong legs..
uMApnhc.jpg

His average speed for 160km is faster than my average on 40km with 3 speed.. :s22:
dpT23wc.jpg

Anyway, i wont say you dont need a soup up foldie(BF, Moulton etc etc) if just cycle for leisure..A decent one would suffice(Not Aleoca etc etc)..

nannan82

recently back to cycling.. where is a good bike shop to go?? wide range of bike type... wanting to upgrade my avalanche

aamaterasu

Hi guys I'm totally new to cycling. Any foldable bikes to recommend? Just wanna cycle for fun at places like park. Budget preferably around 250 to 300.

snowcrash

This route will take how long on average? Like v far sia.

More than 100km, you can always turn back to ECP where you park your car.
Just giving you ideas on how big/small Singapore is with regard to cycling.

ECP is a good spot to start off.

so if your average speed is 20km/hr... you can do the calculation.

magnus

is mips helmet overkill if only ride in park and pcn?

looking for a helmet for folding bike.

athenodorus

More than 100km, you can always turn back to ECP where you park your car.
Just giving you ideas on how big/small Singapore is with regard to cycling.

ECP is a good spot to start off.

so if your average speed is 20km/hr... you can do the calculation.
More than 100km can just chiong for RI Liao haha.

Old already, I cycle from Bedok to ecp to CV and back already tired liao.

summersky1986

Just sent my foldie in for servicing after persistent noise from the front part of the bike. Don't know if it's a bearing problem on headset or what lah. Quite dulan sent back 1st time paid 80 for servicing and the noise came back after 2nd ride.

Sent from 10char using GAGT

rarenick

Just sent my foldie in for servicing after persistent noise from the front part of the bike. Don't know if it's a bearing problem on headset or what lah. Quite dulan sent back 1st time paid 80 for servicing and the noise came back after 2nd ride.
Sent from 10char using GAGT
U went to which shop? Did u specifically tell them got noise? Did they say would change out any part to replace? If no new parts then $80 to service headset area is expensive. Some more the noise came back. I hope u meant full servicing. But then $80 full servicing is too cheap. If it's home based, can be trusted or not? I don't let a random guy from online service my bike. Even minor mistake made might cause an accident during ride.

How u determine the noise is from headset area? U turn the steerer? It might be from front wheel also.

Posted from PCWX using SM-G970F

kelvin_99

Hi guys I'm totally new to cycling. Any foldable bikes to recommend? Just wanna cycle for fun at places like park. Budget preferably around 250 to 300.

You can start your search at Carousell. For that price range for a 20in new foldie bike for leisure park rides, you will probably end up with a budget bike. I bought one costing about $250. It ended up me junking it 1 week later. Too heavy and quality of parts inferior. (That's my opinion). I ended up selling it and buying one costing $350. No complains so far after 2 months. Bike is lighter and ride is so much smoother. For a bike noob like me, that's good enough. I probably will upgrade in future as I read more about better features, but dun feel the need to now. I suppose if you ask me now in hindsight what I should have bought, I should have gone straight for something in the $450 range. :)

There are only those few brands and models in those price range. So you can compare from the different sellers to get a feel of the price so you dun get ripped off. I also suggest you buy a new bike from a shop unless you know the buyer well enough as to how seasoned his used bike is. Good luck!

nwh_sg

When I shift my gear to 3,8 (largest) and when I back pedal, it seems like the bike chain is rubbing against the front derailleur. (Sound of the bike chain rubbing against the front derailleur can be heard from the video)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1FnhULFqyJW16gopbMUxV7maxTmOxaKCr/view?usp=drivesdk

Is this normal? How can it be fixed if this is not normal.

Thank you very much.

[deleted my previous post]

If your rear cog is the smallest, i.e. largest gear, then it shouldn't happen. Need to adjust the front derailleur cage outwards slightly.

foxer77

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.