I have encountered 2 china con woman like mother and daughter using the same method trying to borrow money from me in BKK airport. Saying that their bag was stolen and need some money to buy ticket back to china.
Yes, in suvarnbhum airport! I kena before, they will approach and ask if you can Chinese. I told them go and call police and inform PRC embassy, then they diam diam liao.
1. Upload your pic to free online image storage eg. postimage.org.
2. Copy the image url
3. Post in hwz by clicking the second last icon -"insert image" & paste image url.
QUOTE=littlegreenmen;75484832]1. Upload your pic to free online image storage eg. postimage.org.
2. Copy the image url
3. Post in hwz by clicking the second last icon -"insert image" & paste image url.[/QUOTE]
QUOTE=littlegreenmen;75484832]1. Upload your pic to free online image storage eg. postimage.org.
2. Copy the image url
3. Post in hwz by clicking the second last icon -"insert image" & paste image url.
Good that the old man's picture is finally out. The general rule is not to talk to any strangers when you are in unfamilar places.
A few years back, an old man approached my wife and I outside pratunam market and said he was a Singaporean. The story had a different twist but a scam no doubt. He said he was a "middle man" for Poh Heng Singapore and his job was to source for cheap gems and ruby in Thailand. He asked whether we wanted any of them and I told him I was not keen.
Somehow, he changed the topic to a great temple having "open house once a year" and that day was "our lucky day". He waved his hand and suddently a tuk tuk appeared. I recalled he "bargained" with the tuk tuk driver and a dirt cheap price was offered to take us to the temple and we thought why not and hopped into it.
When we reached the temple, it was dead quiet and it definitely didn't look like an "open house". We went around happily snapping pictures. We stopped by a hugh golden lying buddha and while we were admiring it, a young thai approached us. He said he was a crew with Thai Airway. He said he had lobangs to buy dirt cheap ruby and I told him I was not interested. Just then, the same tuk tuk driver appeared again! They were speaking thai and the tuk tuk man then invited us to hop on it. As the temple was quite a distance from town, I thought only the tuk tuk could bring us back to somewhere familar and agreed to take it.
After about 10 mins of travelling, the tuk tuk queued behind a line of tuk tuks heading towards a gate. I noticed that an attendant at the gate passing money to tuk tuk drivers entering it. I found a chance to talk to our tuk tuk man and offered him 100B to bring us to Siam Square. He agreed and we went back to Siam Square.
It was not the end yet. We thought it was still early and took MRT to somewhere near Chinatown. When we were out of station and on the street, a man approached us. He said a temple was having open house.....cheap ruby.....etc etc....Without responding to him, we turned back into the station and went back to the hotel.
Have you guys encountered such elaborated plot to trick you into buying ruby?
Only the other day when I was near pratunam, I wanted to reach MBK fast. I took a tutu. He say 100 baht only then along the way he say want to bring us to i centre, I refuse saying oh I meeting my friend. Then he change his word say 200 baht instead of 100 if I don't want to go to the centre and refuse to bring us to the location if I don't agree.
Good that the old man's picture is finally out. The general rule is not to talk to any strangers when you are in unfamilar places.
A few years back, an old man approached my wife and I outside pratunam market and said he was a Singaporean. The story had a different twist but a scam no doubt. He said he was a "middle man" for Poh Heng Singapore and his job was to source for cheap gems and ruby in Thailand. He asked whether we wanted any of them and I told him I was not keen.
Somehow, he changed the topic to a great temple having "open house once a year" and that day was "our lucky day". He waved his hand and suddently a tuk tuk appeared. I recalled he "bargained" with the tuk tuk driver and a dirt cheap price was offered to take us to the temple and we thought why not and hopped into it.
When we reached the temple, it was dead quiet and it definitely didn't look like an "open house". We went around happily snapping pictures. We stopped by a hugh golden lying buddha and while we were admiring it, a young thai approached us. He said he was a crew with Thai Airway. He said he had lobangs to buy dirt cheap ruby and I told him I was not interested. Just then, the same tuk tuk driver appeared again! They were speaking thai and the tuk tuk man then invited us to hop on it. As the temple was quite a distance from town, I thought only the tuk tuk could bring us back to somewhere familar and agreed to take it.
After about 10 mins of travelling, the tuk tuk queued behind a line of tuk tuks heading towards a gate. I noticed that an attendant at the gate passing money to tuk tuk drivers entering it. I found a chance to talk to our tuk tuk man and offered him 100B to bring us to Siam Square. He agreed and we went back to Siam Square.
It was not the end yet. We thought it was still early and took MRT to somewhere near Chinatown. When we were out of station and on the street, a man approached us. He said a temple was having open house.....cheap ruby.....etc etc....Without responding to him, we turned back into the station and went back to the hotel.
This is how they trick tourist to buy gems and rubys... you can google a history channel tv show call "scam city"... episode 1 in that series showed about bangkok... the temple was also another ongoing scam as well... some of the tuk tuk drivers in bangkok all part of the organise scam...
kena this when i was at Centralworld with my wife when we were praying to the buddha...
told us similar things like "lucky buddha day"... took us to a tuk tuk and drove to quite a nicely decorated buddha temple.
since the temple was quite nice, we decided to take a few photos and then walked up a long flight of stairs to the main temple.
Inside, there was this guy, around 40s', started talking to us and told us he live in Singapore at AMK blk 100+ and his "wife and children" are meditating in another room...
then he also say we are lucky, cuz today is Lucky Buddha Day etc etc. then told us that there is this jewelry shop which only opens for a week for public. and kept asking us that we must buy Sapphire... LAN BAO SHI...
tbh, half way through the conversation, both me and my wife knew that we had been "scammed" but we still continue to talk to the guy...
after that we waved good bye to him and the young tuk tuk driver took us to the shop which we spent no more than 1 minute inside...
the final stop by the tuk tuk was to a tailor shop which was exactly what I wanted, cuz I wanted to go and tailor some shirts and pants.
after that, we immediately went back to our hotel, because it was raining rather heavily and we gave the young driver 100 baht in the end, although he didn't ask for any...
This is how they trick tourist to buy gems and rubys... you can google a history channel tv show call "scam city"... episode 1 in that series showed about bangkok... the temple was also another ongoing scam as well... some of the tuk tuk drivers in bangkok all part of the organise scam...
kena this when i was at Centralworld with my wife when we were praying to the buddha...
told us similar things like "lucky buddha day"... took us to a tuk tuk and drove to quite a nicely decorated buddha temple.
since the temple was quite nice, we decided to take a few photos and then walked up a long flight of stairs to the main temple.
Inside, there was this guy, around 40s', started talking to us and told us he live in Singapore at AMK blk 100+ and his "wife and children" are meditating in another room...
then he also say we are lucky, cuz today is Lucky Buddha Day etc etc. then told us that there is this jewelry shop which only opens for a week for public. and kept asking us that we must buy Sapphire... LAN BAO SHI...
tbh, half way through the conversation, both me and my wife knew that we had been "scammed" but we still continue to talk to the guy...
after that we waved good bye to him and the young tuk tuk driver took us to the shop which we spent no more than 1 minute inside...
the final stop by the tuk tuk was to a tailor shop which was exactly what I wanted, cuz I wanted to go and tailor some shirts and pants.
after that, we immediately went back to our hotel, because it was raining rather heavily and we gave the young driver 100 baht in the end, although he didn't ask for any...
Never take tuk tuk in touristy area. In fact don't take it anywhere. Expensive and touristy. If wanna beat the traffic might as well take the bike taxi.
Shld keep this thread active to create more awareness especially to those who are visiting Thai for the 1st time.
In general tuk tuk will be more expensive than a meter taxi even for short distance. But sometime i still use tuk tuk for short distance as its faster and can take short cut.
Example from Pantip Pratunam to MBK tuk tuk might cost u 80-100thb(if u are lucky and how to neg 60thb also can get) and some might even quote u more during peak hr. A meter taxi might just cost 50-60 thb depending on traffic condition.
And where to find meter taxi at big malls like MBK or Siam paragon. Just go to their designated taxi stand. They have people there to assist you. I would say more than 90% will be meter taxi.
Shld keep this thread active to create more awareness especially to those who are visiting Thai for the 1st time.
In general tuk tuk will be more expensive than a meter taxi even for short distance. But sometime i still use tuk tuk for short distance as its faster and can take short cut.
Example from Pantip Pratunam to MBK tuk tuk might cost u 80-100thb(if u are lucky and how to neg 60thb also can get) and some might even quote u more during peak hr. A meter taxi might just cost 50-60 thb depending on traffic condition.
And where to find meter taxi at big malls like MBK or Siam paragon. Just go to their designated taxi stand. They have people there to assist you. I would say more than 90% will be meter taxi.
Always I ride on a meter taxi.
they dont want ON, I wont board.
Its because of those ang mo very generous and spoil market, thats why they wana practise non-meter way of fetching passengers around. and thats also why they love to service ang mo more than us Asian.
By right yes but not all taxi drivers follow the regulation. Even at airport arrival hall easily half or more are non meter(not sure about current situation). That's y i dun take taxi from arrival hall.
2. Copy the image url
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.