bkk experts - recommendations needed

Velana

wife say she wanna get a driver to bring us from bkk to kanchanaburi den stay with us to bring us around
Kanchanaburi is nice too. got water sports to do. might have mosquitoes. if you staying near the river. There's also the Jeath War Museum which talks about WW2 and the River Kwai Bridge

i recommend 3 places in Kanchanaburi.
Erawan Water falls - water there very nice and clean, can go swimming at the different level of falls.
Kanchanaburi Safari Park - This is open air zoo. if you drive, can drive inside. if not can take their safari bus.
Prasat Muang Sing Heritage Park - if dont want to go to Siem Reap, this place is the closes you will get to the ang kor wat.

There's a night market there too, but nothing there. so won't even bother.

For food, I can recommend Ruaen Thara Restaurant, it's near the Srinagarind Dam, and has nice view, but only day time. Ask them for english menu. Their food is very reasonably priced.

For Hotel, I stayed at U Hotel Kanchanaburi, it's right next to the river and very comfortable. It's also very reasonably priced. There are local hotels/resorts, but those mostly only can book from their website, not on Agoda/Booking.com etc. So a bit hard if you don't read/write Thai.

In general, Driving is the best, Thailand not difficult to drive. It's better than driving in SG I say. whenever I go i will drive. unless I go for work, but now I dont go for work, so I always drive.

PikaPika33

last time moi go, stay nana area
cheap cheap in central area
at night can go ssrr also

daryl76

Kanchanaburi is nice too. got water sports to do. might have mosquitoes. if you staying near the river. There's also the Jeath War Museum which talks about WW2 and the River Kwai Bridge

i recommend 3 places in Kanchanaburi.
Erawan Water falls - water there very nice and clean, can go swimming at the different level of falls.
Kanchanaburi Safari Park - This is open air zoo. if you drive, can drive inside. if not can take their safari bus.
Prasat Muang Sing Heritage Park - if dont want to go to Siem Reap, this place is the closes you will get to the ang kor wat.

There's a night market there too, but nothing there. so won't even bother.

For food, I can recommend Ruaen Thara Restaurant, it's near the Srinagarind Dam, and has nice view, but only day time. Ask them for english menu. Their food is very reasonably priced.

For Hotel, I stayed at U Hotel Kanchanaburi, it's right next to the river and very comfortable. It's also very reasonably priced. There are local hotels/resorts, but those mostly only can book from their website, not on Agoda/Booking.com etc. So a bit hard if you don't read/write Thai.

In general, Driving is the best, Thailand not difficult to drive. It's better than driving in SG I say. whenever I go i will drive. unless I go for work, but now I dont go for work, so I always drive.
this is what we planning to do for the 3 days in kanchanaburi..... doable???

McGraw

Chao Phraya River
Temples
Chinatown
MBK for their pirated shirts
Icon Siam
Asiatique
One Ratchada night market
Jodd Fair night market
Chatuchak Market
Tailing Chan floating market
Klong Lat Mayom floating market

BlackCube

i haven't go google the places and location, but day 4 definitely look like abit too ambitous.
day 5, the hellfire pass itself can be couple of hours liao.
but also depends if you like relax chill chill or chiong chiong

iirc, kan has a big dam place also, or maybe i rmb wrong. not sure, need google.

daryl76

i haven't go google the places and location, but day 4 definitely look like abit too ambitous.

iirc, kan has a big dam place also, or maybe i rmb wrong. not sure, need google.
lol we wanna explore but sure dun wanna chiong until we tire out the little one.... lol so poor thing

i told my wife, if we cant squeeze in den something gotta let go from the list

Velana

Very doable, just you might become very tired, depending on how old your kids are. if they are like below 12 I htink you and your teerak will be very tired at the end of the day..

I also only spent 3 days last time and I had a whole bunch of old folks with me. I was essentially the tour guide. But we took things very very easily, we visited like 1 place or 2 places a day, then the rest is go back hotel to nap and go hotel massage. But we went during raining season, so it was very wet, we went to elephant park and erawan national park when it was raining.

I still recommend to drive around yourself, cause it jsut so, so much more easier. and it's only like 2.5hours drive from BKK to KAN. The road is also mostly smooth between the BKK suburbs to KAN.

BlackCube

i just google the place and distance.

actually im wrong, day 4 might be ok. but same. depending on when you depart for kan on day 4. it may still not be doable. i think as long u reach before/by noon. no problem.
but of course when you say the river kwai, i assume its gonna be the famous track area. it also depends how long u gonna stay at that area.
there's a big temple across the river, when u walk on the track itself, u can see the temple.
around the track, there's some places to walk around and so on.
iirc, this you need to check, there's timing where there's train that pass by (not sure if its this track), if you want to see it then it's another consideration.

so im saying that, it can be as short as 30min stay just take some photo, walk on track, or it can be 3 hours, if you walk around, go temple, and so on.

BlackCube

if you go erawan water, and intend to go up all the way, it will take awhile, can take 2-3 hours.

mAwsos8.jpg

if you are a dam person, can go to Srinakarin Dam, nothing much there, ssrr take some photo can zao, but it's quite near erawan, around 30mins away.

there is another bridge called Tham Krasae Railway Bridge which is pretty interesting too. u can walk on the track, and there's a cave right beside the track. yes, you can also take the train if you want.

MsYlrKN.png

hellfire pass, think you will stay there around 2-3 hours. enjoy the walk, rmb to bring mosquito repellent.

if you like hotspring and spa... can go to Rock Valley Hotspring & Fish Spa...if i not wrong, the hotspring got herb one, also got fish spa.

zAnvwlX.jpg

4bTG5oE.jpg

and there's this roadside stall at 14.011903832229319, 99.51895799233505, one of the best noodle i had. no name lol.

few more places for you to consider.

daryl76

i just google the place and distance.

actually im wrong, day 4 might be ok. but same. depending on when you depart for kan on day 4. it may still not be doable. i think as long u reach before/by noon. no problem.
but of course when you say the river kwai, i assume its gonna be the famous track area. it also depends how long u gonna stay at that area.
there's a big temple across the river, when u walk on the track itself, u can see the temple.
around the track, there's some places to walk around and so on.
iirc, this you need to check, there's timing where there's train that pass by (not sure if its this track), if you want to see it then it's another consideration.

so im saying that, it can be as short as 30min stay just take some photo, walk on track, or it can be 3 hours, if you walk around, go temple, and so on.
oh we do like to see temples, the architecture etc

my wife wanna take the train also, those old trains, hahahaha

daryl76

if you go erawan water, and intend to go up all the way, it will take awhile, can take 2-3 hours.

mAwsos8.jpg

if you are a dam person, can go to Srinakarin Dam, nothing much there, ssrr take some photo can zao, but it's quite near erawan, around 30mins away.

there is another bridge called Tham Krasae Railway Bridge which is pretty interesting too. u can walk on the track, and there's a cave right beside the track. yes, you can also take the train if you want.

MsYlrKN.png

hellfire pass, think you will stay there around 2-3 hours. enjoy the walk, rmb to bring mosquito repellent.

if you like hotspring and spa... can go to Rock Valley Hotspring & Fish Spa...if i not wrong, the hotspring got herb one, also got fish spa.

zAnvwlX.jpg

4bTG5oE.jpg

and there's this roadside stall at 14.011903832229319, 99.51895799233505, one of the best noodle i had. no name lol.

few more places for you to consider.
the train jin interesting.... we can take right? u mention can.... haha where it goes though

BlackCube

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.