Boarding pass error/conflict @ China custom

Dystopia

Hello fellow China travellers..

e.g. my name is TAN AH HUAT ( as shown in the passport and NRIC )

my boarding pass from this China Eastern Airline:

TAN/ AHHUAT
MU1234
08 MAR

When clearing custom @ the China immigration... this staff ask me:
why your boarding pass name is different from your passport.
Knn I also stunned.. :s22:

I go China a few times... no such issue encountered before...
and I'm clearing custom to go HOME.. make me so paiseh jam up the queue..

after which the custom officer ask n ask around..... ask me stand one side .. which waiting for her superior to ask and ask again. o_O

so.. the qns is.. what is wrong? who is wrong? or is it wrong? :spin: :s22: :ROFLMAO:

reddevil0728

what's indicate at this part?

Dystopia

what's indicate at this part?
thanks for sharing the above info.. 👍

PASGPTAN<<AH<<HUAT<<<<<<<<<

what the custom officer was confused yesterday: my given name is connected together in the printed boarding pass AHHUAT
while the passport is AH HUAT

and to complicate matter... in the passport I have another hanyu pinyin name in bracket (CHEN YA FA) :ROFLMAO:

:s22: :spin: :s22: :spin: 🤦‍♂️

reddevil0728

thanks for sharing the above info.. 👍

PASGPTAN<<AH<<HUAT<<<<<<<<<

what the custom officer was confused yesterday: my given name is connected together in the printed boarding pass AHHUAT
while the passport is AH HUAT

and to complicate matter... in the passport I have another hanyu pinyin name in bracket (CHEN YA FA) :ROFLMAO:

:s22: :spin: :s22: :spin: 🤦‍♂️
it's the one on the bottom part that matters apparently

Dystopia

So back to my original question..

why is the spacing between my given name omitted in my boarding pass? :s22:

I just checked my previous scoot boarding pass..
printed perfectly as per my passport name.. TAN/ AH HUAT

so, likely is the China eastern airline error.. :spin: 🤦‍♂️ 🤦‍♂️ 🤦‍♂️
and the China custom officer not properly trained..

my previous few boarding pass from other China airline all printed as TAN/ AHHUAT

🤦‍♂️ 🤦‍♂️ 🤦‍♂️

reddevil0728

So back to my original question..

why is the spacing between my given name omitted in my boarding pass? :s22:

I just checked my previous scoot boarding pass..
printed perfectly as per my passport name.. TAN/ AH HUAT

so, likely is the China eastern airline error.. :spin: 🤦‍♂️ 🤦‍♂️ 🤦‍♂️
and the China custom officer not properly trained..

my previous few boarding pass from other China airline all printed as TAN/ AHHUAT

🤦‍♂️ 🤦‍♂️ 🤦‍♂️
Isn’t it based on what you entered when you buy the ticket?

Dystopia

Isn’t it based on what you entered when you buy the ticket?

I bought all my flight from trip.com

I guess it is due to their China system.
Previous few entry/exit from China were smooth sailing, till the recent one where the custom lady just give me BLANK look😐 while asking me WHY NO SPACING in my boarding pass name... :s22:

as always Never argue with custom officer... So i just say since boarding pass given..and my passport/face/fingerprint are all legit. And I'm going back home... .. (in my mind I was thinking.. why are you so An@l abt it :ROFLMAO: )

Garlic & Butter

is that ticket flown on a Chinese airline?
because, PRC given names are joint together, so naturally their systems will join these names.
My China eastern boarding pass join them eg. TAN BENGHUAT, while my SQ pass spells as TAN BENG HUAT

and both are bought from trip.com

so far, never faced any issues, and never encounter any BENGHUAT TAN sequence yet, luckily

Dystopia

is that ticket flown on a Chinese airline?
because, PRC given names are joint together, so naturally their systems will join these names.
My China eastern boarding pass join them eg. TAN BENGHUAT, while my SQ pass spells as TAN BENG HUAT

and both are bought from trip.com

so far, never faced any issues, and never encounter any BENGHUAT TAN sequence yet, luckily

yes.. Chinese airline - China eastern..

mine also all from trip.com
scoot - TAN/ AH HUAT

actually is both chinese airline n china custom problem lah..
airline should just follow the passport name writing style
custom should standardize all their staff training also.. I went first few times all no issue... :s22: :s22: :ROFLMAO: 🤦‍♂️

d3n

no issues leh but i only flew with szechuan airlines and air china before

Dystopia

no issues leh but i only flew with szechuan airlines and air china before

good for u then.. 👍
my past few trips to China also no issue.. (hainan... china eastern)

this time is due to POORLY trained custom officer.:s22::spin: jam me for 20mins..🤣

galacticnick

many airline systems apparently cannot deal with spaces in names; that's why the first and middle names are combined as one. the immigration officer, probably a newbie, needs to be educated on this.

s7460597

many airline systems apparently cannot deal with spaces in names; that's why the first and middle names are combined as one. the immigration officer, probably a newbie, needs to be educated on this.

Happens. Few years ago, was delayed by Macau immigration officer. Took a while to clear me. I asked her if there's any issue, she said no.

beanstalk6

Keep your cool with the immigration officer at any checkpoint anywhere in the world. Don't provide any excuse to the immigration personnel to delay your entry, as our countrymen have recently found out at Batam. Conversely, there are enough negative examples of bad behaviour exhibited by travellers of the country mentioned in this topic.

Chinese immigration officers tend to be very meticulous in scanning your passport line by line, detail by detail, page by page. However it still takes a very novice officer to escalate minor things like concatenated names on the air ticket.

reddevil0728

Keep your cool with the immigration officer at any checkpoint anywhere in the world. Don't provide any excuse to the immigration personnel to delay your entry, as our countrymen has recently found out at Batam. Conversely, there are enough negative examples of bad behaviour exhibited by travellers of the country mentioned in this topic.

Chinese immigration officers tend to be very meticulous in scanning your passport line by line, detail by detail, page by page. However it still takes a very novice officer to escalate minor things like concatenated names on the air ticket.
agreed. people need to know that unless you are a citizen, you have no inherent right to enter foreign countries.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.