Bios corrupted after making changes, UEFI secure booting

hawthorne

Hi all

something I have never encountered before, so check with fellow bros if u all have experiences on this.

I was building a new rig, mobo chosen was a GA-H270N-WIFI with a Intel i7-7700 processor. Since it was a new rig, i decided to try out using UEFI secure booting for Windows 10.

I configured the mobo based on the info here: https://www.eightforums.com/install...ure-boot-windows-8-activation.html#post443818

after saving bios setting, my PC went into a boot-loop. It keeps rebooting every 5 sec, monitor is blank (no Gigabyte spashscreen etc). In the end, checked back with the dealer was told BIOS was corrupted and need to RMA the mobo.

Now I dun dare to tinker with the mobo anymore, after getting my replacement.

Anyone encounter anything similar? Not sure if its a Bios bug or something, cos my experience in the past, if bios setting was wrong, at most they wun let u boot into OS, and u can still go back to the BIOS to make the necessary changes.

wwenze

What you screwed is the data stored in CMOS

You can't corrupt the BIOS unless you purposely flash the BIOS.

hawthorne

That's what I thot too. So i did the usual:
1. disconnect battery for few min
2. put a jumper on the CLR_CMOS pins etc.
3. press and hold power button combos (suppose to let the dual Bios kick in reflash the "bricked bios")

all no use :(

hlots123

so gigabyte having dual bios did not help? wat happen to the backup bios

yusoffb01

No idea. Did not see it in action :(

I had gigabyte dual bios. what happens if it can't boot bios is that it will boot loop a few times before it finally works. After that it will work normally.

hawthorne

I had gigabyte dual bios. what happens if it can't boot bios is that it will boot loop a few times before it finally works. After that it will work normally.

few times is how many times?

My case think it can go on forever

localITguy

wah the hell, how did that even corrupt the Bios.

u check with distro?

or shop

hlots123

imho w/o a proper bios switch the methods to get the bios recovery to kick in seems quite arcane, and its not even described in the manual...

Rock-kun

Sound like very badly designed firmware if setting a single option that Microsoft themselves dictate to be 'ON' for OEM computers can result in CMOS corruption.

hawthorne

wah the hell, how did that even corrupt the Bios.

u check with distro?

or shop

That's y i was surprised also. My 10+ years of tinkering with PCs, servers and blade servers bios and this is the first time i see such a thing.

Went back to the shop, they did a 1-1 exchanged for me after they troubleshooted it since my mobo is just a few days old. New mobo works. So we concluded is bios died.

hawthorne

revisiting this

seems like Gigabyte has a new Bios Update on their website:
Version F3 : V core voltage adjust, Fix secure boot issue

No info on what the fix was for, could be this issue i encountered

dreamyxq

revisiting this

seems like Gigabyte has a new Bios Update on their website:
Version F3 : V core voltage adjust, Fix secure boot issue

No info on what the fix was for, could be this issue i encountered

Try again on ur new mobo?:s13:
Update us whether you broke it or not:s22:

hawthorne

Try again on ur new mobo?:s13:
Update us whether you broke it or not:s22:

mlmlwm :s22:

anyway, I sent a ticket to Gigabyte to get more info on this.

Testing this required reformatting, I lazy to reinstall and buay gian to try out secure boot liaoz.

but still good to know as I'm considering to get another of this mobo for another build :s22:

dreamyxq

that's why I never buy Gigabyte or MSI mobos, heard and experienced so many horror stories.

Asus ftw.

hawthorne

that's why I never buy Gigabyte or MSI mobos, heard and experienced so many horror stories.

Asus ftw.
Think Heng sway bah. My old gigabyte Phenom X3 Mobo still serving me well for my htpc. This Mobo Ard 8 years old liao

On the contrary, my Mobo for old Asus G73JW laptop uplorry after 2 years

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.