Beat inflation rates!! RAWR

devilicsky

Bank savings interest 0.15%
Highest for FD 0.7% for Maybank.

Yet inflation rates are 5-6% each year. What are you guys protecting yourselves against this? :o

Sinkie

Yet inflation rates are 5-6% each year. What are you guys protecting yourselves against this? :o

Cimb stars saver account 0.8% :D

Either cut spending by 6%, or have a 6% pay rise lor

Please do not invest just because you want to beat interest rate, you might just lose more than 10% of your money If you invest wrongly :s22:

Is like because you want to chase a girl so you buy a car or condo and ended in big big debt

Money is never enough when we do investment and so go work 1-2 jobs or spend lesser or save more or work harder to get 1 more month bonus please.

Job incomes is the best fight for inflation

limster

A large number of Singaporeans are servicing housing loan at 1% p.a. interest rate though inflation is 5-6%.

So they are benefiting from low interest rates. There is nothing to 'protect' against, the longer they take to pay back the loan, the less they have to pay....

devilicsky

I believe in investing though

I would rather not sit and do nothing ar. If my $1 now is going to be worth just 60cents in 10 years time. I dont think i will ever earn enough $$ :(

Sinkie

I would rather not sit and do nothing ar. If my $1 now is going to be worth just 60cents in 10 years time. I dont think i will ever earn enough $$ :(

well, last time more than 5 years ago, it was like 1 sgd to 3 pound, now is 1 sgd to 1.9 pound or 1 sgd = 1.6 and now 1 sgd = 1.22, so have your $1 become lesser?

imo $1 now is going to be worth just 60cents in 10 years time aka inflation theory is just a marketing myth for financial agents lah..

devilicsky

well..it does seem that chicken rice is much more expensive that a few years ago haha. i miss the $1.50 chicken rice

Sinkie

well..it does seem that chicken rice is much more expensive that a few years ago haha. i miss the $1.50 chicken rice

Yeah, kopi last time $0.70 now $0.90

Means have to job hope Liao lor or ask for payrise

lzydata

Yeah, kopi last time $0.70 now $0.90

Means have to job hope Liao lor or ask for payrise

Kopi last time $0.70 now $0.90, but it seems there are plenty of people who can pay $5 or $6 for "kopi" too :p

Sinkie

Kopi last time $0.70 now $0.90, but it seems there are plenty of people who can pay $5 or $6 for "kopi" too :p

Yeah lor exactly, but yet complain that inflation eat into their money or saving :(

Like for example some if received a $200 dividend from their counter on a particular month, they happily take the $200 and spend on a Starbucks instead of putting the dividend back into their investment to compound the return as a mean to "return" the loss of saving through inflation

Cruel but true for some so be very very clear what you want out from investment and stick to it and never never let greed take control and cloud you.

You just need one instance of a successful investment to just trigger your inner greed and bring you to the world of leverage and speculation which eventually *without proper training and experience* lose all your saving, winning and dividend in the long run.

Sinkie

i invest in a passive portfolio with diversified assets.

Yeah, to beat inflation, I personally will choose, recommend and favor your permanent portfolio strategy, to earn passive income then take higher risk to go about investing in equity through trading/speculation and even dividend.

Just sharing my thoughts to newbies.

pleeted

there r still a lot of places selling two dollar chicken rice/nasi lemak :p

i wuld suggest save properly or invest in sti etf n hold for long terms.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.