Best medishield?

Kakashi8

Anybody can recommend a few good private medishield based on ranking? How to I define good? It must not be expensive as compared to most other medishield, cover the most illness and easy to claim.

Thanks

Relia_tan

Anybody can recommend a few good private medishield based on ranking? How to I define good? It must not be expensive as compared to most other medishield, cover the most illness and easy to claim.

Thanks

Private medishield or even the basic medishield is not meant for covering illness (paying out a sum of money upon illness) but rather your hospital bills. You will need to consider what type of ward (Public Hospital A, B1, B2 or Private hospital) you prefer to stay while nursing your health. Do note that a particular doctor that is attaining to you will require you to stay at a certain ward. Another area to ponder is the duration you are entitled for pre and post hospitalisation. Currently it ranges from 90 days to 180 days each.

Take a look at https://www.moh.gov.sg/content/dam/moh_web/Healthcare_Financing/Medishield/Comparison_of_MediShield_and_Private_Integrated_Plans/Comparison%20of%20IPs%20last%20updated%201%20Aug%202014%20(Private).pdf and https://www.moh.gov.sg/content/dam/moh_web/Healthcare_Financing/Medishield/Comparison_of_MediShield_and_Private_Integrated_Plans/Comparison%20of%20IPs%20last%20updated%201%20Apr%202014%20(Class%20A).pdf for comparison between companies.

For claims efficiency you can refer to https://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/moh_corp_mobile/home/costs_financing/schemes_subsidies/medishield/medisave-approvedinsurance.html

Hope these information will help in your selection.

wts2013

dun forget the garmen's medishield life which is mandatory effective end 2015

wolfberries

Mine is ntuc. Budget, managable and affordable in long run.
90% coverage with rider
10% - up to $3K per calendar year which I find it ok to fork out.

When young, get best treatments, medical care - stay private. Cos need to go back work force asa.
After I retired, one leg in coffin liao. Will downgrade private hospital to restructured hospital plan. Haa.
Cos premiums too high to maintain.

Buy the main plan must rem to add-on rider!

I noe someone early 30s, v fit, exercise, take part marathons...

Kena benign tumor this yr. Hospitalisation bill $150K.
Bot main plain when she was 20s. But buy add-on rider only last year. Lucky lo.
Pre and post consultation bills, hospital bill are covered. Add up almost $200K on this benign tumor. Hers is prudential.

She get best medical care and specialists cos stay in private hospital. Now back to work.

Imagine if no private medisheld + rider, think she will be stressed over the bill payment. N who noes benign bcm malignant.

please don't just rely on govt medisheld.

wolfberries

Private medishield or even the basic medishield is not meant for covering illness (paying out a sum of money upon illness) but rather your hospital bills. You will need to consider what type of ward (Public Hospital A, B1, B2 or Private hospital) you prefer to stay while nursing your health. Do note that a particular doctor that is attaining to you will require you to stay at a certain ward. Another area to ponder is the duration you are entitled for pre and post hospitalisation. Currently it ranges from 90 days to 180 days each.

Take a look at https://www.moh.gov.sg/content/dam/moh_web/Healthcare_Financing/Medishield/Comparison_of_MediShield_and_Private_Integrated_Plans/Comparison%20of%20IPs%20last%20updated%201%20Aug%202014%20(Private).pdf and https://www.moh.gov.sg/content/dam/moh_web/Healthcare_Financing/Medishield/Comparison_of_MediShield_and_Private_Integrated_Plans/Comparison%20of%20IPs%20last%20updated%201%20Apr%202014%20(Class%20A).pdf for comparison between companies.

For claims efficiency you can refer to https://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/moh_corp_mobile/home/costs_financing/schemes_subsidies/medishield/medisave-approvedinsurance.html

thanks for sharing!

Ppl always mixed up life insurance payout with hospital bills.

wts2013

Yes agree, but when I was young/working, I dun buy cos company cover insurance. Of course got risk if u buy later when not working cos health might deteriorate and cannot got cover.

sanzhu

best shield is KHAE BOON WHAN medishield

only $8 for bypass

wolfberries

Yes agree, but when I was young/working, I dun buy cos company cover insurance. Of course got risk if u buy later when not working cos health might deteriorate and cannot got cover.

Very risky lei.
When u no longer with the company and have pre-existing conditions like heart diseases, high blood pressure, who's going to cover you.

Even wana take you in, u pay higher premiums lo.

Buy insurance is buying yaself a pride lo.
U don't wish u or your family members go beg money to pay your medical bills.

Insurance is insurance.
Don't buy those with insurance + investment like ILP.
ILP = insurance linked plans.
Agents like to sell this bcos highest commission.

limster

Kena benign tumor this yr. Hospitalisation bill $150K.
Bot main plain when she was 20s. But buy add-on rider only last year. Lucky lo.
Pre and post consultation bills, hospital bill are covered. Add up almost $200K on this benign tumor. Hers is prudential.

She get best medical care and specialists cos stay in private hospital. Now back to work.

Imagine if no private medisheld + rider, think she will be stressed over the bill payment. N who noes benign bcm malignant.

please don't just rely on govt medisheld.

This is the reason why I don't buy plan that covers private hospital. $200 seems much higher than what govt hospitals charge (have one relative went for cancer operation also, i think only 5 figures) and will come back to bite you in the form of increased premiums down the road.

Private hospital, the sky is the limit. Want to order Lobster for dinner, take VIP suite... go ahead.... all paid for by other policyholders....

wolfberries

This is the reason why I don't buy plan that covers private hospital. $200 seems much higher than what govt hospitals charge (have one relative went for cancer operation also, i think only 5 figures) and will come back to bite you in the form of increased premiums down the road.

Private hospital, the sky is the limit. Want to order Lobster for dinner, take VIP suite... go ahead.... all paid for by other policyholders....

Dont worry lah. Sure come back to bite us. Not just me alone. You oso. MOH increases the basic medishield, all private medishield premiums will increase lah regardless private or govt hospital plans.

No one wish to be hospitalised and use the medishield lo.

The 200K is actually equivalent to the total medishield premiums my fren pay till she dies lo.
Duno why u say all paid for by other policyholders.

anyway her tumor very rare. Has to involve plastic surgeon to stand-by in theatre.
Not just one operation, she went thru two ops. She suddenly bleed when she about to discharge..
Stayed almost a month in hospital.. First ops got I think 5 surgeons inside lo.
The main surgeon has to engaged another surgeon frm govt hospital.
But nv disclose the govt doc name on the bill.but this private doc fee takes up 1/4 of the bill lo.
Private doc needs to pay to the govt doc lei.

Different operations of tumors, different complications, different fees lei. U are comparing apple to orange.

Another fren's father cancer stage 4 prostate cancer
govt hospital said need to pay $4,200/mth for the pills to prolong his life.

Conclusion in sg can only die cannot fall sick.

ZEBRA85

this is very informative.
may i know where can we find the comparison for rider fee?

i am currently on ntuc enhanced shield plan with rider. but this is not a 100% claimable plan. and the pre-post hospitalization plan is only 90 days. shld i change to 180 days for full coverage?

joasky

Btw, I think it is important to note that insurers do not pay for suite ward if incurred by the policyholders. They would carve out the charges accordingly and is payable only up to single-bedded room.

Other miscellaneous charges for food & beverages opted by the patient are also not reimbursed by insurer.

joasky

this is very informative.
may i know where can we find the comparison for rider fee?

i am currently on ntuc enhanced shield plan with rider. but this is not a 100% claimable plan. and the pre-post hospitalization plan is only 90 days. shld i change to 180 days for full coverage?

For rider, it would be advisable to check out the different websites of each insurers for more information.

Hope this will aid you to understand the key differences. I think at the end of the day, it is important to find someone who can facilitate you during event of the claim as I'm sure you would want it to be fuss-free. Another point, is also as highlighted, the claims rate avail on MOH website.

Have PM-ed you for the websites for reference.

kwk

sorry to TS but I need to ask for advise to my case. I plan to upgrade from the basic medishield to aia healthshield gold , but due to the fact that I declare I having back pain problem which doesn't require surgery. I am being excluded for all treatment cost arising from the spine, intervertebral discs, nerve roots or supporting musculature and ligaments disease or disorder or any injury. My question is can I appeal against the exclusion and should I take up the plan? Thank you.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.