Ask A Headhunter!

Ask A Headhunter

Few things to establish.

1) I have a real job. So i might not reply quickly but i will try to respond to as many posts as possible but i will not respond during weekends so much (I have a family with a baby to take care of)

2) Do not send me private messages.

3) Do not ask me about my job

4) Feel free to ask anything else as long as it is not nonsensical. I will not respond to nonsense responses.

5) Do not ask me for jobs. I don't have lobang for you. This is more of an advisory thread

:s12::s12:

My background.

7 years in this line

Specialize in executive search (Salaries above 4k) but i used to do lower level recruitment last time

True blue sinkee.

notiboey

u fail the moment u use "sinkies"
also, head hunters do not hunt for jobs at $4k level, minimum is $10k upwards.

Ask A Headhunter

u fail the moment u use "sinkies"
also, head hunters do not hunt for jobs at $4k level, minimum is $10k upwards.

In Singapore only got 3 level of companies according to Ministry of Manpower

1) Those that can do recruitment for all levels including temp staff (like Recruit Express)

2) Those that can do recruitment for above 4k per month (like Robert Walters)

3) Those that can do recruitment above 7k a month (like Korn Ferry)

By definition no such thing as minimum 10k a month. :s12:

deadguy00

Looking for data analytics/programming role. Got any suitable roles?

Sent from GAGT Android App

Litmuss

why not start off with how you go about headhunting candidates?

Ask A Headhunter

why not start off with how you go about headhunting candidates?

1) Linkedin
2) Job portals
3) Job advertisements
4) Referrals from other people
5) Attend networking events
6) Call into the company directly
7) Email the person's company email (usually by guesswork)
8) Market mapping

notiboey

In Singapore only got 3 level of companies according to Ministry of Manpower

1) Those that can do recruitment for all levels including temp staff (like Recruit Express)

2) Those that can do recruitment for above 4k per month (like Robert Walters)

3) Those that can do recruitment above 7k a month (like Korn Ferry)

By definition no such thing as minimum 10k a month. :s12:

im not talking bout company lah, im talking about the use of the word "headhunter".

few yrs back when an angmoh call me citing himself as a hh, get f by me for the pay package of the offers he have on table for wasting my time.

if u r local, normally i quite nice.

Ask A Headhunter

im not talking bout company lah, im talking about the use of the word "headhunter".

few yrs back when an angmoh call me citing himself as a hh, get f by me for the pay package of the offers he have on table for wasting my time.

if u r local, normally i quite nice.

A lot of companies in Singapore don't like Ang Mo Headhunter.

In fact they give the industry a bad name.

I got one client, who always specifically say only request to hire Singaporeans but the Ang Mo Headhunter always send them foreigners only until the client not happy.

Ask A Headhunter

What are the challenges in this line?

1) No jobs to work on (Usually in Dec/Jan period when everyone waiting for bonus)
2) No candidates for the jobs (same reason as above or that the skills required very difficult to find)
3) Clients don't want to pay certain amount of recruitment fees (because they are cheapskate companies, these are the companies who usually go to other companies because they are cheaper)

wuweiz

What is ur comm structure like?

U have to source ur own clients?

finclk82

1. How does your company pay you? Base salary plus commission every 3mths?

2. Have you thought of striking it out on your own since you have a steady level of business? If so, why havent you done so?

3. Do you focus on any few key industries?

4. Where do you see yourself in another 5 yrs time?

notiboey

A lot of companies in Singapore don't like Ang Mo Headhunter.

In fact they give the industry a bad name.

I got one client, who always specifically say only request to hire Singaporeans but the Ang Mo Headhunter always send them foreigners only until the client not happy.

ya man, hate it as the angmoh jobagents always oversell themselves as well as the job.

after a couple of wasted trips earlier in my career going into interviews with wrong information, wrong pay package, etc, i vowed NEVER to use an angmoh agent again!

Ask A Headhunter

1. How does your company pay you? Base salary plus commission every 3mths?

2. Have you thought of striking it out on your own since you have a steady level of business? If so, why havent you done so?

3. Do you focus on any few key industries?

4. Where do you see yourself in another 5 yrs time?

1) Base salary plus commission every month (depending on whether can hit the target or not)

2) Very expensive to set up recruitment agency in Singapore (before even start business need to pay 60k to Ministry of Manpower)

3) Focus on banking industry

4) Probably work in house in a big bank recruiting for the bank, but it means no commission :s12:

Boltstorm

1. What's the job like? Do you need to cold call to look for new clients?

2. As a candidate, is there anyway for me to avoid telling my previous drawn salary? Some recruiters even want to know my entire salary history!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.