Ask A Headhunter!

pinky_junior

If you expect 2k salary, most of the time you will get 2k salary.

There will be times you get 2.2k or 2.3k (if the agent is good and knows the client well) but definitely not 4k because that is too far off the mark

The amount you expect is decided by you. If the agent say you too high, or the HR say you too high, then forget about it then move into other jobs that can pay higher.

Another point to emphasize is that if you do exceptionally well in your current company, you will be promoted (and get a pay jump).

A lot of MNC (especially financial institutions) give up to 10 to 15% pay hike for promotion.

So instead of always thinking of jumping to get a higher salary, should perform at a very very high level at your current company and fight for promotion

ok noted.
judging by that and my observation i guess is true that it is not always too good to go thru agent.

i notice most scenario where a candidate manage to job hop and get >50% pay increase is when they contact the company directly and knows exactly what the company and the industry std can offer for the same role.

i actually knows of few sunshine industry that promotes their staff 3 level up and only gave them only 5% increment.
Because the coy is not doing well financially; thus the pay and expect the staff to bear with it until situation improve.
Lots of such staff only stay because they think that they can get better job and pay next time if they show that they can do well in the role for 2-3 years (looks good on resume). but even after that some effort may not pay off

Ask A Headhunter

ok noted.
judging by that and my observation i guess is true that it is not always too good to go thru agent.

i notice most scenario where a candidate manage to job hop and get >50% pay increase is when they contact the company directly and knows exactly what the company and the industry std can offer for the same role.

i actually knows of few sunshine industry that promotes their staff 3 level up and only gave them only 5% increment.
Because the coy is not doing well financially; thus the pay and expect the staff to bear with it until situation improve.
Lots of such staff only stay because they think that they can get better job and pay next time if they show that they can do well in the role for 2-3 years. but even after that some effort may not pay off

Just because you apply directly doesn't mean the company will pay you a higher salary FYI.

Doesn't work that way.

Just because one person got 50%, doesn't mean everyone will get 50%. (regardless of whether he went thru agent or apply directly)

It is an anomaly. :s22:

Its like saying that one degree dropout became a multi billionaire (Bill Gates) means every degree dropout will become one.

icansing

jin satki

got advice for me?

I 2 position were short term contract job. 2 perm positions tenure is 1 yr+ but got good references from all my ex bosses and always get promoted less than a year.

Why still no headhunter call me?:( Should remove the contract job from my resume?Then this will shortern my exp sia.

Ask A Headhunter

jin satki

got advice for me?

I 2 position were short term contract job. 2 perm positions tenure is 1 yr+ but got good references from all my ex bosses and always get promoted less than a year.

Why still no headhunter call me?:( Should remove the contract job from my resume?Then this will shortern my exp sia.

Stay in your next job for the next 4 to 5 years. :s22:

F3Rm1nat0r

agent usually must inform the client how much the candidate is currently on.

agent has no obligation to inform the candidate how much is the client budget, as long as the client can pay a reasonable amount. (eg: don't move on the same salary, or pay cut, etc)

at least 5 years relevant work experience in respect to the job you are applying for.

Move into management faster quite easy, don't job hop, plan your career strategically and move when the time is right.

Usually after every 3 years to 5 years move once, then move every year.
what do you mean stay 5 years and then job hop every year? if you hop every year won't they consider you a hopper? maybe you can hop once after a year (citing a valid reason), but anything more and they might smell something fishy right?

pinky_junior

Just because you apply directly doesn't mean the company will pay you a higher salary FYI.

Doesn't work that way.

Just because one person got 50%, doesn't mean everyone will get 50%. (regardless of whether he went thru agent or apply directly)

It is an anomaly. :s22:

edited my post, missed out the last part

anyway, what i mean is that if candidate go direct, at least they will be aware of the salary range of such job and the company's expectation.
If they can fit into criteria better than other competitor for the same job, then is a sure-win situation for them.

However, if they go thru 3rd party, then it may be of different scenario :s22:
because everything is not revealed and if they ask for more, they are advised otherwise.

Happens to my colleague once and he secured the same post going direct out of coincidence ($1.5k difference in pay offer), before agent revealed the name of the company.
i just want to know from HH pov to see if they tally.

icansing

Apply for a job you like, then stay for the next 4 to 5 years
got tips to improve my chance so headhunter will call more?

Let's say you working for a firm and their current employees apply other jobs through u. u wun go tell the HR personnel that right?Its breaching confidentiality hor?

Ask A Headhunter

what do you mean stay 5 years and then job hop every year? if you hop every year won't they consider you a hopper? maybe you can hop once after a year (citing a valid reason), but anything more and they might smell something fishy right?

I give you an example

Stay 5 years, change next job 1 year, change next job 1 year, change next job stay 4 to 5 years.

Or

Stay 1 year, stay 1 year, stay 5 years (or more), stay 1 year, stay 5 years

Fastest way to move up the ladder (most likely)

Ask A Headhunter

edited my post, missed out the last part

anyway, what i mean is that if candidate go direct, at least they will be aware of the salary range of such job and the company's expectation.
If they can fit into criteria better than other competitor for the same job, then is a sure-win situation for them.

However, if they go thru 3rd party, then it may be of different scenario :s22:
because everything is not revealed and if they ask for more, they are advised otherwise.

Happens to my colleague once and he secured the same post going direct out of coincidence ($1.5k difference in pay offer), before agent revealed the name of the company.
i just want to know from HH pov to see if they tally.

Even if you do not know the budget, (if you go thru agency), most of the time, the budget will be at a certain level beyond your expectation. (unless you are asking for super high increment in terms of %)

If the budget is only 10% above your current salary or less, most of the time the agent won't even bother setting up the interview with the client (too much work)

The reason is simple. Companies do not factor agency fees into the offer (it is a separate financial budget)

havetheveryfun

Nowadays I keep receiving calls from indian headhunters, trying to offer me a "Fantastic Job opportunity" as a desktop support or helpdesk support, or IT support.

WTF man, these guys don't know how to read my resume? the best part is they will always say they saw my resume and was wondering if i am interested or not.
I'm not even working in that line now!

And they always asking me how much I'm asking for... WTF!? still didn't read my resume! every details are in there already!

So gud ah.. some ppl want also don have leh

wahkao3

Will satki black vios increase your satki market value??
yes
seriously yes

if u are doing sales, one of the requirement is to have your own car. ppl without license or car will be filtered out

Dark84

Frankly I've experienced a very unprofessional headhunter before. Was offered a 20% paycut on a job and she kept asking me to accept it. I said no.. The firm raised it to a <5 % increment. Again, she kept pressurizing me to accept it. In the end I negotiated my own way and finally secure a decent increment. Needless to say, I never used her again after that.

Litmuss

I give you an example

Stay 5 years, change next job 1 year, change next job 1 year, change next job stay 4 to 5 years.

Or

Stay 1 year, stay 1 year, stay 5 years (or more), stay 1 year, stay 5 years

Fastest way to move up the ladder (most likely)
Hmm... Still don't see the difference.

Sent from GAGT Android App

otaku7

hmmm hh saw the similar question regarding getting a leg into management... wanna see from your point of view regarding my situation.

am a previous rank and file employee at coy x for 9 years, the last 2 being in junior exec position. left in late 2012 and joined coy y in jan 2013. so far looking after a section within a dept of 5 other sections where I report to an avp and vp. increment wise is not much and there's other more experienced exec within dept (diff section, as I'm the only exec in my sect)...hence worried about progression even though my avp is already in retirement age zone.

so, have been contemplating a move some time in Apr 2015 depending on if there's any upgrade to my rank. if there's no upgrade, I'm looking to move to something which expands my role in order to get a leg in senior management.

or should I stay another couple years hoping my avp leaves and I get move laterally upwards?

havetheveryfun

Frankly I've experienced a very unprofessional headhunter before. Was offered a 20% paycut on a job and she kept asking me to accept it. I said no.. The firm raised it to a <5 % increment. Again, she kept pressurizing me to accept it. In the end I negotiated my own way and finally secure a decent increment. Needless to say, I never used her again after that.

Maybe that's a recruiter/consultant. Not headhunter

yukari_san3

HH,

My previous role was a private banker in an investment bank.

I'm currently in a different firm, but I am looking to re-join my ex-bank.

Other than the usual details on length of service, salary range and rank.

What other details can the HR in my ex-bank see about me?

Ask A Headhunter

HH,

My previous role was a private banker in an investment bank.

I'm currently in a different firm, but I am looking to re-join my ex-bank.

Other than the usual details on length of service, salary range and rank.

What other details can the HR in my ex-bank see about me?

More importantly is, your (ex) boss must be willing to take you back

If that one is fine, then everything else is fine.

is there cooling period after signing employment contract?

No

hmmm hh saw the similar question regarding getting a leg into management... wanna see from your point of view regarding my situation.

am a previous rank and file employee at coy x for 9 years, the last 2 being in junior exec position. left in late 2012 and joined coy y in jan 2013. so far looking after a section within a dept of 5 other sections where I report to an avp and vp. increment wise is not much and there's other more experienced exec within dept (diff section, as I'm the only exec in my sect)...hence worried about progression even though my avp is already in retirement age zone.

so, have been contemplating a move some time in Apr 2015 depending on if there's any upgrade to my rank. if there's no upgrade, I'm looking to move to something which expands my role in order to get a leg in senior management.

or should I stay another couple years hoping my avp leaves and I get move laterally upwards?

You should have moved to another company earlier in your career.

The best way to move into management is, never stay in one company for too long (usually not more than 5 years)

Best is stay in one company for 3 to 5 years. Not less (or you will be labelled a job hopper) and not more (or your progress will potentially be stagnant)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.