Ask A Headhunter!

asdCLOT

How long a company takes to make a decision depends on whether

1) it is a replacement or new headcount
2) the skills required to perform the job and how senior the role is.
3) how big is the dept

I have seen cases where the offer came 2 months after the final interview.

I have also seen cases where it came within 1 day.

Secondly, when a company wants to hire people, they typically engage 2 or 3 hh to work for them.

Your hh cannot give you a definite answer because he does not know who the other candidates are and how strong they are.

Unless, their relationship with the hr is strong enough ( this one must see how experienced your hh is), to the point that the hr will tell your hh who the other candidates are (even if they are represented by your hh, of which he can give you a good idea what are your chances of getting the offer)

Sent from Sony D6653 using GAGT

Hi HH,

The position is a growth hire. The role requires exp between 1-4 years as stated in JD. I have 2 years exp. The dept in SG is about 22 strong, the head in london mention they are looking to hire 4 more new headcounts. Up til today, i have only had a phone call with the headhunter. She mentioned that they feel i can collaborate well with the team, i can relate my current work to the JD very well. I am on the verge of emailing the HH to ask for an update. My final interview was on 30th Mar 2015, considering London was having bank holiday on 3rd, 6th, 7th April. They got back to me on 8th, but now its 13th April already. Would it be okay to ask for an update?

Also, what do you think my chances are ? They are not updating me but only told me they feel positive about me.

As you can imagine, i'm like WTF IS GOING ON? Are they playing me?

Thanks in advance HH.

Ask A Headhunter

Hi HH,

The position is a growth hire. The role requires exp between 1-4 years as stated in JD. I have 2 years exp. The dept in SG is about 22 strong, the head in london mention they are looking to hire 4 more new headcounts. Up til today, i have only had a phone call with the headhunter. She mentioned that they feel i can collaborate well with the team, i can relate my current work to the JD very well. I am on the verge of emailing the HH to ask for an update. My final interview was on 30th Mar 2015, considering London was having bank holiday on 3rd, 6th, 7th April. They got back to me on 8th, but now its 13th April already. Would it be okay to ask for an update?

Also, what do you think my chances are ? They are not updating me but only told me they feel positive about me.

As you can imagine, i'm like WTF IS GOING ON? Are they playing me?

Thanks in advance HH.

Usually if it is a new headcount, means the hire is not "urgent", because in most cases, the dept is still running smoothly, whereas replacement hires are typically more urgent.

Secondly, you mentioned the head is not based in Singapore, so he might have other priorities, including possibly getting someone from another dept to join his dept. (since it is a relatively junior role if someone with 1 to 2 years experience can do it)

Thirdly, as with many big companies currently, a lot of hires, regardless of seniority, need to be approved by a very senior manager, of which sometimes, signing a document to offer someone a contract is the least of his priorities.

Like i said, i have seen cases, where the offer only came up, 2 months after the final interview has ended.

asdCLOT

Usually if it is a new headcount, means the hire is not "urgent", because in most cases, the dept is still running smoothly, whereas replacement hires are typically more urgent.

Secondly, you mentioned the head is not based in Singapore, so he might have other priorities, including possibly getting someone from another dept to join his dept. (since it is a relatively junior role if someone with 1 to 2 years experience can do it)

Thirdly, as with many big companies currently, a lot of hires, regardless of seniority, need to be approved by a very senior manager, of which sometimes, signing a document to offer someone a contract is the least of his priorities.

Like i said, i have seen cases, where the offer only came up, 2 months after the final interview has ended.

sian leh bro... wait so long. of course i still have upcoming interviews with other firms. but i want this one, jin NICHE......

Novak2016

How come I am seeing lesser and lesser job opening in 154th media Sat recruit section? Companies are paying recruitment agency to do the job now huh? :s11:

tiertime

Don't take my word for it, but a number of my clients think 2 months is too long, but there are other clients who are fine with 2 months as well.

2) Partner with a HH, but don't engage more than 3 companies.

3) Only the reputable ones.

1) Send in cv thru their website
2) Post in prominent job portals
3) Maintain a professional linkedin profile

These are the easiest ways which don't take much time

Any reason/s why it is not advisable to engage more than 3 HH ?

We have already sent resumes across to the jobs we applied, why is it necessary to still have a link in profile?

How come I am seeing lesser and lesser job opening in 154th media Sat recruit section? Companies are paying recruitment agency to do the job now huh? :s11:
Can i know what is this?

Ask A Headhunter

Hi, do you have any feedback about Nomura Asia ex Japan? Is it a good firm to join? Is work-life balance achievable? Thanks.

Sent from Samsung GT-I9305 using GAGT

As with any company, depends on which department you are working in.

Because very often, the best candidates are "passive" candidates who don't look at job ads all day.

Any reason/s why it is not advisable to engage more than 3 HH ?

We have already sent resumes across to the jobs we applied, why is it necessary to still have a link in profile?

Because very often, especially if your nature of your job is very specific, there are only that many vacancies in the market and most likely, the HH are all working with the same companies.

Also because, not every job is advertised.

tiertime

Because very often, especially if your nature of your job is very specific, there are only that many vacancies in the market and most likely, the HH are all working with the same companies.

Also because, not every job is advertised.

The industry i am inquiring on is PR/ marketing /sales / events, which has over supply of candidates in the current market.

I believe that those companies looking for candidates on LinkedIn will not generate more results than placing an ad on those popular job portals, but why do companies still do that? Issit likely that they want to save money on ad costs?

If not to save ad costs, what would be the other possible reasons ? pls advise.

liverbird1975

Don't take my word for it, but a number of my clients think 2 months is too long, but there are other clients who are fine with 2 months as well.

2) Partner with a HH, but don't engage more than 3 companies.

3) Only the reputable ones.

Hi HH,

Thanks. How do I partner with a HH? Do I contact them directly? Which are the reputable companies I should work with to help my career?

Thanks in advance for your replies.

lchungwe

Would you apply for the job again if the role had been advertised again but this time it is the hiring company but not hh?

Example if u had been selected for the 2 interview but the company say they still want to see other candidates even you had postive feedback on the 2 interview u had attended.

Would appreciate some view on this ?

Example

What i mean u are being selected for 2 interview by Company A and you had attended.

Now u got feedback from the hh that the Company A still want to see other candidates before deciding.

You saw the Company A role (same role) that that you had went for the interview.

Would you apply since it is no longer under the purview of the hh?

Regards

Ask A Headhunter

Hi HH,

Thanks. How do I partner with a HH? Do I contact them directly? Which are the reputable companies I should work with to help my career?

Thanks in advance for your replies.

The type of HH you work with depends on
1) Which industry and which job you are in
2) What is your current salary

This is because a lot of HH specialize in certain industries / job scopes and there are some which specialize in hiring people above a certain salary (above 4k a month, or above 7k a month, etc)

The industry i am inquiring on is PR/ marketing /sales / events, which has over supply of candidates in the current market.

I believe that those companies looking for candidates on LinkedIn will not generate more results than placing an ad on those popular job portals, but why do companies still do that? Issit likely that they want to save money on ad costs?

If not to save ad costs, what would be the other possible reasons ? pls advise.

The main reason for not relying on job ad, is that they want to reach out to the passive candidates, who usually don't bother reading job ads. (Usually people who read job ads are those who are actively looking for a job)

Would you apply for the job again if the role had been advertised again but this time it is the hiring company but not hh?

Example if u had been selected for the 2 interview but the company say they still want to see other candidates even you had postive feedback on the 2 interview u had attended.

Would appreciate some view on this ?

Example

What i mean u are being selected for 2 interview by Company A and you had attended.

Now u got feedback from the hh that the Company A still want to see other candidates before deciding.

You saw the Company A role (same role) that that you had went for the interview.

Would you apply since it is no longer under the purview of the hh?

Regards

If you apply for the job ad, after you have attended the interview set up by the HH, you will still not be called up for the interview again, nor will it increase your chances of getting the job.

This is because there is this issue of "ownership of candidates"

Unless, you apply for the job, before you were contacted by the HH, then that is different.

lchungwe

This is because a lot of HH specialize in certain industries / job scopes and there are some which specialize in hiring people above a certain salary (above 4k a month, or above 7k a month, etc)

The main reason for not relying on job ad, is that they want to reach out to the passive candidates, who usually don't bother reading job ads. (Usually people who read job ads are those who are actively looking for a job)

If you apply for the job ad, after you have attended the interview set up by the HH, you will still not be called up for the interview again, nor will it increase your chances of getting the job.

This is because there is this issue of "ownership of candidates"

Unless, you apply for the job, before you were contacted by the HH, then that is different.

thanks for the information. I had been called up for 2 interview by the company with a gap of 2 weeks from 1st and 2nd week thru the HH. I heard that the company still want to look for candidates before they made the decision.

So it look to me like a waiting game to make the final decision.

Between the 1st selection interview by the Hh since late Feb 2015. Went for face to face interview with the hiring mgr and his co-colleagues within 2 weeks apart in Mar 2015. i heard from the hh that the company had not make a choice and they still want to look around. That is why the company posted the same role in the job search website.

Tat s y i am wondering what happen.

tiertime

I would like to make following inquiries, pls advise:

1) I do not understand why would companies want to hire someone who is passive and not really in need of a job :s11:

2) What were you doing before you became a HH? were you studying/ working in other industries?

3) How long have you been working as a HH? Do you like your job?

4) What is the industry/ job that is least affected by the influx of FT ?

liverbird1975

Thank you.

I am from the public relations / corp comms industry. As I've mentioned, I've recently switched to a business development role which is not a good fit for me. I intend to go back to PR/CC. Please advise which HH will be appropriate to help me in my job search.

My current salary is S$7,000. In my previous job, I was drawing about S$5,500.

Ask A Headhunter

Thank you.

I am from the public relations / corp comms industry. As I've mentioned, I've recently switched to a business development role which is not a good fit for me. I intend to go back to PR/CC. Please advise which HH will be appropriate to help me in my job search.

My current salary is S$7,000. In my previous job, I was drawing about S$5,500.

I am not sure which HH firm is good for PR roles. (There are over 100 HH firms in Singapore alone).

You probably need to do your own research.

Ask A Headhunter

thanks for the information. I had been called up for 2 interview by the company with a gap of 2 weeks from 1st and 2nd week thru the HH. I heard that the company still want to look for candidates before they made the decision.

So it look to me like a waiting game to make the final decision.

Between the 1st selection interview by the Hh since late Feb 2015. Went for face to face interview with the hiring mgr and his co-colleagues within 2 weeks apart in Mar 2015. i heard from the hh that the company had not make a choice and they still want to look around. That is why the company posted the same role in the job search website.

Tat s y i am wondering what happen.

Because you are not a 100% fit, or even close to a 80% fit for the role, (in terms of technical skills and probably in terms of personality and "fit" to the team)

yodatan

1) I do not understand why would companies want to hire someone who is passive and not really in need of a job :s11:

2) What were you doing before you became a HH? were you studying/ working in other industries?

I think the answer to question 1 is that you have a specific set of skills and experience that the company is looking for

Ask A Headhunter

1) Because when a company hires, they want to know the push and pull factors, job stability, etc

2) Working as a HR manager in a manufacturing firm

3) 6 years

4) Government jobs

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.