Rubick
yea. actually my headphone all is cheap cheap 1 all below 350 only the pandora hope is above that price tag
Your own headphone gear is one thing mar, when you play head-fi properly headphone is just one part of the equation of what contributes to the overall sound quality. In order for yr own headphones to sound great, you also need a decent DAC and amp source to pair it up before it can sing well. This is something that i learnt from my own journey, doesn't matter if yr headphone is lower than 350 or over 1350 bucks.
My AD1000PRM is also not in the same price category as Audeze LCD-2/LCD-3 models just for yr info, but if you do a check on Head-fi, they are pple out there who are comparing this model to STAX Lambda headphone rigs. Cause tiagong read frm some taiwanese audiophiles discussion last time taken from insider info, not sure how true but they got say before some older engineers in ATH used to be at loggerheads with STAX company pple, so those dudes at ATH try to tweak certain AD models such as the AD1000PRM (limited ed release) to sound like some STAX headphones.
Personally as a SR-404 Limited owner, I would say there's some truth to this. But it's too bad my wallet not deep enough to play with multiple headphone setups, so i think im gonna sell those Lambdas off soon lols.
now i using parasound zdac and a matrix m-stage. quite happy with this set up now.akg sound power on it for me
don mind some other entry gears if it is good and affordable.
Both Zdac & Mstage r not refined enough
U need Mytek & WA2
DO IT!
I not u leh. Boh so much money. For me zdac and mstage considered very decent enough liao. Might change an amp in future thou. But it all depends
Pls. Mai act noob in front of me.
Who once owned 4a + 8a together with DX100?
now i using parasound zdac and a matrix m-stage. quite happy with this set up now.akg sound power on it for me
don mind some other entry gears if it is good and affordable.

Furthermore, power cables, RCA analog cables and USB digital cables usually also will add up to the total cost of yr headphone rig, imagine once you add up all these + yr usual DAC/amp source yr overall headphone rig cost how much liao. Those pple who simply say <350 dollars category headphone rigs cannot sound gd one are srsly short-sighted IMHO sia...
IMO AKG is alright lah. There are many hidden gems among the older headphone market, just that no many pple dare to venture/find nia. Some older Fostex/Sony/Yamaha stuffs also quite worth checking out, personally holding onto a MDR-CD2000 semi-open headphones that I acquired back in late 2011 used for only ard 180 bucks, SQ performance and comfort alrdy trashed sub-300 dollars category headphones such as the MDR-MA900/AKG K550 liaos. Got removable 3.5mm cables option also so can upgrade to better copper/silver cables as and when you deem fit.
Got new DAC coming in soon, can't wait to see how my current headphones rigs will scale up after pairing with this. Hopefully the upcoming Nov meet will be able to carry this down for u guys to try as well, lols.
Now i still raising funds for power cord lol
Wats $200 to u?
Peanuts la.
My USB cable, power cords and RCA already add up to quite a bit le lor.
Still, there r some who thinks that a desktop setup is just DAC + amp only.

Lucky I not married right now forever alone no gf atm, if not confirm like Joe prob need to kneel durian shells every night liaos.

QFT. Recently took part in Rubick's discussion poll under EDMW, did not realised that my main portable rig with only 2 universal IEMs their tallied cost is already within 2k ~ 3k category liao. I really can't imagine if I go tally now add up how much my headphone rig its current overall costs, lols.
Lucky I not married right now forever alone no gf atm, if not confirm like Joe prob need to kneel durian shells every night liaos.
No lah, Joe's the Ministry of Finance very good de... most of the time submit purchase approval form, boleh chop sign pass eh~
That's what I suggested to Joe's wife too![]()
I slap you back ah. I won't laugh at Joe shushu one. If im not wrong he's older than me, I'm a borned in 80's kid. Always taught to show respect to my elders ard me since young, so no. As for yr case cause i believe since you're younger than me, so ish dunch mind bully you once in awhile lors, lols.
Furthermore, power cables, RCA analog cables and USB digital cables usually also will add up to the total cost of yr headphone rig, imagine once you add up all these + yr usual DAC/amp source yr overall headphone rig cost how much liao. Those pple who simply say <350 dollars category headphone rigs cannot sound gd one are srsly short-sighted IMHO sia...
IMO AKG is alright lah. There are many hidden gems among the older headphone market, just that no many pple dare to venture/find nia. Some older Fostex/Sony/Yamaha stuffs also quite worth checking out, personally holding onto a MDR-CD2000 semi-open headphones that I acquired back in late 2011 used for only ard 180 bucks, SQ performance and comfort alrdy trashed sub-300 dollars category headphones such as the MDR-MA900/AKG K550 liaos. Got removable 3.5mm cables option also so can upgrade to better copper/silver cables as and when you deem fit.
Got new DAC coming in soon, can't wait to see how my current headphones rigs will scale up after pairing with this. Hopefully the upcoming Nov meet will be able to carry this down for u guys to try as well, lols.
That's what I suggested to Joe's wife too![]()
U'll be surprised to know that FLATTERY GETS YOU EVERYWHERE.
Of coz, it does help to have a supportive partner who listens to music as well.
Though not on the level that we are prepared to shell out for equipment.

Wat DAC u hoot?
Fostex HP-A8?