Beware of Somboondee seafood restaurant scam in BKK!

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

chocobunny

It's pretty weird that for those who got scammed by those restaurants dun seem to check the price tag of the dishes they about to order. I always will check if it's displayed on the menu or asked them verbally how much will that dish cost. If a plate of steamed fish on average cost 500baht but it wrote 2000baht , i doubt I would even order it. Just curious. Most of us go shopping before deciding to buy something will ask the price or check for price tag but when it comes to eating , just blindly order ??

Don't assume we didn't check, or that we blindly ordered. It's similar to sg's (price)/gm for seafood. Their explanations were, "It's very fresh. We give alot." And then when you proceed to ask them for whatsoever weight, they act like they don't understand anymore. Oh well.

One of the numerous variations of the classic "it's not open" scam.

Now we know. :s12:

Andrew833

Don't assume we didn't check, or that we blindly order. It's similar to sg's (price)/gm for seafood. Their explanations were, "It's very fresh. We give alot." And then when you proceed to ask them for whatsoever weight, they act like they don't understand anymore. Oh well.

Now we know. :s12:

Nvm lah, it's a good lesson so next time not easy to kana scam again.

chocobunny

Next time before you go, read about the opening hour of the place. And those that speak very good English are out to scam ppl.

we checked out the opening hours of the place before going. but the dumb thing was we did not stand by what we knew, that's when he went in on the attack. Thanks for your advice :o:o:o

Andrew833

we checked out the opening hours of the place before going. but the dumb thing was we did not stand by what we knew, that's when he went in on the attack. Thanks for your advice :o:o:o

You are welcome. :D
Where can you spot these ppls?
Outer hotels beside a private car, outside famous temple, outside shopping malls. They wear smartly and speak good English. These ppl will sweet talk with you and you will only know after getting scam.

chocobunny

You are welcome. :D
Where can you spot these ppls?
Outer hotels beside a private car, outside famous temple, outside shopping malls. They wear smartly and speak good English. These ppl will sweet talk with you and you will only know after getting scam.

Hahaha we were unlucky i guess. We flagged him down. We flagged trouble for ourselves.

turtlezhu

Ok la lesson learn money can always earn back. Most likely the driver take a cut from the restaurant. Don't let the issue spoil your holiday.

chocobunny

Ok la lesson learn money can always earn back. Most likely the driver take a cut from the restaurant. Don't let the issue spoil your holiday.

HAHA i'm going again in august. :s12: Just really glad we had enough to pay. If not we have to sell butts for baht

turtlezhu

What date you heading up. I'm there 7th to 21st pm leh! And why have I not see you in owl recently!

HAHA i'm going again in august. :s12: Just really glad we had enough to pay. If not we have to sell butts for baht

chocobunny

What date you heading up. I'm there 7th to 21st pm leh! And why have I not see you in owl recently!

Our dates always miss by a week or so. Hahahaha i'm going there on 31st Aug - 3rd Sept. Cuz recently have been quite busy so did not log in for awhile. Hahahahahahahaha.

magpierobin

The taxi scam telling you chinatown is closed because of buddha day, or asiatique only open at 930pm is still very common. On the recent trip to bangkok, at pratunam area around 8pm, a friend and i wanted to go to the above mentioned places, as other taxi wont be using meter, we rejected them, until came this pink color taxi that agreed to use the meter. We never thought much but to take this taxi. While stating we wanted to go to chinatown or asiatique for dinner (another mistake telling taxi driver we are target), the taxi driver Start to give reason as stated above, and recommend us to go to a local seafood place, he said that curry crab, lemon fish is the recommended dish. I start to feel skeptical as i remember few yrs back somewhere i read article abt this but i wasn’t too sure until we reach the place and saw the name on the restaurant stated “somboondee”, i started to tell my friend abt this scam discreetlty. While the taxi still there, We pretend to look at the menu, and when the driver left, we walked out soon after that without Ordering anything. Luckily i read about it, or else will end up like other tripadvisor user who reported that they have to pay for the overcharging food.

You should raise your alarm when they tell you this,
- restaurant you want to go is no good and local will go to the shop he recommended
- the place you wanted go is closed for some occasion / open late
- beware of taxi driver that speak good english/ chinese
- taxi driver start to recommend you some restaurant/shop
- traffic jam, don’t want to use meter

What you should do:
- nvr tell them you are first time to bangkok
- Check google / online for more info if you sense something fishy.
- Dont give too much detail on where you stay, they will judge how richer you are based on hotel you stay
- If you want to go to a restaurant, try not to tell the driver directly, instead look for neaby landmark like shopping mall, bts, mrt station, etc drop off point there and walk to the shop.
- Tell them you are meeting “some friend” in that destination place if you really want to go there

If you realise you are in the Scam taxi and they dont want to go to your destination, kindly reject their suggestion and ask them to drop off, or drive to nearby mrt, bts station

The restaurant is digging their own grave by cheating/scamming the tourist as more and more internet posting news about them. Too bad we didnt record down the taxi plate number.

Another one is Sriayudhya Seafood Market according to this news
https://coconuts.co/bangkok/news/bangkoks-legendary-rip-restaurant-gets-probed-over-thb1000-tom-yum/

Many post about this,
https://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Show...10540144-Somboondee_seafood_scam-Bangkok.html

https://cathyandgarystravelpages.com/somboondee_seafood_markets.htm

http://tourist-scams.com/tourist-scam-destinations/bangkok/scam-somboondee-seafood-market/

#somboondee #bangkoktaxiscam

Tags: somboondee seafood bangkok taxi scam

bluetwinkle

The real Somboon has a website and it talks about the scam on its front page without naming the restaurant that abuses its name. http://www.somboonseafood.com/index.php/en/site/home

The real Somboon is nice but I will skip the one at Siam Square and Central World as they are potential tourists traps. It personally identifies the one at Central World as at tourist spot. Been to the one at Siam Square too and the staff were very pushy to get you to order more.

hwmook

The real Somboon has a website and it talks about the scam on its front page without naming the restaurant that abuses its name. http://www.somboonseafood.com/index.php/en/site/home

The real Somboon is nice but I will skip the one at Siam Square and Central World as they are potential tourists traps. It personally identifies the one at Central World as at tourist spot. Been to the one at Siam Square too and the staff were very pushy to get you to order more.

I went to the one at Central World, food is not bad, price is ok, service is great. I personally don't think it's anything special though.

Northern-Lights

Went BKK twice and Hua Hin twice.

1st trip at BKK:
Kena gem scam. Bought a sapphire stone and until today, my wife still laughs at me :o

Kena Thai girl trap. Went up second floor, order coke and bill came up to be 5k baht. Told them nicely that we only had 2k baht (bo bian the bouncers starts to look at us and the waitresses starts to crowd around us). Paid up and left :(

While resting our legs outside a big modern shopping center (forgot name), a man in his 50s came up to us. Spoke good English, said he was a lawyer, tcss abit, then finally told us we should take a free Tuk Tut ride as they were having some promotions. Politely declined and just walked off.

1st trip at Hua Hin.
Bus stops at bus interchange. Forgot to buy prepaid sim card to google location of hotel. End up taking the pickup of a aunty to the hotel. Hotel was just 100 metres away. Lol. 200 bahts. I asked her, "so near but 200 baht"? She replied "very hot you walk" :o

magpierobin

Bump for awareness...dont fall into this tourist trap

Tags: bangkok taxi scam seafood restaurant somboondee

FroztSpectre

Feel like going there with my gf to try,
but then 2pax go, can't eat much. SIAN.

is it alot better than the typical Chinatown T&K Seafood? Pricing wise leh?

Nurse.Vijay

Heng i always cheong soapy massage so go to the somboon at Ratchada. Last time afternoon go beo nataree Emmanuelle the lord then after that jiak dinner at somboon before taking mrt back. Now nataree and the lord closed :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.