Building a PC - Budget $2,500

Zommeister

Hi

I'm thinking of getting a new computer at home to replace my dying laptop.

My original idea was to get the new HP Omen. I can't post a link but I'm looking at the $2,599 on HP Singapore and Harvey Norman website.

However, I would like to explore building a PC and find out what I can get with the same budget if I were to forgo the laptop.

List of games I play
Civilization VI
Dota 2
The Walking Dead Telltale Series

Thanks!

/edit
Would be good if someone could tell me how much I would spend building a PC if I were keen in specs similar to the HP Omen

Also, I'm not into aesthetics, don't need fanciful looking cases/rgb keyboards.

stormcontrol

I think you would be saving around $200 diy-ing the same spec. Do you need the i7? If you switch to i5-7600 maybe you could spring for a gtx1070?

mastersyong

TS should probably look for R5 and a 1080 with that budget. Intel's offerings, even the i7, doesn't seem that appealing now with Coffee Lake coming in the next few months.

produde1999

Similar spec wise, u probably need around 1500 to build one.

Tho to add on the cpu is definitely faster for whatever build u are going with.

Zommeister

Ya... I only spent $1200 on my build and alr consider it overkill for my own usage

Yeah that's the feedback I've been getting from some friends. The budget was set at $2,500 because I was gonna get the Omen laptop anyway. So I'm seeing if it would be feasible to build a desktop and save some cash or get better specs. Not that I really need it atm but who knows.

Will go read up on this coffee lake.

Thanks for the input.

mastersyong

CPU + MOBO : R5 1600 + Asus Prime B350 Plus - $448(Tradepac)
RAM : G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3000MHz CL15 - $235(Fuwell)
SSD : Samsung 850 evo 500GB - $259(Fuwell)
HDD : Toshiba 1TB - $58(Tradepac)
PSU : FSP Hydro G 650W - $159(PCThemes)
GPU : Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming - $849(PCThemes)
Case : Phanteks Eclipse P400 TG - $135(PCThemes)

Total : $2155

If you want to try building the computer by yourself, you can probably find better deals on each component from Lazada or Qoo10. If not, just head down to Tradepac or PCThemes and ask them to give you a quotation for this build and ask for some discounts. Can ask them to help you build the system F.O.C if you ask nicely.

This rig will last you quite a while before needing to upgrade the components. However the price can be further brought down if you do not mind upgrading the graphics card in 2 years time. In this case, change the graphics card to a MSI or Gigabyte or Palit GTX 1060(Should be able to run all those games at max).

GTX 1060 - $330

New Total : $1636

edit : If you want a better cooler than stock can look at CRYORIG H7 Quad Lumi - $99

enenyi

1070? 1080? With $2500, TS should be aiming for a 1080ti if paired with a ryzen 5 1600 if he doesn't need excessive storage. What kind of stunt are u trying to pull?

Mobo for this should go for Asus prime B350M-A,
m-atx form factor, allows TS to go for a tecware F3 elite (red/white) instead.

Extra Budget can consider 1080ti if TS needs.

PSU wise alternative can go for the EVGA 550W at same price if not getting the 1080ti, still have space to slot in some more hard disks, and room for OC. But if getting the 1080ti, can consider the 650W at $20 more.

1080ti? U sure? To match his old 21.5-inch monitor?

I'd rather he drop down to a 1060/1070 and use the cash saved to get a decent 1080p/1440p monitor to game on.

undead102

2.5k can try to push for a 1440p 144hz with 1080ti setup or increase budget for a 4k gaming setup. Maybe even can couple in a ryzen 7 liao.

joshuaho

$2500? For 1060? U sure? Read context.. that's what the advertiser is advertising.. don't anyhow pull gun ley... regardless of Budget, confirm will want to max out specs if possible right?

Spec wise he can just spend around $1.7 or so on a R5 1600 + gtx 1060, then spend around $200-$300 for a good ips 1080p/60hz, also won't hit $2500 lor

Edit: 1440p/144hz can play 4k/60fps Liao, adjust setting a bit :s22:

2.5k can try to push for a 1440p 144hz with 1080ti setup or increase budget for a 4k gaming setup. Maybe even can couple in a ryzen 7 liao.

Edit 2: ehhh how come the post disappeared? Advertiser deleted or :vijayadmin: Step in ah?

1080ti? U sure? To match his old 21.5-inch monitor?

I'd rather he drop down to a 1060/1070 and use the cash saved to get a decent 1080p/1440p monitor to game on.

enenyi

$2500? For 1060? U sure? Read context.. that's what the advertiser is advertising.. don't anyhow pull gun ley... regardless of Budget, confirm will want to max out specs if possible right?

Spec wise he can just spend around $1.7 or so on a R5 1600 + gtx 1060, then spend around $200-$300 for a good ips 1080p/60hz, also won't hit $2500 lor

Dun get u. So u trying to reply to Typhoon Systems or u trying to replying to TS?

I look at previous posts, TS only mentioned 21.5 inch monitor. So i dun see y he needs a 1080ti, unless i missed out on a specific requirement that he mentioned.

And if u replying to Typhoon Systems, do take note that Typhoon Systems is a boutique systems builder. Something like Aftershock. I'm sure u dont go up to Aftershock or HP pre-built or Alienware pre-built and ask them wad stunt they trying to pull. Somemore TS alrdy mentioned he was considering HP Omen. So trying to compare a systems integrator build with a DIY build, dont u think its a little unfair? Coz TS will be paying more for the ability to dump his own computer to Typhoon Systems instead of troubleshooting component by component if anything goes wrong.

joshuaho

Letting TS choose Lor, at least he know with that Budget what's the max specs he can aim for

Yeah followed up on a few threads and saw that it is similar to aftershock, just that finding it weird that that came to this thread so thought they were just free lance Builders. I don't see aftershock or dell coming to individual threads to promote their products right? Not as if I go to their thread to find trouble?

TS asked for a DIY build, and advise is provided from a DIY perspective, so when system integrated build is brought in, obviously from the diy's perspective is that it is not worth paying that price for parts? Don't u think it is a little unfair to DIY Builders?

Dun get u. So u trying to reply to Typhoon Systems or u trying to replying to TS?

I look at previous posts, TS only mentioned 21.5 inch monitor. So i dun see y he needs a 1080ti, unless i missed out on a specific requirement that he mentioned.

And if u replying to Typhoon Systems, do take note that Typhoon Systems is a boutique systems builder. Something like Aftershock. I'm sure u dont go up to Aftershock or HP pre-built or Alienware pre-built and ask them wad stunt they trying to pull. Somemore TS alrdy mentioned he was considering HP Omen. So trying to compare a systems integrator build with a DIY build, dont u think its a little unfair? Coz TS will be paying more for the ability to dump his own computer to Typhoon Systems instead of troubleshooting component by component if anything goes wrong.

enenyi

Letting TS choose Lor, at least he know with that Budget what's the max specs he can aim for

Yeah followed up on a few threads and saw that it is similar to aftershock, just that finding it weird that that came to this thread so thought they were just free lance Builders. I don't see aftershock or dell coming to individual threads to promote their products right? Not as if I go to their thread to find trouble?

TS asked for a DIY build, and advise is provided from a DIY perspective, so when system integrated build is brought in, obviously from the diy's perspective is that it is not worth paying that price for parts? Don't u think it is a little unfair to DIY Builders?

I noe wad u mean lah. Just that u seem to be recommending 1080ti twice. Which is y i typed wad i typed. Else i also wont reply one.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.