[Breaking] - MyRepublic data storage hacked

Otokiru

On 29 August 2021, we discovered that an unknown external party had obtained unauthorised access to a third-party data storage platform used by MyRepublic to store identity verification documents relating to the application for mobile services. Some of that data was downloaded without permission.

The unauthorised access to the data storage facility has since been secured, and the incident has been contained. We have also reported this incident to the Personal Data Protection Commission and the Infocomm Media Development Authority.

What personal data was accessed?

Based on our investigation, the unauthorised access affects only mobile subscribers based in Singapore.The affected data storage platform contained the following identity verification documents related to customer applications for mobile services:
  • For affected Singapore citizens, permanent residents and employment and dependent pass holders — scanned copies of both sides of NRICs - this includes name, address, date of birth, gender, race, place of birth, full NRIC number, photograph, thumbprint, date of card issue and (for employment passes and dependant passes) employer and nationality;
  • For affected foreigners — proof of residential address documents (e.g. scanned copies of a utility bill, tenancy agreement or insurance policy), including name and address; and
  • For affected customers porting an existing mobile service — name and mobile number.
Curry source: https://myrepublic.net/sg/press-rel...incident-moves-to-support-affected-customers/

all those get free sim card during their test launch gg liao.... *includes me*
i got fweeling their data storage is from Microsoft... recently got news regarding their Azure storage got vulnerability... [Source]

Adonai.avatar

What! So, now hacker has names, address, may be even email ids and credit card info?

can misuse this info in any manner

TioBan

Jialat, now all those EDMWers who claim to be making 20k a month will tio sexposed as jobless boh?

iosnewbie

omg scanned copies of nric...
The fact that by law we are required to submit our complete NRIC details usually as front and back scans, for phone line or internet service subscriptions, which are individually managed and “secured” by different service providers, is simply ridiculous when we have this thing call SingPass.

When I recently signed up for home broadband with a new ISP and was asked for NRIC scams, I could only attempt to make it more secure by including watermarks on the scans.

There has to be a better way to do this.

whatheheck

LOL SCANNED COPIES OF NRIC GG
but whats the point of having data protection laws when its usually fines which in all likelihood will get passed down to consumers in the end?
I think we get carrot chopped more than this :s13:
wpcZRVk.png

xk9KZ34.png

KZjdr9e.png

TS6YKyl.png

Tenpai

The fact that by law we are required to submit our complete NRIC details usually as front and back scans, for phone line or internet service subscriptions, which are individually managed and “secured” by different service providers, is simply ridiculous when we have this thing call SingPass.

When I recently signed up for home broadband with a new ISP and was asked for NRIC scams, I could only attempt to make it more secure by including watermarks on the scans.

There has to be a better way to do this.
Some big telcos always insist on NRIC front and back when it is no longer necessary in light of e-billing

I use driving licence or 11B, they say cannot

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.