ATM machine ate $???

nekoarc

You and some of the guys above don't count before depositing. :s22:

With credit card / qr code / etc payments, I really really seldom deal with cash >$20 except during rare occasions such as CNY.

That time I know I had about $80 initially, but spent some of it. Spent cash just doesn't register in my head much anymore since it's $2 here, $5 there and sometimes dun even have receipts. So yes, I was lazy and assumed that the machine would count correctly.

peppermint7

With credit card / qr code / etc payments, I really really seldom deal with cash >$20 except during rare occasions such as CNY.

That time I know I had about $80 initially, but spent some of it. Spent cash just doesn't register in my head much anymore since it's $2 here, $5 there and sometimes dun even have receipts. So yes, I was lazy and assumed that the machine would count correctly.

Honestly i don't count the cash i have. Whenever i see my cash builds up I'll head over to ATM to deposit them. Now on i cannot b lazy anymore :( will guai guai count before i head over

hkchew03

Yup. I know the exact amount i hand over at $ changer. It's the amount i collected back i don't count cos i trust the little counter machine to do its job properly. But now knowing ATM machine could go wrong, i guess it is better to count at money changer too. Though i scared to invite robbers :s13:

Actually the machine count is more accurate than human due to human error, especially for large sum. But ATM a bit different since need to differentiate different value notes. And i do believe it count at least twice, unless the notes are stuck together, likelihood of miscount should be rather rare. I am still going to deposit using ATM, hate queuing for counter.

peppermint7

Actually the machine count is more accurate than human due to human error, especially for large sum. But ATM a bit different since need to differentiate different value notes. And i do believe it count at least twice, unless the notes are stuck together, likelihood of miscount should be rather rare. I am still going to deposit using ATM, hate queuing for counter.

My experience with ATM is. Base on the sound of the machine, if there's no "suspicious" notes the machine detected, i only hear the counter runs thru 1 time. If it detected any note it decided to reject, it'll count a second time. Then spit out the rejected note. At that moment I'll take back my note. Straighten the bent corner etc, then try my luck again. Usually it'll go thru after that

On a safer side. It is better to know before hand how much we are feeding the machine. To avoid dispute after that

Moohai

just went to deposit cash at a UOB deposit machine, instead of miscalculation they gave me a slip stating "The notes have been retained". Called uob and say will get back to me in 3 working days...

peppermint7

just went to deposit cash at a UOB deposit machine, instead of miscalculation they gave me a slip stating "The notes have been retained". Called uob and say will get back to me in 3 working days...

Er.. usually if ganna retained is suspect it's fake note. Hope that is not the case. Otherwise will be investigated thru and thru

Either that or machine really jammed. Hope u get back your $

Squaredot

wondering how come u all got so much cash to bank in... curious :o
I hardly have any extra cash to deposit, go atm di-do-di-do is for cash withdrawal only.

Squaredot

I didn't encounter before actually, so will take note of this. Only been encountering is notes that are fine but they keep rejecting, cannot accept. Very sian ji bua.:(

reminds of the Kopitiam card top up kiosk! very neow with notes!

Moohai

Er.. usually if ganna retained is suspect it's fake note. Hope that is not the case. Otherwise will be investigated thru and thru

Either that or machine really jammed. Hope u get back your $

got the money back within 2 working days so all is good :s12:

peppermint7

got the money back within 2 working days so all is good :s12:

Yayyy! Happy for you 😊 now we know ATM can truly eat $. Lol

Did they tell you what happened?
Do u have to go down to bank to collect back?

peppermint7

reminds of the Kopitiam card top up kiosk! very neow with notes!

I stil hate it whenever Kopitiam charge me annual fee :( I need to pay up then can access to my $ inside. Why they can't give us the card for free..

P R N D

wondering how come u all got so much cash to bank in... curious :o
I hardly have any extra cash to deposit, go atm di-do-di-do is for cash withdrawal only.

- Winning from casino?

- Winning from Sgpools?

- Winning side bet on soccer matches with friends/colleagues?

- People paid back loan to you?

- Your children give you money in cash?

Sent from Mercedes-Benz E250 using GAGT

peppermint7

- Winning from casino?

- Winning from Sgpools?

- Winning side bet on soccer matches with friends/colleagues?

- People paid back loan to you?

- Your children give you money in cash?

Lol! Good try :D

U forgot to add
Picked up $ from the floor! Hahaha

P R N D

Lol! Good try :D

U forgot to add
Picked up $ from the floor! Hahaha

Frankly I'll not pick up.

Cause it must be a bait. Camera everywhere. And karma will strike, will take away 'something' close from you.

light84

I just got this error while depositing cash at UOB machine. Tmd, so suay. Need to call them tmr.

Did they get back to you?

henrylbh

Used the ATM at Chinatown MRT station to withdraw money in the evening rush hour. After about 10 minutes I realised I did not take the money dispensed. Hurried back to the machine and off course no hope ... nothing there and nobody around. Sadly I walked off thinking somebody must be very happy. Next afternoon, I look for a posb branch to report. Found a video room in amk and video call them. Luckily the person told me to check my account for the refund by end of the day.

ahnyaahnya

Just came across this article

https://singaporeuncensored.com/old-mans-hard-earned-1300-ate-by-posb-atm-at-marine-parade/

I have never (touch wood) encountered such thing though i use atm to deposit $ quite frequently. Has anyone ever encountered such discrepancy before?
IIRC, when we put the money into the machine, it counts the notes and displays the amount on the screen . And we have to confirm that it is the correct amount what. So later we can dispute the amount?

BTW what kind of work pays so much salary in cash?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.