ASUS Transformer Prime

Fifa03fan

my impression is that it is even faster after the update but the camera quality seems to have dipped. i could be wrong cos i never actively dug up features in the prime till now, but it seems with this update, there is an option to deactivate the touchpad from the screen and there is now wifi direct.

what a beauty the prime is; it almost makes my ipad look bashfully plain.

Love the sysbar deactivation option, very useful in games to avoid hitting the keys :D

kyleongwl

thank you so much for your replies

Actually I searched for the Transformer Prime but couldnt find a store that has them on stock..Then we happened to pass by epicentre in ION and looked at the ipad 3 out of curiosity..Having been frustrated not finding the Transformer, we bought the ipad3 instead.Ipad 2 was oos and the only available wifi version was 16Gb so we got that model

It was a hard decision for me being an anti-mac guy..but well the display won me over..At least your replies made me a little less guilty going over to the apple side
ipad for the children would b easier...prime is a hot cake, like its tf101...in fact last year, tf101 n ipad2, this year, prime n ipad3, sell like 'mad'. many places out of stock. i kinda surprised that u got ipad3....njoy. hope 2c u with a android device soon..

waway625

ipad for the children would b easier...prime is a hot cake, like its tf101...in fact last year, tf101 n ipad2, this year, prime n ipad3, sell like 'mad'. many places out of stock. i kinda surprised that u got ipad3....njoy. hope 2c u with a android device soon..

yeah, I was lucky I got the last one..I was at Epicentre ION. Well it didnt matter too much for me I guess because I wont be using it (im a desktop PC guy)..perhaps for a quick internet while one the loo only haha but primarily its for apps for my son =) thanks and yeah maybe if I do get more interested in tablets I'd get the prime or whatever is the latest version the time Im in the market again =) thanks!

tnatna

best is to buy one of each os: windows, ios, android.

windows for work, ios for itunes/podcasts/itunesU/magazines, android (prime) for widgets, keyboard, sheer flexibility, camera and the free apps.

kyleongwl

best is to buy one of each os: windows, ios, android.

windows for work, ios for itunes/podcasts/itunesU/magazines, android (prime) for widgets, keyboard, sheer flexibility, camera and the free apps.
tat wat i had...(or more)
Its like drug...juz buy lah
(new slogan for a new brand)
at times, i do not even know where the unit is...

tnatna

i know what you mean...now i am agonizing whether to get ipad 3. honestly i pad3 not as shiok to hold compared to ipad 2 or prime.

tat wat i had...(or more)
Its like drug...juz buy lah
(new slogan for a new brand)
at times, i do not even know where the unit is...

aurorama

Hi all,

I am seriously considering getting a Prime...

Is it still a good buy considering the issues such as weak wifi, flickering, rebooting, etc...?

Stocks seem to be low everywhere and the price non negotiable... Any lobang for places that can negotiate?

Pls kindly advise...

Thanks.

kyleongwl

Hi all,

Is it still a good buy considering the issues such as weak wifi, flickering, rebooting, etc...?

Stocks seem to be low everywhere and the price non negotiable... Any lobang for places that can negotiate?

Pls kindly advise...

Thanks.

weak wifi is a fact...other issue depends.
some batches had battery issue.
reboot is associated with ics(had not.heard prime on hc having issue)

in a mth or 2, asusfon shd b out...then the plastic prime (3000 or 7000 series) a quarter later??

all tab had a max of 12mth shelf line b4 a newer, powerful model came.

my opiniom, prime is a league of its own. the metal back do pose wifi&gps issue, but the visual effects do not b deny.

zoneware

Hi all,

Pls kindly advise...

Thanks.
mony

I've been using it for a month now...
Wifi no issue (using in a 2 storey hse), unless ur house damn big.
Flickering- no encounter so far.
Auto reboot- so far kena once only.
Overall not bad lah, happy :)

tnatna

my set does not have any of those issues.

one peculiar thing though: the camera seems sharper at the 6mpx mode than the 8mpx; rather with 6 mpx it is sharp in the entire pic but with 8 mpx it is sharp except at the edges.

the most bizarre comment came from my mom who says it is *too light* for use and worries that the lightness means fragility.

battery life is good but not close to ipad2. i cannot stand the centralized touchpad (really ought to offset to be under spacebar) cos my hand tends to brush against it when typing.

the number of slots for usb, sd, micro sd makes it incredibly convenient when u r rushing to transfer (don't have all the ipad transfer prob crap).

oh most importantly, cos it is so rare to say this about any tablet, prime is so incredibly beautiful that i think it would beat ipad in a beauty pageant for tablets.

in all i am very happy with it except very hard to find casing.

mony

I've been using it for a month now...
Wifi no issue (using in a 2 storey hse), unless ur house damn big.
Flickering- no encounter so far.
Auto reboot- so far kena once only.
Overall not bad lah, happy :)

aurorama

Hi all,

Thanks for all the advices...

I shall hunt for a set 2moro... hopefully can find one w/o dock if possible.... :s13:

Will keep finger cross and hope that it work w/o any problems... :)

Will update on my hunt again...

thisisnotme1212

Hi all,

Pls kindly advise...

Thanks.

mine dun hv such issues either.
i use it primarily for ebook reading.
i think performance wise is app based. the my library that comes with it sucks. its slow and buggy.
i'm using alkido and mantano now. serves my purpose.
only problem is hard to find accessories.
i tink apple still has an advantage over the choice of accessories and apps.

tt32003

Is the keyboard dock for transformer prime the same as the Asus transformer ?

aurorama

Hi all,

Managed to buy the Prime in gold colour from a shop after walking around SLS hunting for it... :D

Everywhere seems to be out of stock.

Had to buy together with dock and price is non negotiable.

Updated to ICS. So far so good...

After playing it around for a while, I would say that it is indeed a beauty...

Glad that I got it... :s13:

Will explore more of it in the coming days...

Fifa03fan

Anyone playing games on the Prime? Kind of surprised that no one mentioned any issues about game crashing and screen flickering on the latest update.

Or maybe I'm the only unlucky one here? :s13:

tnatna

AAAs at funan still has several sets in both colours i think.

Hi all,

Managed to buy the Prime in gold colour from a shop after walking around SLS hunting for it... :D

Everywhere seems to be out of stock.

Had to buy together with dock and price is non negotiable.

Updated to ICS. So far so good...

After playing it around for a while, I would say that it is indeed a beauty...

Glad that I got it... :s13:

Will explore more of it in the coming days...

kyleongwl

Anyone playing games on the Prime? Kind of surprised that no one mentioned any issues about game crashing and screen flickering on the latest update.

Or maybe I'm the only unlucky one here? :s13:
i play games mainly...no issue face.
perhaps the games played?
some gameloft games, Angry birds, FL commando..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.