B4 Rig! help needed.

gaoxing84

Hi, helping my brother to get his rig for bf4..can get haswell?
Only need case, cpu, mobo(atx), psu, gpu (no preference of amd/nvidia, prefer msi cards).

Corsair cannot fit atx card right? Any m-atx got 2 pcie?

Msi mobo sounds good. If not Asus is good too.

red-black theme would be good.

Budget ard 1k

Playing on 1080p

Jian19

i5-4570 + Msi b85m g43 ~ $356
Gigabyte 280x ~ $445
Seasonic m12ii 650w ~ $125
Sharkoon t28 ~ $88

Total ~ $1014 buy and DIY @ tradepac ~ ask for discount

gaoxing84

520w more than enough right? Haha. Would prefer a atx board with define r4.

Any msi card?

Jian19

280x recommend 600w ~

B85m g43 can crossfire too ~

royfrosty

ATX with red dragon theme then can get this

MSI B85 G43 Gaming + i5-4570 ~ $393

Then get the MSI R9 280X 3gb Twin Frozr gaming edition to match the red dragon theme ~ $479

Get Superflower Golden Green HX600 600W 80+ Gold Efficiency PSU ~ $129

Followed by a very good Cube air case

Corsair Carbide Air 540 ~ $155.

Total cost, $1156. Probably throw in some Red LED lights to go with it for $13/1m.

This is one of the best for red theme if you like. Although pay slightly more.

gaoxing84

i think the air case abit too huge.

was hoping to get this but the pricing i don't know

MSI-B85 Gaming Red + i5 4570
Seasonic or Superflower? lol
Either R9 280x or R9 290x (280x is the 7970 equivalent?)
Most likely FD Define R4 Case. Corsair 350D cannot put ATX board right?
Another alternative is the Corsair 230T.
R4 Quite heavy.!

Currently he has
500WD HDD
120GB SSD Kingston Hyperx3k
8gb 1333mhz RAM (4gb, 2gb, 2gb - this config ok?)
Powercolor 7750 (Can sell it off 2nd hand)

what you all think?

royfrosty

i think the air case abit too huge.

was hoping to get this but the pricing i don't know

MSI-B85 Gaming Red + i5 4570
Seasonic or Superflower? lol
Either R9 280x or R9 290x (280x is the 7970 equivalent?)
Most likely FD Define R4 Case. Corsair 350D cannot put ATX board right?
Another alternative is the Corsair 230T.
R4 Quite heavy.!

Currently he has
500WD HDD
120GB SSD Kingston Hyperx3k
8gb 1333mhz RAM (4gb, 2gb, 2gb - this config ok?)
Powercolor 7750 (Can sell it off 2nd hand)

what you all think?

Ok,

Gaming Mobo and the cpu settle~!
Superflower got promo now 600w gold at $129 can still go lower. You take seasonic m12ii 620w bronze you pay around $118.

Both brands are good. But the gold rating is some eye turner. So ya i would say go for superflower.

r9 280x is a rebadge of 7870 GHZ edition. I would go for this cause is value for money. But if red theme is a concern then just get the MSI one. Else can get the Gigabyte r9 280x at $445.

Get the R4 as it has more room for good air flow and also noise dampening materials. Solid casing is better than those cheap ones as the metal build tends to be weak.

gaoxing84

Ok,

Gaming Mobo and the cpu settle~!
Superflower got promo now 600w gold at $129 can still go lower. You take seasonic m12ii 620w bronze you pay around $118.

Both brands are good. But the gold rating is some eye turner. So ya i would say go for superflower.

r9 280x is a rebadge of 7870 GHZ edition. I would go for this cause is value for money. But if red theme is a concern then just get the MSI one. Else can get the Gigabyte r9 280x at $445.

Get the R4 as it has more room for good air flow and also noise dampening materials. Solid casing is better than those cheap ones as the metal build tends to be weak.

the superflower is modular? haha sounds good since it's gold efficiency.

i guess i will stick to the MSI r9 280x. fast enough for most games that he plays

one issue, the R4 is damn heavy man. 12kg++ plus all the component in, confirm 15kg or more. not sure if the ikea galant table can take the weight bo. he put horizontally due to space constraint and orientation. Was considering the R4, T28 (abit cheapo looking to me) or the corsair 230t (seems its like cheapo build also).
He wants something that has a window. lol. NZXT 410 later same case as me also sian.

the ram configuration he has is ok right? 4, 2, 2 1333mhz

royfrosty

the superflower is modular? haha sounds good since it's gold efficiency.

i guess i will stick to the MSI r9 280x. fast enough for most games that he plays

one issue, the R4 is damn heavy man. 12kg++ plus all the component in, confirm 15kg or more. not sure if the ikea galant table can take the weight bo. he put horizontally due to space constraint and orientation. Was considering the R4, T28 (abit cheapo looking to me) or the corsair 230t (seems its like cheapo build also).
He wants something that has a window. lol. NZXT 410 later same case as me also sian.

the ram configuration he has is ok right? 4, 2, 2 1333mhz

Yes it is modular. Same as the seasonic m12ii

GPU settled!

R4 or not. Honestly R4 is consider quite light already. Not forgetting that it has room for future expansion. If not just get the Fractal design Arc Midi. or like i say dont mind the size get the Corsair Carbide Air 540 lol <--- super solid

gaoxing84

sry but wad is modular psu?

semi and full modular

Semi - some cables like sata power all these are detachable from the PSU unit. ATX power aka important power cables are non-detachable.

Full - all cables detachable.

gaoxing84

Yes it is modular. Same as the seasonic m12ii

GPU settled!

R4 or not. Honestly R4 is consider quite light already. Not forgetting that it has room for future expansion. If not just get the Fractal design Arc Midi. or like i say dont mind the size get the Corsair Carbide Air 540 lol <--- super solid

hmm. was thinking of the R4 but the only thing holding me back is the weight. even more heavier than my nzxt phantom 410. lol. must see the bar below the table can tahan anot.
maybe can crossfire in the future.

maybe go hoot from tradepac. can nego here and there.
but i may need them to help me mount the cpu on the mobo and mobo on the case. lol. that one i not very sure how to. the rest still ok. lol can refer to my rig.

nippp0n

Superflower Golden Green HX is modular? I went to their website but they didn't indicate it is modular.

royfrosty

Superflower Golden Green HX is modular? I went to their website but they didn't indicate it is modular.

I think I better check again. Cause I hooted one but didn't open and I gave to my cousin unknowingly. Then according to Mynextcom it mention modular. And official Webby says not modular.

Will take a look again and thanks for pointing out!

royfrosty

hmm. was thinking of the R4 but the only thing holding me back is the weight. even more heavier than my nzxt phantom 410. lol. must see the bar below the table can tahan anot.
maybe can crossfire in the future.

maybe go hoot from tradepac. can nego here and there.
but i may need them to help me mount the cpu on the mobo and mobo on the case. lol. that one i not very sure how to. the rest still ok. lol can refer to my rig.

I leave the chassis for you to decide. Go ahead with what you comfortable with.

By the way mobo is easy to mount. All you got to see is the engraving on the chassis.

exp: ATX 1,3,5,7,9 etc. Meaning to say you need to put a stand off screw on each of this holes before sitting the mobo on the stand offs.

OK. So just the PSU. Will check for you that psu modular or not.

gaoxing84

I leave the chassis for you to decide. Go ahead with what you comfortable with.

By the way mobo is easy to mount. All you got to see is the engraving on the chassis.

exp: ATX 1,3,5,7,9 etc. Meaning to say you need to put a stand off screw on each of this holes before sitting the mobo on the stand offs.

OK. So just the PSU. Will check for you that psu modular or not.

Ahhh. Will need to learn that. Then maybe get Tradepac to mount the cpu on the mobo socket.

If it's not modular then maybe stick to seasonic. R9 280x need until 620w ah? My current rig -> 520 w settle leh. Haha.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.