Audio Technica Appreciation Thread

Haonan

Hope someone can help me out here.

I'm looking to get an headphone amp for my mac mini. Anyone recommendations for ATH? Something simple like HA-21 or 26. Currently just a shure440 but looking to pick up another can in the near future.

TIA

Hi tm.chen, welcome. I believe pretty much there's only the AT-HA21 or the AT-HA26D as the avail choices for u if you would like to pick up a reasonably priced integrated DAC/amp combo for yr Mac Mini. I don't think you would be interested in the AT-HA65 unless u need multple hp output jacks or the AT-HA5000 unless u really have the money to splurge for high-end amps.

I don't have a very vast experience with regards to ATH amps actually, except that I have only personally heard their AT-PHA10 (portable amp), AT-PHA05BT (BT receiver+amp) and AT-HA5000 for myself. I did read up quite abit on the AT-HA26D after fellow member Randius shared his own impressions with me earlier on this thread, since he's 1 of the few owners of this DAC/amp model in SG.

According to the japanese user discussions I have read over at Kakaku.com as well as at TW forum Mobile01.com, i can definitely share that this AKM4396-based DAC/amp from ATH is quite a gd choice if u're looking at a balanced C/P factor with decent connectivity options to boot (it's got RCA to toslink optical to digital coaxial), front ctrls and hp output options seems similar to my Fostex HP-A3 and even weighs quite similar to my HP-A3 as well. (the AT-HA26D weights ard 465g while HP-A3 is ard 450g, and since i have the HP-A3 for awhile alrdy I would say sub-500g or below setups are pretty much a sweet spot for portability, especially if you would like to use it with yr own laptop in the office or bringing with you during those vacation trips)

My personal experience with Asahi Kasei's DAC performance is that these are considered pretty neutral with good analytical/resolving resolution. My HP-A3 doesn't sound exactly vast or openly large in terms of soundstage properties, but its ss width/depth is definitely not enclosed/small either while still maintaining a gd sense of space, and according to my ears this 499USD DAC/amp definitely does alot better than the usual iBasso/Fiio stuffs I heard before, with a very clean/detailed performance towards its mids/trebles so if the AK4396 in the AT-HA26D is any similar, i would say u prolly will not regret the purchase for this small desk-sized DAC/amp frm ATH, at 398 bucks only.

Of course I believe the AT-HA26D isn't anything high end reference quality like, most high end reference-like sounding desktop setups usually costs upwards of 1.7K or more from what I understand. But if my personal exp with the HP-A3 (based on AK4390) is any indication, it should be a pretty noticeable good boost for yr Shure SRH-440 and yr future ATH headphones that's for sure. :)

Cheers.

kenz

Hey kenz bro, sup gd evening to you haven't seen u posting in here in awhile on this thread, hope all has been well for ya. :o

Haha, open wallet and just buy the W3000ANV? Wah saying is easier than doing it. I believe i've alrdy shared in the 2012 discussion thread before started by alamakazam that it was a pretty poisonous yr for me that got me really deep into audio stuffs and made quite abit of purchases. Apart from the pretty hefty purchases i made for Piano Forte IX and Heir 4A's late last yr, i also bought a couple of interconnect/power cable upgrades for my desktop setup at hm, and got a pretty gd deal for a pair of mint STAX SR-404LE lamdas from JP so literally you can say i'm pretty much broke right now.

I'm actually prepping myself for a 90k yen hoot pretty soon cos like what I have shared with Rubick on the other thread, I'm intending to hoot the AT-HA5000 amp pretty soon, hoping to actually buy it by next mth. Although AD2000X/W5000 are on my radar as well, i think those headphones can wait for now since i have a couple of stuffs I need to let go on the used bazaar, and after getting back some money frm selling these then I will use it towards my ATH headphones purchases.

Yup, I could definitely see what u're talking abt for the W3000ANV in terms of a pretty much being a end-game headphone setup. But atm right now, I think my personal priorities is to hoot the W5000/AD2000X in terms of headphones first, so I think perhaps the W3K can prob wait. :o

Thanks, Haonan :)

Work has been taking much of my time of late so been off the grid for a while.

Wow... you've been adding quite a few nice and pricey stuff recently, especially the mint STAX SR-404LE lamdas. Am sure the wallet must have been protesting like crazy. :s13:

Noticed not much on the headphones part this year from the makers. Still waiting to give the AD2000x a try, though likely give it a miss since having the W3000 anv.

Since my stuff are more or less cleared recently, can start looking into beefing up my portable set-up. Tried the ALO rxMK3B and looks like a very possible candidate to go with the DX100 player. Toss in a possible HiFiman HM-901 or iBasso DX50, with a second custom earpiece with custom cables in mind, and i can probably join the "i can eat grass" club for a while. The W3000 anv should play nice with those potential gears, so we'll see how it goes from there. :)

Haonan

Thanks, Haonan :)

Work has been taking much of my time of late so been off the grid for a while.

Wow... you've been adding quite a few nice and pricey stuff recently, especially the mint STAX SR-404LE lamdas. Am sure the wallet must have been protesting like crazy. :s13:

Noticed not much on the headphones part this year from the makers. Still waiting to give the AD2000x a try, though likely give it a miss since having the W3000 anv.

Since my stuff are more or less cleared recently, can start looking into beefing up my portable set-up. Tried the ALO rxMK3B and looks like a very possible candidate to go with the DX100 player. Toss in a possible HiFiman HM-901 or iBasso DX50, with a second custom earpiece with custom cables in mind, and i can probably join the "i can eat grass" club for a while. The W3000 anv should play nice with those potential gears, so we'll see how it goes from there. :)

Hey evening kenz. :o

In terms of recent headphone developments, actually I have been keeping myself updated with some japanese makers news especially those by Fostex. Earlier this yr they just made announcements for their TH600 and HP-V1 (their 1st portable tube amp, prolly aimed as competitor to the likes of ALO Audio's Continental series?) and having heard their flagship refererence line of hps such as the TH900 and owning their HP-A3 personally myself, I would say Fostex definitely is one interesting maker to keep under your radar.

Although the driver units in their TH900/TH600 series are still Dynamic-based, I personally believe Fostex's magic is in their Biodyna diaphragm materials used for its magnetic voicecoils under their headphone series, and if their OEM history is any indication of their excellent track record (Fostex drivers has been used in some of Denon hp stuffs as well as Creative stuffs in the past) then i'm pretty sure they have a good winner on their hands. Headfonia's recent review of the TH900/TH600 series has even some small comparisons being made against the ATH-W3000ANV and even yr prev D7100 which i rem you have reviewed in here before, so feel free to check out that review article for yrself. :o

As for their HP-V1, i will definitely keep this tube amp under my radar since I don't currently own any portable tube amps atm. Have always been interested in ALO's Continental series but their high pricing kinda puts me off, so let's hope the MSRP for this will not be too expensive once it finally gets released. I believe Fostex is aiming for a Winter release for this portable amp according to rumours so prolly ETA for retail is around end of this yr.

Haha, even though I have acquired those SR-404LE electro stats headphone, I still do not have a proper amp to use with it yet although I did go down to Music By Design to audition some amps already. But I think at this stage i really don't have the financial means to support so many gear investments since after my AT-HA5000 amp comes in, I still need to acquire those AD2000X/W5000 so mostly they will have to go on Head-fi soon.

Alright let's chat up again soon bro, take care! :)

kenz

Hey Haonan,

The Fostex TH600 is an interesting one to watch (TH900 kinda out of my budget). Wonder if we will get a local distri for them to consider. Do miss my D7100 from time to time but the W3000 anv eases the ache somewhat :)

Have yet to try the ALO Continental series though the audition on rxMK3b left a very positive impression. Perhaps the best portable amp i've tried to-date and better than even the DX100 internal amp. Price wise is quite daunting.. touching the SGD1k mark.

Guess for now the next hoot will be a good amp to pair with the STAX? need something to bring out the juicy goodness. :)

Haonan

Hey Haonan,

The Fostex TH600 is an interesting one to watch (TH900 kinda out of my budget). Wonder if we will get a local distri for them to consider. Do miss my D7100 from time to time but the W3000 anv eases the ache somewhat :)

Have yet to try the ALO Continental series though the audition on rxMK3b left a very positive impression. Perhaps the best portable amp i've tried to-date and better than even the DX100 internal amp. Price wise is quite daunting.. touching the SGD1k mark.

Guess for now the next hoot will be a good amp to pair with the STAX? need something to bring out the juicy goodness. :)

Yup, can't agree more with u here. Most of ALO Audio's amps are quite daunting in terms of local retail pricing, so I have not hooted any of their portable amps so far, even though I have tried quite a few of them at Jaben before. However because in the past I kinda hated bulky/transportable sized amps, i have only kept my selections to small and slim portable amps thats all, currently using a TTVJ Slim with my Walkman Z to make the midrange details stand out more and make it lusher-sounding.

I'm not exactly sure whether Fostex's got a local distributor here but last yr Jaben did carried the TH900 in their stores actually, did tried out their demos during last Sept actually.
Although the TH900's have more bass quantity/slam than some of the pretty reference stuffs which are quite ex as well such as the Audeze LCD-2/LCD-3, from what I understand from some online reviews it's been mentioned that TH900 is pretty much a reference-line headphone that can stand toe to toe with TOTL reference stuffs such as Beyerdynamic T1/Sennheiser HD800.

If my personal exp with the closed-back TH900 is anything to go by, I think I may be interested in the TH600 cos it has magnesium alloy housing cups which should be much lighter, and early reviews have mentioned that it's still pretty much based on a neutral tonal signature with good natural realism in terms of timbre and excellent soundstage properties. Still have to get down to listening first before I decide, but the price for this is definitely much more friendly and realistic compared to the TH900 that's for sure. (TH900 costs abt 3K the last i checked with Jaben)

Nope, I'm pretty much decided that i'll be giving up my SR-404LE's actually. Evaluated my current financial situation and after thinking properly, I don't think I am able to hoot a SRM-727II or SRM-600 limited which are considered recommended amps for the SR-404 lamdas according to my findings. Needless to say summit-fi stuffs like the Blue Hawaii SE are obviously out of my range too.

But after trying out electrostats setups recently, I think i do have a clearer understanding now what are the technical advantages of electrostats vs dynamics abit better. There are certain things that are very obvious to my ears that SR-404LE are better than my pair of AD1000PRM (and AD1KPRM drivers are the same as AD2K actually, so its pretty much considered TOTL in terms of ATH's full-sized offerings), but currently I think I can make do with my pair of AD1KPRM and the upcoming W5000, so maybe I will explore electrostats again next time, by aiming for the SR-007 MKII/SR-009 when I have the financial means for them. :o

Haonan

simi BHSE ??? :s8:

Ricky's referring to Blue Hawaii SE, that TOTL summit-fi amp that I will probably nv be able to buy, until i'm old enough and ready for retirement.
:s22: :s22:

Ricky mai troll me leh, u're making me more sad sia. :(

kenz

Hey Haonan,
Can feel the pinch for you. Ya. Moving up the chain sometimes have to take a step back since the financial commitment there is very scary. Is ok, there will be other chances in future. :)

Ricky,
Go busy selling clip on other threads la :)

rickysio

Go buy your MK3B lei Kenny.

BHSE is pay money liao still need wait long long till amp come lol!

weng

I wonder what goes on in girls' minds when they hoot those 4-5k chanel bags?

Randius

But I think at this stage i really don't have the financial means to support so many gear investments since after my AT-HA5000 amp comes in, I still need to acquire those AD2000X/W5000 so mostly they will have to go on Head-fi soon.

walao eh, those amp and headphones are also on my radar (+W3000ANV) Already touching my savings liao, must resist the temptation (to get them all at once =:p)

I wonder what goes on in girls' minds when they hoot those 4-5k chanel bags?

Just like what guys think when they get their new toy "which one should I get next?"

Aegis

Can anyone recommend me a case for the A2000X? Went down to stereo during the weekend but can't find anything. Will Jaben have something?

Haonan

walao eh, those amp and headphones are also on my radar (+W3000ANV) Already touching my savings liao, must resist the temptation (to get them all at once =:p)

Oi Randius, dunch fight with me hokays? Lemme get my AT-HA5000 and my other ATH cans first to let me have some bragging rights on this thread first can? Then you are allowed to buy yours later rahs. :s13: :D

Nah just j/k. But wah lao eh, both of us are really reaching the depths of no return liao sia. I really feel damn sry for my own wallet... *sob sob* :( :(

Can anyone recommend me a case for the A2000X? Went down to stereo during the weekend but can't find anything. Will Jaben have something?

Why would u need a carrying case for yr A2000X? Isn't this for home use, it's full-sized headphones leh. Just buy a headphone stand then buy a nice micro-fibre soft cloth to cover over it? (if u afraid of dust all these)

I don't even have any pouch/case for my ATH headphones at hm, last time when I haven't even buy my AT-HPS550 and STAX HPS-2 stands, I would usually just keep my cans inside my Hakuba dry box after usage, to prevent it from accumulating dust/dirt on them. Now got proper HP stands liao, I usually just leave my AD1000PRM outside on my desk, after every listening session just use a cloth to cover over it while leaving it on my headphone stands.

Aegis

@Haonan. I want to bring to office and maybe take home on some weekends I have no time to listen at home actually. Anyways, I just bought a pair of double headphone stands in Tokyo, no dust issue here as my study is always closed with humidity control to protect my barangs from mould.

Haonan

@Haonan. I want to bring to office and maybe take home on some weekends I have no time to listen at home actually. Anyways, I just bought a pair of double headphone stands in Tokyo, no dust issue here as my study is always closed with humidity control to protect my barangs from mould.

Hey Aegis i see i see. Well perhaps you would like to try the Edens headphone pouch? I rem Team Stereo advertised this pouch before in this forum some time back, seems pretty gd-looking to me according to the web pictures. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.