Audio Technica Appreciation Thread

Randius

Im in this club! Just gotten the ath-w1000x.
May I ask what amp/dac combo do u guys use with your ath headphones? I thought of getting the woo audio wa6. Any recommendations??

WA6 is pretty nice but you may need to play with the tubes to see which one complements the W1000X. Personally, I am using AT's own HA26D amp+DAC.

Randius

Hey Randius, thks for informing us with the appropriate updates regarding the upcoming local ATH meet, yesh it's finally moving forward! Oh kena postponed to Nov period liao? Originally thought u were planning for late-Sept for the event, but anyway Nov is fine with me as well.

I guess you don't need my rig list right? During this event I will try to bring all my ATH portable gears, as for desktop related stuffs maybe I will update you personally agn, cause not sure if by then I will have my AT-HA5000 or not.
:o

I think you may wanna inform the fellow bros in here too, that this local meet involves some small fees as well? Due to the venue booking etc, and also we may need some necessities such as wet wipes/cotton buds for the attendees to clean up their gears after each session. As for drink refreshments for this event, don't worry I will do my best to sponsor as part of the co-organiser.
;)

Thanks bro, for the suggestion and offer to help. Yes, there will be fee involved to cover the venue, cleaning wipes, cable tie/label and possibly the transport cost of bros who bring bulky equipment and taking public transport.

As for the postponement of meet, I am thinking Sept may be too close and some bros may already have plans for that month. Holding it in Nov should give everyone who's interested some time to consider their plan :)

Must got ATH gear then can b invited ar?
I only got ESW9.

Your ESW9 recabled one, right? Bring it along :)

For myself, I will be bringing everything in my signature and whatever gets added before the meet

Haonan

Paging for Haonan,

I wish to apply to the CK100Pro Club. thx. i hope no admin fees needed to pay.

:eek::eek:
Fatalethal also tio poisoned by CK100PRO liao sia, surprise surprise. Furthermore this is coming from a Merlin's user, wow. Yeah I def prefer the CK100PRO's over K3003/IE800, no questions asked here. Though out of the above 3 IEMs, i have to admit IE800's housing fit are pretty comfortable and small that fits into my ears very easily, the bass response of these are still quite offensive and fatiguing to my ears, and I usually detest Sennheiser's sig so it's an absolute no-no for me.

Yah, it has some characteristic traits of the Private C435, since both of them are considered IEMs with an energetic signature with a focus ard upper-mids/high regions. Both of them has very good air/transparency up-top, but obviously in terms of overall imaging/soundstage properties and refinement/ctrl of the treble brightness the CK100PRO falls flat right next to the C435, no questions asked. Then again at that kind of price, the FitEar better be.
=:p

It's def one of the best if not the best multi-BA flagship universal IEM out there, just as what ClieOs had commented on my existing Head-fi thread. Personally preferred this over UE900, Westone 4R and PFE232 in terms of top-tier universals pretty much, no questions asked for me.

I welcomed or not?
Let me know if I can contribute in any way.

Aiyo, just come lah. Still need to ask for our permission one meh? Thought u damn gam with Randius irl one, even if u don't ask I'm sure he will also invite you lor. I'm also very interested to meet wif Joe shushu also, just that im very very shy usually that's why so far no chance ask you out for solo 1-on-1 date only.
:s34::s34:

Just come join us for the fun, I'm sure it will be a very fruitful and eventful occasion for all of us.
:)

Haonan

Thanks bro, for the suggestion and offer to help. Yes, there will be fee involved to cover the venue, cleaning wipes, cable tie/label and possibly the transport cost of bros who bring bulky equipment and taking public transport.

As for the postponement of meet, I am thinking Sept may be too close and some bros may already have plans for that month. Holding it in Nov should give everyone who's interested some time to consider their plan :)

No prob bro, just keep me updated. :) If need any help or contributions regarding the upcoming meet you know how to reach me personally. And kudos to you for taking the effort to try and find a suitable venue for us to carry out this ATH meet, am especially grateful as I can be quite a lousy organiser for such stuffs.

FatalethaL

Well, CK100Pro not only performed extremely well with jazz or oldies, but also well on classical pieces.

Most IEMs out there can hardly replicate such warm natural punch and kick of the bass/timpani hitting. CK100Pro does it effortlessly. not to mention it decays and resonate nicely. however, the only thing i dislike is that it doesnt exactly rumble into the pitch black background like how C435 or STAX 007/9 or my Merlin does, but for its price, im not complaining; if i had the money, i would have hooted it on the spot.

as for its mids, well.. Merlin don't exactly does very well or very poor on that, but the CK100Pro makes vocals slightly lighter with hints of sweetness in it. Teresa Teng sounded as if she's on the Sun Wu Kong Cloud singing... very angelic like! extremely smooth and soothing. oh gawd.
And on Michael Buble's tracks, it makes his voice much more alluring, fun, and "naughty" at the same time. *i could finally understand y some of my lady friends love his voice... if you get what i mean*

Guan22

Aiyo, just come lah. Still need to ask for our permission one meh? Thought u damn gam with Randius irl one, even if u don't ask I'm sure he will also invite you lor. I'm also very interested to meet wif Joe shushu also, just that im very very shy usually that's why so far no chance ask you out for solo 1-on-1 date only.
:s34::s34:

Just come join us for the fun, I'm sure it will be a very fruitful and eventful occasion for all of us.

Noob mah, only have ESW9.
So paiseh.
:D

Haonan

Well, CK100Pro not only performed extremely well with jazz or oldies, but also well on classical pieces.

Most IEMs out there can hardly replicate such warm natural punch and kick of the bass/timpani hitting. CK100Pro does it effortlessly. not to mention it decays and resonate nicely. however, the only thing i dislike is that it doesnt exactly rumble into the pitch black background like how C435 or STAX 007/9 or my Merlin does, but for its price, im not complaining; if i had the money, i would have hooted it on the spot.

as for its mids, well.. Merlin don't exactly does very well or very poor on that, but the CK100Pro makes vocals slightly lighter with hints of sweetness in it. Teresa Teng sounded as if she's on the Sun Wu Kong Cloud singing... very angelic like! extremely smooth and soothing. oh gawd.
And on Michael Buble's tracks, it makes his voice much more alluring, fun, and "naughty" at the same time. *i could finally understand y some of my lady friends love his voice... if you get what i mean*

I've been an extremely happy owner of the CK100PRO's for the past 1 yr 8 mths, and in my own words I'm not afraid to profess that the CK100PRO does have a pretty wide genre bandwidth, there's no particular genre/type of music that would sound wrong with it due to its outstanding tonal accuracy, prolly as accurate as phones such as Etymotics ER4/FitEar C435/FitEar F111.

In terms of their bass quantity/quality they are however not as deficient/lacklustre as the ER4's to my ears, but from what I understood from Sonove's FR graphs for the CK100PRO, these are tuned by ATH to have a slight mild bass boost somewhere from 20Hz up to 400Hz, the bass boost is def not overpowering enough to engulf/cloud over the midrange, so its overall signature is still very much balanced while giving the listener that extra oomph and impact when listening to most mainstream contemporary pop stuffs released these days.

These definitely have a very high proficiency/unique talent to excel in genres such as classical/instrumental music. I was very much influenced by my own siblings a pretty long time ago, and I'm now considered quite a huge fan of Yo-Yo Ma/Taro Hakase in terms of classical performers, and quite honestly I have nv experienced better listening sessions of the above artists through my own possession of universal IEMs so far, coming from the CK100PRO's.

In terms of game/film soundtrack scores, I'm also a very huge fan of works by Harry Gregson-Williams (i think Randius shd be quite familiar with him since I spoke to him b4 and he seems to be a MGS fan as well), Hans Zimmer, Nobuo Uematsu and Yoko Kanno. And honestly I think I almost saw the light of ascension when i was listening to the above artists/composers for the first time on my own pair of CK100PRO's, lol. (the experience is almost akin to the first aural experience when I first heard Sephiroth's theme, One Winged Angel from FF7 for myself)

They certainly don't do anything wrong with jazz/vocals, have pretty much enjoyed my usual list of vocalists out of these plenty much as well. Lily Chen (陳潔麗) and Susan Wong stuffs are exceptionally great-sounding with these, so are Corrinne May/Olivia Ong's stuffs.

The previous predecessor flagship CK100 (non-PRO) also excels pretty much in all kinds of jazz/female vocals, but having owned them for awhile now I would say tonal accuracy is not their main forte, and they are quite abit more colored/screwed than the 100PRO's by quite a huge margin tonally speaking. Bass response/impact is also quite far from CK100PRO/CK10 honestly speaking, the latter 2 does much better in this particular area, but as I'm usually quite sensitive to bass quantity actually so the CK100's moderately light amount of bass sounds quite adequate to my pair of ears.

The CK100 do have a slightly fuller/warmer tonality in terms of their midrange though, and their treble brightness doesn't seem to be as offensive as the 100PRO's even if you listen way above yr usual threshold of listening levels on most modern DAPs, but as I have shared b4 once with a fellow forumer here recently who asked for my brief summary of the differences btw the CK100PRO and CK100 models, the latter does have some obvious shortcomings though; these just don't sound that tonally correct when listening to most foreign US/UK male vocalists out there, you will feel like the performing singer just transformed into some kind of weird transversite (aka lady-boy) during yr listening session lols.
:s22::s22:

You shd prolly come down and join us for the upcoming ATH meet and A/B these 2 IEMs for yrself, I'm quite sure it will be an interesting experience for u and u might just like the CK100's signature as well, as it's quite a unique-sounding IEM overall and does have quite abit of special character to it, when compared to the CK100PRO.

Sry abt the long WOT there!

Haonan

Noob mah, only have ESW9.
So paiseh.

Uh prease don't get me started again. You, noob? Nice try there ah bro, don't force me to expose you on this thread agn.
:D:D

With yr kind of elite status, you wanna hoot AD2000X/W3K and pair it up with a Zana Deux SE or Yamamoto HA-02 anytime also can lors. Confirm ear-orgasm gao gao I tell you. How? Wanna set that as yr target for 2014? Maybe can try hooting after u finish building yr Harbeth setup.

Rubick

Uh prease don't get me started again. You, noob? Nice try there ah bro, don't force me to expose you on this thread agn.
:D:D

With yr kind of elite status, you wanna hoot AD2000X/W3K and pair it up with a Zana Deux SE or Yamamoto HA-02 anytime also can lors. Confirm ear-orgasm gao gao I tell you. How? Wanna set that as yr target for 2014? Maybe can try hooting after u finish building yr Harbeth setup.

He will chiong for stax liao by the time harbeth is done

Haonan

He will chiong for stax liao by the time harbeth is done

Heir **** it's time to sell yr 8A's away and join the ATH faction bro. ATH cans are jin poisonous I tell u, no joke. You see Kenny is enjoying so much with his W3K's you know u want it alrdy.

Rubick

Heir **** it's time to sell yr 8A's away and join the ATH faction bro. ATH cans are jin poisonous I tell u, no joke. You see Kenny is enjoying so much with his W3K's you know u want it alrdy.

Not selling. My precious lol.
Out of all the ath can i also like w3k most

Haonan

Mlmlwml. Gt pandora hope can liao

Pandora Hope VI not enough de, you srsly need ATH to see the light of ascension! Not CSB! Pandora can only let u see hope, boh ascension!

Okay mai OT liao, i'm srsly not used to this level of PCW-ing, lols. Back to proper discussion paiseh.

Haonan

goodman shushu, gotch any thoughts on the es10 bo ar? :o

It's a V-shaped pair of cans, pretty good treble/clarity/transparency with gd bass extension/impact. But personally for me I think its bass quantity sounds abit too offensive/fatiguing to me though, but you might be okay from it considering that u do own the Senn's Amperior currently.

IIRC Ken'z wife is using the ES10, maybe Kenny can come in give a few comments I think he shd be quite familiar with its overall sound sig.

FatalethaL

I've been an extremely happy owner of the CK100PRO's for the past 1 yr 8 mths, and in my own words I'm not afraid to profess that the CK100PRO does have a pretty wide genre bandwidth, there's no particular genre/type of music that would sound wrong with it due to its outstanding tonal accuracy, prolly as accurate as phones such as Etymotics ER4/FitEar C435/FitEar F111.

In terms of their bass quantity/quality they are however not as deficient/lacklustre as the ER4's to my ears, but from what I understood from Sonove's FR graphs for the CK100PRO, these are tuned by ATH to have a slight mild bass boost somewhere from 20Hz up to 400Hz, the bass boost is def not overpowering enough to engulf/cloud over the midrange, so its overall signature is still very much balanced while giving the listener that extra oomph and impact when listening to most mainstream contemporary pop stuffs released these days.

These definitely have a very high proficiency/unique talent to excel in genres such as classical/instrumental music. I was very much influenced by my own siblings a pretty long time ago, and I'm now considered quite a huge fan of Yo-Yo Ma/Taro Hakase in terms of classical performers, and quite honestly I have nv experienced better listening sessions of the above artists through my own possession of universal IEMs so far, coming from the CK100PRO's.

In terms of game/film soundtrack scores, I'm also a very huge fan of works by Harry Gregson-Williams (i think Randius shd be quite familiar with him since I spoke to him b4 and he seems to be a MGS fan as well), Hans Zimmer, Nobuo Uematsu and Yoko Kanno. And honestly I think I almost saw the light of ascension when i was listening to the above artists/composers for the first time on my own pair of CK100PRO's, lol. (the experience is almost akin to the first aural experience when I first heard Sephiroth's theme, One Winged Angel from FF7 for myself)

They certainly don't do anything wrong with jazz/vocals, have pretty much enjoyed my usual list of vocalists out of these plenty much as well. Lily Chen (陳潔麗) and Susan Wong stuffs are exceptionally great-sounding with these, so are Corrinne May/Olivia Ong's stuffs.

The previous predecessor flagship CK100 (non-PRO) also excels pretty much in all kinds of jazz/female vocals, but having owned them for awhile now I would say tonal accuracy is not their main forte, and they are quite abit more colored/screwed than the 100PRO's by quite a huge margin tonally speaking. Bass response/impact is also quite far from CK100PRO/CK10 honestly speaking, the latter 2 does much better in this particular area, but as I'm usually quite sensitive to bass quantity actually so the CK100's moderately light amount of bass sounds quite adequate to my pair of ears.

The CK100 do have a slightly fuller/warmer tonality in terms of their midrange though, and their treble brightness doesn't seem to be as offensive as the 100PRO's even if you listen way above yr usual threshold of listening levels on most modern DAPs, but as I have shared b4 once with a fellow forumer here recently who asked for my brief summary of the differences btw the CK100PRO and CK100 models, the latter does have some obvious shortcomings though; these just don't sound that tonally correct when listening to most foreign US/UK male vocalists out there, you will feel like the performing singer just transformed into some kind of weird transversite (aka lady-boy) during yr listening session lols.
:s22::s22:

You shd prolly come down and join us for the upcoming ATH meet and A/B these 2 IEMs for yrself, I'm quite sure it will be an interesting experience for u and u might just like the CK100's signature as well, as it's quite a unique-sounding IEM overall and does have quite abit of special character to it, when compared to the CK100PRO.

Sry abt the long WOT there!

read every single letter in your post.

and yes, if time allows, i would gladly accept your invitation to this event!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.