Building a mid-range rig for gaming, editing and 3d rendering

XzVinniezX

Ehhhhhhhhh... I have researched on the parts i wanted but i still want to confirm.

Those price were listed by many price lists from PC outlets (But i hope it's the same from you guys that have bought or saw):

CPU: I7-4770
Mobo: MSI B85-G41 PC Mate ATX LGA1150 Motherboard
[Together $500]

CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO or CM HYPER TX3 EVO
[$50]

RAM: Vengeance 12800/1600m 16GB (2x8GB)
[$230]

HDD: Western Digital Cavair Blue WD10EZEX 1TB
[$80]

Graphic Card: MSI GTX 760 TwinFrozr Gaming OC Edition
[$410]

Case: NZXT Phantom 530 White (10.5KG)
[$220]

PSU: Corsair Cx600M Bronze 80 PLUS
[$120]

CD Drive: LG 24X SATA DVD RW OEM
[$23]

Building fee: $30-$60 (I don't have any knowledge for building a PC and

Total: Almost SGD$1700 ($1633 - $1693)

I don't need a monitor, WIN 7/WIN 8 OEM CD, gaming equipment such as mice and keyboard, SSD and i'm not a fan of overclocking due to the warranty will be voided.

Don't recommend me any chassis/cases because i really felt in love with the design from Phantom 530 :p

I knew about the Intel Xeon processors, but i still afraid to choose from.. Because the i5 and i7 are more famous than Xeon.. But still please suggest me if there is some processors are better than i7 4770 (non k) and way more cheaper. XD

Someone please also suggest me a 16GB RAM which is cheaper and faster.. Obviously due to the price increases, i do not know what to choose from. :(

My originally budget suppose to be $1500 (Last time i went to chose I5 3470, GTX 660/R9 270X and a normal cheap case).. But i want the haswell technology, better graphic card for latest and up-coming PC games and the sexy case so i went to increase it. But still if someone can suggest me the cheapest and the fastest mid-range rig between $1500-$1700 that will be great. :D

/Vinnie

applebig

I think the bros here will tell u to top up a bit more for a higher end gpu, r9 280.

XzVinniezX

I think the bros here will tell u to top up a bit more for a higher end gpu, r9 280.

Waa.. That one will increase my budget about $50...

Well can you or others convince me to top up from GTX 760 to R9 280? o.0?

and then got R9 280 meh? I only saw R9 280X from all the price lists. o.o?

shadow84

Reduce ur 16gb to 8gb for nw, and the $50 diff will be solved.

760 at $400, 280x same lvl as 770 but only $50 more. So which is more value worth?

hengheng220

Waa.. That one will increase my budget about $50...

Well can you or others convince me to top up from GTX 760 to R9 280? o.0?

and then got R9 280 meh? I only saw R9 280X from all the price lists. o.o?

i think he meant 280x. with just top up of around $50 like you mentioned, you can get a higher tier gpu of performance around 770 leh. like for just $50 leh. if you want a 770 will cost around 500 liddat, you decide if it is worth it or not lo

shadow84

You can remove ur cpu cooler since u nt gonna oc. Stock will b fine.

Get the superflower hx600w psu instead of corsair. Better quality n cheaper as well.

Get 1 stick of 8gb for nw. If really need 16gb, can get at a later time...

XzVinniezX

Reduce ur 16gb to 8gb for nw, and the $50 diff will be solved.

760 at $400, 280x same lvl as 770 but only $50 more. So which is more value worth?

I want the GTX 770, but if i top up from GTX 760 to GTX 770 it will need another $100. TT_TT

Well i think i would though.. XD

shadow84

I want the GTX 770, but if i top up from GTX 760 to GTX 770 it will need another $100. TT_TT

Well i think i would though.. XD

Dun wish for your wants when there is a budget constraint... Very hard to meet. Jus reduce ur rams to 8gb and you can save $100 liao. Can channel that to gpu.

XzVinniezX

i think he meant 280x. with just top up of around $50 like you mentioned, you can get a higher tier gpu of performance around 770 leh. like for just $50 leh. if you want a 770 will cost around 500 liddat, you decide if it is worth it or not lo

I think i should change from GTX 760 to R9 280X ba.. You're right just about $50 then the performance like GTX 770... *TOOT* that GTX 770 costs another $100 xD!!

XzVinniezX

You can remove ur cpu cooler since u nt gonna oc. Stock will b fine.

Get the superflower hx600w psu instead of corsair. Better quality n cheaper as well.

Get 1 stick of 8gb for nw. If really need 16gb, can get at a later time...

In later time the RAM price increases like siao already lol. I need 16 GB RAM so i can animate my 3D stuffs and render faster also. So what i think i don't need change the RAM ba. :D

The Superflower HX600w i got consider before! But someone say Corsair better than Superflower then now you say Superflower better than Corsair.. Aww so much confusion! xD!

shadow84

In later time the RAM price increases like siao already lol. I need 16 GB RAM so i can animate my 3D stuffs and render faster also. So what i think i don't need change the RAM ba. :D

The Superflower HX600w i got consider before! But someone say Corsair better than Superflower then now you say Superflower better than Corsair.. Aww so much confusion! xD!

Lower end corsair isnt gd... Only the AX and RM series are good. Anything lower, can consider other alternatives le.

I think you shld increase ur budget 1st... NZXT phantom 530 alrdy cost $200 le...

XzVinniezX

[Together $500]

[$50]

[$230]

[$80]

Graphic Card: MSI R9 280X TwinFrozr Gaming OC Edition (WITHOUT BF4)
[$460]

[$220]

PSU: Corsair Cx600M Bronze 80 PLUS
[$120]

[$23]

Building fee: $30-$60

Total $1683 - $1743

XzVinniezX

Lower end corsair isnt gd... Only the AX and RM series are good. Anything lower, can consider other alternatives le.

I think you shld increase ur budget 1st... NZXT phantom 530 alrdy cost $200 le...

Ohh okay i think i choose the Superflower HX600W o.o

I increased my budget just for my future own good.. and yes i know the case price is expensive but i love it until i want to.. erm.. private chat?

Ehhhhh... also, your previous reply say i need to remove from 16GB to 8GB of RAM.. But i'm a student and now working for 3 months only so i have to buy everything in one shot then after 2-3 years i will either upgrade or go NS earn money and build high-end rig.

EDIT: Also i need a stable CPU cooler because i don't trust stock CPU cooler. Lol well XD also when rendering 3D animation, it will get very hot and i doubt it will last long. But mostly... I want my PC to look cool from the inside seems the case i want can look inside. XD

XzVinniezX

[Together $500]

[$50]

[$230]

[$80]

Graphic Card: MSI R9 280X TwinFrozr Gaming OC Edition (WITHOUT BF4)
[$460]

[$220]

PSU: Superflower HX-600 Gold Modular 80 PLUS
[$130]

[$23]

Building fee: $30-$60

Total $1693 - $1753

royfrosty

My recommendations.

Do not be fooled by the brand name superflower lol. Yes when i first heard the name i was thinking of cooking oil.

If your budget is at $1700 and non oc, drop the cooler. Go for ssd, it will come in handy for yoyr rendering program needs.

I dont know why you would pay $220 for that chassis. With that price i rather get the corsair 750D. But since its your personal preference i will leave it to you.

Msi b85m g43 + i7-4770 ~ $475
Gskills ripjaws 1600mhz 2x8gb kit ~ $225
WD blue 1tb ~ $87
Plextor m5s 128gb ~ $128
Msi r9 280x 3gb twin frozr gaming ~ $459 or if really need of cuda technologies then can swap out for gigabyte gtx770 2gb 3x windforce ~ $519
Superflower hx600 600w 80+ gold ~ $108
Nzxt phantom 530 ~ $219
Samsung ODD ~ $21

Total ~ $1722 for the r9 280x or $1772 for gtx770.

XzVinniezX

My recommendations.

Do not be fooled by the brand name superflower lol. Yes when i first heard the name i was thinking of cooking oil.

If your budget is at $1700 and non oc, drop the cooler. Go for ssd, it will come in handy for yoyr rendering program needs.

I dont know why you would pay $220 for that chassis. With that price i rather get the corsair 750D. But since its your personal preference i will leave it to you.

Msi b85m g43 + i7-4770 ~ $475
Gskills ripjaws 1600mhz 2x8gb kit ~ $225
WD blue 1tb ~ $87
Plextor m5s 128gb ~ $128
Msi r9 280x 3gb twin frozr gaming ~ $459 or if really need of cuda technologies then can swap out for gigabyte gtx770 2gb 3x windforce ~ $519
Superflower hx600 600w 80+ gold ~ $108
Nzxt phantom 530 ~ $219
Samsung ODD ~ $21

Total ~ $1722 for the r9 280x or $1772 for gtx770.

Ehh why choose MSI B85m G43 over MSI B85-G41 PC Mate? o.o

I don't need SSD for now but i'm going to buy after i worked on this June/December holiday which i will buy more than just 128gb space and also price will get cheaper.

EDIT: I need a stable CPU cooler. I knew that the Haswell technology is 'a bit' hotter than Ivy Bridge and i saw a lot of complaints that their stock cooler didn't cool down the CPU at all. The recorded temperature from the bad luck people who complains shows that it will always be around 90C-100C when playing PC games.

royfrosty

Ehh why choose MSI B85m G43 over MSI B85-G41 PC Mate? o.o

I don't need SSD for now but i'm going to buy after i worked on this June/December holiday which will sell more than just 128gb space and also price will get cheaper.

The front usb header is lesser. Supports just 2 usb 3.0 as per compared to the g43.

Up to you ba on the ssd. You get now also no diff since flash base memory going up on the rise.

XzVinniezX

The front usb header is lesser. Supports just 2 usb 3.0 as per compared to the g43.

Up to you ba on the ssd. You get now also no diff since flash base memory going up on the rise.

Both mobo have the same 2 usb 3.0 at the front and 2 usb 3.0 at the rear.
MSI Global ? Motherboard - B85M-G43
MSI Global ? Motherboard - B85-G41 PC Mate

But i'm thinking that i should change it to B85M-G43 because the size itself is smaller than B85-G41. o.o

Well what i mean for the SSD part is that i want to earn about.. $1000-$1500 on June/December holiday work then i can go buy SSD 256gb or 512gb. :D

EDIT from previous post: I need a stable CPU cooler. I knew that the Haswell technology is 'a bit' hotter than Ivy Bridge and i saw a lot of complaints that their stock cooler didn't cool down the CPU at all. The recorded temperature from the bad luck people who complains shows that it will always be around 90C-100C when playing PC games.

XzVinniezX

I think this is the best and going to ask the shop for discount.

Mobo: MSI B85m G43 mATX LGA1150 Motherboard
[$475]

[$50]

[$230]

[$80]

Graphic Card: MSI R9 280X TwinFrozr Gaming OC Edition
[$460]

[$220]

PSU: Superflower HX-600 Gold Modular 80 PLUS
[$110]

CD Drive: A CD Drive costs $21 (LG, Samsung, LITE ON, Whatever)
[$21]

Building fees
[$60]

-------------------------------------

Total: $1706

Budget from $1700 - $1720

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.