Broadwell Desktop Processors

Fatfool

Hello,

Where do I get a Broadwell i5-5675C?

Also, any ITX boards to recommend that come with Displayport 1.2 and wifi?

4K video doesn't seem to need Skylake or are there other attributes that Skylake has over Broadwell? Apparently now there's an adapter for DP 1.2 to HDMI 2.0

http://www.club-3d.com/index.php/pr...layport-12-to-hdmi-20-uhd-active-adapter.html

I was also looking a the Zotac Skylake C series

DSC_0125.jpg

But no one seems to know the cost or specs or if it comes with HDMI 2.0 natively.

Fatfool

Hmm what happened to Hardware Clinic? Seems to quiet. No one has an opinion on this?

klap_hanz

Broadwell i5-5675C and 5775C processors are for socket 1150 mobos...

Very hard to find socket 1150 mobos in SLS nowadays...alot of shops now all selling the latest 1151 mobos n Skylake CPUs only...

And moreover alot of ppl n shops in SG are Haswell den Skylake liao skipping Broadwell altogether, i really don't tink SLS got sell any i5-5675C or i5-5775C processors leh...

any bros running Broadwell processors in your Z97 rigs ?? Maybe they can help u in regards to Broadwell desktop processors

Fatfool

buy from amazon.
mini-pc not very popular in sinkapoor.
high cost and not for gaming.

Broadwell i5-5675C and 5775C processors are for socket 1150 mobos...

Very hard to find socket 1150 mobos in SLS nowadays...alot of shops now all selling the latest 1151 mobos n Skylake CPUs only...

And moreover alot of ppl n shops in SG are Haswell den Skylake liao skipping Broadwell altogether, i really don't tink SLS got sell any i5-5675C or i5-5775C processors leh...

any bros running Broadwell processors in your Z97 rigs ?? Maybe they can help u in regards to Broadwell desktop processors

Hmm I just went to take a look at Amazon. The i5-5675C is 289 USD!!! :eek:
Wah more expensive than a i5-6500 or i5-6600. It has the Iris Pro though.

Not seen a Z97 user with a Desktop Broadwell in SG yet. Were Desktop Broadwells ever sold in SLS in the first place?

Usually the Zotac Zboxes are brought in by Dr_Disciple. Dunno where he's gone though. Seems like business isn't good these days.

klap_hanz

Msg tamjinhang bro to order for u the Intel Broadwell processors that u want...he can order from the authorised Intel distro in SG...

Or u can msg me n i will give u his hp no...

Fatfool

Msg tamjinhang bro to order for u the Intel Broadwell processors that u want...he can order from the authorised Intel distro in SG...

Or u can msg me n i will give u his hp no...
Cool. I'll give him a PM first.

Yes but it has its merits of the Iris pro and 65W and both Broadwell processors are actually pretty decent compared to Skylake.

You should go for 15W Skylake lah
15W is sibei song.
If I 24/7 for 365, my annual electric bill will be under SGD$40 per annual.

http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-i3-6..._n_is_free_international_shipping:10236242011
i3-6100U
USD$295

http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-i5-6..._n_is_free_international_shipping:10236242011
i5-6200U
USD$390

http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-i7-6..._n_is_free_international_shipping:10236242011
i7-6500U
USD$550

HDMI Resolution 4096x2160at24Hz
Mini DP Resolution 3840x2160at60Hz

moi going to tan gu gu for price drop to USD200 then go hoot and go buyself a 24/7 15W HTPC.

Fatfool

You should go for 15W Skylake lah
15W is sibei song.
If I 24/7 for 365, my annual electric bill will be under SGD$40 per annual.

http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-i3-6..._n_is_free_international_shipping:10236242011
i3-6100U
USD$295

http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-i5-6..._n_is_free_international_shipping:10236242011
i5-6200U
USD$390

http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-i7-6..._n_is_free_international_shipping:10236242011
i7-6500U
USD$550

HDMI Resolution 4096x2160at24Hz
Mini DP Resolution 3840x2160at60Hz

moi going to tan gu gu for price drop to USD200 then go hoot and go buyself a 24/7 15W HTPC.
It can display at 4k, 60hz but those cannot decode 4k video at 60 fps. :s22:

watzup_ken

Previously I was thinking of getting a i5 5675C, but like you mentioned, the price is a little off. Is there any reason why you are considering getting it? For some light gaming?

I am asking because if its from playing or streaming movies, even an i3 5010U will be able to do it just fine. I am running an Intel NUC with that processor and it works very well. Gaming wise, only works well with indie games or at very low settings. =:p

Fatfool

Previously I was thinking of getting a i5 5675C, but like you mentioned, the price is a little off. Is there any reason why you are considering getting it? For some light gaming?

I am asking because if its from playing or streaming movies, even an i3 5010U will be able to do it just fine. I am running an Intel NUC with that processor and it works very well. Gaming wise, only works well with indie games or at very low settings. =:p

Well, I intend to build a SFF HTPC without expansion cards. So if there can be a bit of graphics power, just in case, it'd be good. Plus the Broadwell desktop processors are pretty damn powerful (The i5-5675 performs better than an i5-6600k)
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

Playing or streaming 1080p movies are a piece of cake. Playing and streaming 4k video at 60fps is not.

Try this at 4k
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNJdPyoqt8U

and watch the Broadwell mobile choke. Tried that video with an i7-4720HQ and even that choked.

4k .mkv are also tough to decode with hardware only (ie with VLC)

So far, only my i7-4770k has managed to pass these..... It's able to play that youtube video with about 40% processor usage...... and assistance from my GTX 980. :eek:

Vlc doesn't play 4k video that smoothly.
Wmp classic home cinema plays it more smoothly for me.

royfrosty

Actually if your purpose is just to use its igpu, might as well go for apu. At a fraction of its cost. On par with the i7-6700 igpu. Just that its processing power is not there.

Just like what hwz reviewed.

Actually if your purpose is just to use its igpu, might as well go for apu. At a fraction of its cost. On par with the i7-6700 igpu. Just that its processing power is not there.

Just like what hwz reviewed.

Tong for new APU using ZEN Architecture lor.
:D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.