Audio Technica Appreciation Thread

Haonan

@weng: FAD's previous DC1601XX (shaped like the current Piano Forte series) do come with silicone tips as well as metal screwable filter tips, but according to "feedback" gathered from japanese domestic owners of DC1601 series, they were told that there are prev accounts/experiences in the past where consumers would hav these tips dislodged in their ears etc, so in order to address these safety/health concerns they decided to do away with the traditional way of universal fits of removable tips, by having permanent tips on these latest Piano Forte models.

shsh91 is correct, it's actually near zero isolation actually, much worse than Sony's MDR-EX monitor series as far as my experience goes since i have the EX800st in my current possession which shares e same fitting/opening vents design as MDR-EX1000/EX600. Since the Piano Fortes are based on open-vented design as well, expect almost nil to pretty sub-par isolation when outdoors.

I did not originally purchase the PF IX's with the idea in mind of having them as my main go-to iems for outdoor usage, but more as an alternative choice when I don't feel like wearing cans at home. Some ppl may feel intimidated by their ergonomics initially, but i would say with my gut feeling their no-nonsense straight barrel design should be able to fit most ppl's ears easily and should stay comfortably on yr ears with ease, unless u like doing the head bobing movement while grooving to yr fav "loud" music. (which I would imagine ppl would likely have something like Beats or MDR-XB1000 on their heads instead, based on my imagination lol)

Would prolly suggest u to read up first this Wordpress review and one of my kind Head-fier friend music_4321's review of both the DC1601/1602SS series, before delving deeper into these expensive FAD iems to roughly know what to expect b4 auditioning these, as I don't think they are for everyone out there but if you do have interest in listening to majestic classical/orchestral music I think you shd be able to appreciate them at least abit.

Back in August last yr I have to admit personally when I initially came across his reviews, there wasn't any interest piqued in me for the Piano Fortes as in the past i didn't think that highly of dynamic iems from most other manufactuers 'cept for Sony, have mostly preferred top-tier BA stuffs myself based on prev experiences and also coming frm the fact I am impressed by their heaven series and FI-BA-SS flagship BA models in terms of the FAD signature sound. Well let's just say i was proven wrong agn, after trying them at Jaben and having the IX's on my ears. So yeah, you should check them out soon when you have the time, just take note yr pocket will not forgive you lightly if you happen to like these, as FAD stuffs are mostly considered luxury IEMs imho :)

shsh91

I heard the newly released Heaven VI is quite good from some reviews in headfi.

Haonan

Don't know leh, no idea regarding the Heaven VI's sound cos I tried the Heaven IV sometime back and didn't exactly like its sound or ergonomics fitting, reminded me alittle of Etymotics ER4 series and so far their fitting is not my fav as well. Heaven C/S and FI-BA-SS those straight barrel design tends to bode better for my own ears, though the smallest multi-BA iem so far that's totally perfect in terms of ergonomics/fit for my ears is the CK100. (which u have once owned before IIRC)

If i happen to have some spare cash in the near future, the next most likely FAD iem I would buy would be the FI-BA-SS liao, should be a nice complement/alternative to my 100PRO's as they share the same analytical treble sig but midrange wise is much musical and shares some traits with the prev predecessor CK100. Frankly there's not much universal in-ears out there that attracts me atm right now anymore. :)

shsh91 aiming any new ATH stuffs on the horizon? I recently just bought some used STAX setup + BNIB pair of CK10, so I think my AD2000X would have to wait for awhile. :vijayadmin:

shsh91

Don't know leh, no idea regarding the Heaven VI's sound cos I tried the Heaven IV sometime back and didn't exactly like its sound or ergonomics fitting, reminded me alittle of Etymotics ER4 series and so far their fitting is not my fav as well. Heaven C/S and FI-BA-SS those straight barrel design tends to bode better for my own ears, though the smallest multi-BA iem so far that's totally perfect in terms of ergonomics/fit for my ears is the CK100. (which u have once owned before IIRC)

If i happen to have some spare cash in the near future, the next most likely FAD iem I would buy would be the FI-BA-SS liao, should be a nice complement/alternative to my 100PRO's as they share the same analytical treble sig but midrange wise is much musical and shares some traits with the prev predecessor CK100. Frankly there's not much universal in-ears out there that attracts me atm right now anymore. :)

shsh91 aiming any new ATH stuffs on the horizon? I recently just bought some used STAX setup + BNIB pair of CK10, so I think my AD2000X would have to wait for awhile. :vijayadmin:

dont think im aiming for ATH stuff... still thinking of whether Im going to let go of ESW11LTD and W3000ANV. Ck100 is one of the best fitting IEMs i owned.

Someone one in headfi said the Heaven VI is some what similiar to FI BA SS with slight differences.
Heres the post: http://www.head-fi.org/t/613641/final-audio-design-appreciation-discussion-thread/1080#post_9155645

Got my Ocharaku Sui now, the sound is excellent. My kaede will arrive next week. Can drop me a PM if you want to audition both of them.

Haonan

Got my Ocharaku Sui now, the sound is excellent. My kaede will arrive next week. Can drop me a PM if you want to audition both of them.

Sure no prob, thks for the kind offer! Will keep that in mind. Hope you will like yr Flat-4 Kaede as much as yr Sui! :)

rickysio

Yes Kaede is a limited 200 run using the same batch of maple wood.

Sounds interesting, doubt Jaben would risk a demo unit though.

Yamagishi also has a range of modded ATH CKM55s, but I can't read Jap and have no idea what his mods are about.

shsh91

I want to get a ba IEM now. Choosing between FIBASS and Heaven VI. But I also want to try the FAD PFs.

weng

I just went on thu. they didn't have the piano forte (iirc say what sent to m'sia roadshow). but they got the fi-ba-ss. so I just gave it a shot. unfortunately, the sig is not my type. couldn't really take it. too bright and light. typical weak BA sounding. it's a hefty $1,888 but sorry I can't appreciate :o

so now waiting for a chance to hear the piano forte.

also tried the akg tiesto series. k67 and k167 cmi. like got subwoofer but dislocated from the rest of the sound. reminded me of denon d7100. reject. but I was quite hooked onto the k267. another of my type of sound. like. but resisted. gotta do more homework first. :o

shsh91

I just went on thu. they didn't have the piano forte (iirc say what sent to m'sia roadshow). but they got the fi-ba-ss. so I just gave it a shot. unfortunately, the sig is not my type. couldn't really take it. too bright and light. typical weak BA sounding. it's a hefty $1,888 but sorry I can't appreciate :o

also tried the akg tiesto series. k67 and k167 cmi. like got subwoofer but dislocated from the rest of the sound. reminded me of denon d7100. reject. but I was quite hooked onto the k267. another of my type of sound. like. but resisted. gotta do more homework first. :o

Did you try the Heaven VI?

Haonan

Hi weng, thks for sharing yr listening impressions and feedback. FI-BA-SS is indeed a pretty bright and lean-sounding IEM, as least compared to yr AKG K3003's or even any of the Piano Forte series. I can definitely tell u with honesty and confidence the PF IX's has this non-fatiguing sound sig with gd warmth in the midrange, although it doesn't have as bright or sharp treble as compared to the CK100PROs/MDR-EX1000s which are iems that I quite like as well in terms of their overall sound signature. But the Piano Fortes have a more mid-centric and rich signature that goes well with alot of acoustic jazz or classical music, that makes me appreciate them for what they are.

In my eyes, the FI-BA-SS does have very excellent treble properties that I personally regard them to be as good as my CK100PRO's, and their housing's are also in shaved stainless steel like the PF IX's, which attributed to their relatively high retail cost as like i had mentioned earlier usually for their finely-crafted metal housings done in FAD's factories mostly for their TOTL line-up are not done in mass production, which is why I think the material cost goes for quite abit more than other normal universals by other makers just like yr K3003's.

In my own words, the following are the Piano Forte series strong fortes/weaknesses:

PROS
  • Very excellent timbre realism (much more so over other dynamics/BA I have heard so far, these are based on my own ears and impressions, YMMV)
  • Wide, convincing soundstage properties with good 3D-imaging depth. Mimics a lively ambience for listening to alot of live concert CDs, so far as far as IEM experience goes none of my other IEMs comes close to the PF IX's when it comes down to this point.
  • Has a rich and lushed sound signature that gives a non-fatiguing treble that won't offend most listeners out there, also goes relatively well with most pop vocal genres as long as it's not bassy stuffs.
  • High sensitivity, very easy to driven (even more sensitive than my Sony EX800st which are a pair of mid-fi dynamic IEMs that requires quite abit of power to sound good)
  • Nylon cloth used for its cabling material, relatively memory-free so you can twist or keep them w/o much worries in terms of build/strain relief issues.

CONS
  • Housing weighs damn heavy for IEM standards, just to give a brief insight the ATH-CK100PRO's that uses titanium materials for its shell housing weighs ard 9 grams, while the PF IX weighs a solid 38 grams.
  • No neck/chin slider for the cables. With its relatively long length at 1.4m, I sometimes find this to be a cumblesome experience though it's nothing too major. To offset this con I usually tend to wear my Piano Fortes with cables over the ear.
  • Vented-open housings gives little to nil isolation when using for outdoor purposes. Should be considered alright if you just wanna use this in a library or quiet cafe chilling the afternoon away, but not so good if you wish to use this IEM as your main commuting companion or isolating buds for doing work.
  • Not the best expensive IEM out there for listening to rock/metal/trance genres, speed transients and attack not as good/refined as my other BA iems. Doesn't sound congested for complexed music or busy passages in Classical/Orchestral, but clearly doesn't have solid PRaT qualities like my ATH-CK100PRO's.

Just sharing some of my deeper views on these FAD Piano Fortes that's all, hope my above impressions can provide a clearer insight in case the ATH club guys are really interested in these. :)

Haonan

I want to get a ba IEM now. Choosing between FIBASS and Heaven VI. But I also want to try the FAD PFs.

If i were you I would save up for a FI-BA-SS. Housing size is almost as small as CK100, fits in my small ears comfortably and easily. (though it's non-existent strain reliefs takes quite a backseat compared to the durable CK100's, but I suppose the metal poles shd take quite abit of beating since its stainless steel afterall and not rubber/plastic resin as found on normal iems)

Unless Jaben goes for drastic price cuts for Heaven VI, at their current pricing I prolly won't even look at them since I tried the IV before and didnt like it's fit/ergonomics look, reminded me of Etymotics too much. Sound wise I also preferred the heaven S/C more over the IV, though I haven't heard the VI myself yet.

shsh91

If i were you I would save up for a FI-BA-SS. Housing size is almost as small as CK100, fits in my small ears comfortably and easily. (though it's non-existent strain reliefs takes quite a backseat compared to the durable CK100's, but I suppose the metal poles shd take quite abit of beating since its stainless steel afterall and not rubber/plastic resin as found on normal iems)

Unless Jaben goes for drastic price cuts for Heaven VI, at their current pricing I prolly won't even look at them since I tried the IV before and didnt like it's fit/ergonomics look, reminded me of Etymotics too much. Sound wise I also preferred the heaven S/C more over the IV, though I haven't heard the VI myself yet.

I think I will order from pricejapan. FIBASS is sounds too thin for me. Heaven VI is around 600+ SGD from pricejapan, how much is jaben selling them.

Or rather saving up for a red Rwak100.

weng

Did you try the Heaven VI?
nope... not very interested in BA phones actually. wanted to test the piano forte but dun have. the staff asked if I wanted to test the fi-ba-ss instead. I thought why not since it's mean talked about here also. but once I listened to it, no mood to try other BA liao :o

weng

Hi weng, thks for sharing yr listening impressions and feedback. FI-BA-SS is indeed a pretty bright and lean-sounding IEM, as least compared to yr AKG K3003's or even any of the Piano Forte series. I can definitely tell u with honesty and confidence the PF IX's has this non-fatiguing sound sig with gd warmth in the midrange, although it doesn't have as bright or sharp treble as compared to the CK100PROs/MDR-EX1000s which are iems that I quite like as well in terms of their overall sound signature. But the Piano Fortes have a more mid-centric and rich signature that goes well with alot of acoustic jazz or classical music, that makes me appreciate them for what they are.

In my eyes, the FI-BA-SS does have very excellent treble properties that I personally regard them to be as good as my CK100PRO's, and their housing's are also in shaved stainless steel like the PF IX's, which attributed to their relatively high retail cost as like i had mentioned earlier usually for their finely-crafted metal housings done in FAD's factories mostly for their TOTL line-up are not done in mass production, which is why I think the material cost goes for quite abit more than other normal universals by other makers just like yr K3003's.

In my own words, the following are the Piano Forte series strong fortes/weaknesses:

PROS
  • Very excellent timbre realism (much more so over other dynamics/BA I have heard so far, these are based on my own ears and impressions, YMMV)
  • Wide, convincing soundstage properties with good 3D-imaging depth. Mimics a lively ambience for listening to alot of live concert CDs, so far as far as IEM experience goes none of my other IEMs comes close to the PF IX's when it comes down to this point.
  • Has a rich and lushed sound signature that gives a non-fatiguing treble that won't offend most listeners out there, also goes relatively well with most pop vocal genres as long as it's not bassy stuffs.
  • High sensitivity, very easy to driven (even more sensitive than my Sony EX800st which are a pair of mid-fi dynamic IEMs that requires quite abit of power to sound good)
  • Nylon cloth used for its cabling material, relatively memory-free so you can twist or keep them w/o much worries in terms of build/strain relief issues.

CONS
  • Housing weighs damn heavy for IEM standards, just to give a brief insight the ATH-CK100PRO's that uses titanium materials for its shell housing weighs ard 9 grams, while the PF IX weighs a solid 38 grams.
  • No neck/chin slider for the cables. With its relatively long length at 1.4m, I sometimes find this to be a cumblesome experience though it's nothing too major. To offset this con I usually tend to wear my Piano Fortes with cables over the ear.
  • Vented-open housings gives little to nil isolation when using for outdoor purposes. Should be considered alright if you just wanna use this in a library or quiet cafe chilling the afternoon away, but not so good if you wish to use this IEM as your main commuting companion or isolating buds for doing work.
  • Not the best expensive IEM out there for listening to rock/metal/trance genres, speed transients and attack not as good/refined as my other BA iems. Doesn't sound congested for complexed music or busy passages in Classical/Orchestral, but clearly doesn't have solid PRaT qualities like my ATH-CK100PRO's.

Just sharing some of my deeper views on these FAD Piano Fortes that's all, hope my above impressions can provide a clearer insight in case the ATH club guys are really interested in these. :)

actually I dun think material costs that much. it's just a mark up w.r.t to other iems in the market to reflect its "premium-ness" that they want to portray. sound wise is still subjective. will be looking forward to try the piano forte.

btw, I also wasn't impressed with the fi-ba-ss cabling. looks thinnish and plain with non-premium looking plug also. not that it's a problem but for almost $2k, I would expect a better outlook. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.