becoming a monk

BillaMax

Hey, just flew back from Chiang Mai and had he privilege of seeing a friend ordained to be a monk.

Its was a touching moment, saw their family tearing up and everyone was pleased that he attained monkhood.

Anyway, has anyone ever wanted to be a monk or has been a monk before? Would be nice if you could share you experiences. I am think of flying back to CM to be a monk for a month.

goh6570

Hey, just flew back from Chiang Mai and had he privilege of seeing a friend ordained to be a monk.

Its was a touching moment, saw their family tearing up and everyone was pleased that he attained monkhood.

Anyway, has anyone ever wanted to be a monk or has been a monk before? Would be nice if you could share you experiences. I am think of flying back to CM to be a monk for a month.

wow serious ah? can be for one mth meh?
is it common in chiangmai, for them to become monk?

BillaMax

wow serious ah? can be for one mth meh?
is it common in chiangmai, for them to become monk?

My friend told me that being a monk will send their parents to heaven. No sure if this is really how it works.

But the real reasons why I want to be a monk is to learn meditation and perhaps be enlightened.

zhaoshanhe

actually i am also keen but am a total novice. will be booking a flight to yangon to be a monk and practice meditation for 7 days during my trip to thailand in dec.. from what i understand, it is finding the right temple first and make the necessary arrangement which someone else is handling for me. i will update if i get more info.

BillaMax

actually i am also keen but am a total novice. will be booking a flight to yangon to be a monk and practice meditation for 7 days during my trip to thailand in dec.. from what i understand, it is finding the right temple first and make the necessary arrangement which someone else is handling for me. i will update if i get more info.

I have just checked with my friends over in Thailand. In thailand it is a tradition for males to be a monk. But right now, I am below 20 and can't officially be a monk. I can only be a novice monk. From what I do understand, you can be a monk for any duration but just note that social pass is valid only do 30 days (or is there a way we could extend?)

If you are keen we can fly to Chiang Mai together to be a monk, or for me, a novice one. Will be nice to experience this before I go NS.

Pm me. I have quite a lot of friends over in Thailand especially northern region.

I think I know a few temples over at CM and no worries there's direct flight there by SilkAir.

weekhiang

SIN-CNX also can by Airasia if you dont mind the short transit at DMK....cheaper than Silkair.

dlrowehtleah

But the real reasons why I want to be a monk is to learn meditation and perhaps be enlightened.

i think you need to set the expectation correct before taking the plunge. becoming a novice monk and learning to meditate are quite different.

in thailand, there are camps (mostly organized by orthodox temples) which offer mediation courses, you don't have to shave botak for this purpose.

being a monk is more than just meditation. you've to perform daily routines like area cleaning, collect alms, chanting/praying, attend sermons & etc. but the biggest hurdle of all, most of these activities are instructed in thai language. although it is not uncommon to hear/read ang moh becomes monk in thailand, most of them already speak quite good thai and they probably had stayed in thailand a few years prior to that decision.

people in singapore/malaysia typically flys to taiwan for meditation courses/camps. at least, language is not a barrier for most of us.

natas

My friend told me that being a monk will send their parents to heaven. No sure if this is really how it works.

Your friend was joking with you.

In Buddhism, we believe in doing merit. In Thailand, most guys at least 20 yrs of age become monk for about a month to gain merit for parents, especially mum.

If you are thinking of learning meditation, u dun have to be a monk. Dun think of enlightenment with a short monk hood period :D

I stayed in a temple before not as a monk to learn about meditation, Dhamma about 8 yrs ago..... I learnt my meditation, discuss about Dhamma from a Mae Chee who was from Belgium or Germany. She has been in Thailand and ordained more than 20 yrs ago.

Daily event, woke up early, various type of meditations, breakfast, meditations, lunch, meditations, wash up ending with night Dhamma. Dhamma discussion with Thai and western monks. If Thai monk, Mae Chee will translate them.

goh6570

Hmmm.. my fren is also buddhist (in sg) and turned into full vegetarian..she said becoming vegetarain will do good for the parents....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.