Building for a Friend :)

IceCreamPoop

I have this good friend that is looking to build a desktop but dont have much money. His com is like a ancient monster that is pre-built from the era of windows vista, play LoL also having trouble.

I am thinking of building a cheap cheap one and maybe subsidize abit for him since his birthday coming hahaha, furthermore now blackfriday deal still last till monday so hopefully can get it asap.

Current considerations:

i3 + respective mobo
750ti -->http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00KHUE0MC
1tb wd blue hdd
cheap case
cheap ram 8gb
OS (reddit)
reusing his monitor kb and mouse

please recommend for the above components or other stuff if its better. His games is really mainly LoL but his currently com can barely hit 20fps and will dip in fights which is horrendous. Please list out anything i might have missed as well cus i might have forgotten some stuff.

herman1314

psu and graphics card isn't listed. psu can get fsp hexa 450-550w if on budget, but recommend you get seasonic s12ii 520w. graphics card depends on his budget and games he wanna play at the settings he wants

herman1314

oops, didn't see the graphics card amazon link be4, you only need a psu then. case if really want to skimp, cashtronic has some crappy m-atx case for $24, otherwise coolermaster elite usually at $50-60. ram just get the cheapest 8gb stick you can find.

MoneyFace =p

I have this good friend that is looking to build a desktop but dont have much money. His com is like a ancient monster that is pre-built from the era of windows vista, play LoL also having trouble.

I am thinking of building a cheap cheap one and maybe subsidize abit for him since his birthday coming hahaha, furthermore now blackfriday deal still last till monday so hopefully can get it asap.

Current considerations:

i3 + respective mobo
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00KHUE0MC
1tb wd blue hdd
cheap case
cheap ram 8gb
OS (reddit)

please recommend for the above components or other stuff if its better. His games is really mainly LoL but his currently com can barely hit 20fps and will dip in fights which is horrendous. Please list out anything i might have missed as well cus i might have forgotten some stuff.
Zotac US got warranty meh?

monikernemo

Ram from amazon bah if you get GPU so can get free shipping. 30 USD one stick iirc

Case from Lazada? Some Armageddon Microtron T2X looks stylish and really cheap. 49? Haven't include shopback+discount codes

Sent from a mere cat using GAGT

MoneyFace =p

Here's something to consider:

CPU+MB: Intel Core i3-4160 + ASRock H81M-HDS R2.0 @ $237
RAM+GPU: Kingston ValueRAM DDR3-1600 CL11 8GB + Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB @ $198 (Amazon US)
HDD: Western Digital Blue 1TB @ $77
PSU: FSP300-50HMN 300W @ $30 (t258jgn)
CASE: Armaggeddon Microtron T2X @ $40 (Leapfrog Global)

Total: $582

Buy others from PC Themes, #04-15.

All Amazon US prices after estimated local bank conversion rate at SGD1.485 and inclusive of free shipping.
Buy Amazon $50 Gift Card get free $10 with 1215GCARDS promo code to save even further!
http://www.amazon.com/b?node=11158618011

IceCreamPoop

Zotac US got warranty meh?

not sure leh actually...but at 100bucks i think i will just get and slap it in lor, if spoil i can just return to amazon within 30 days or just send it back to MURICA for RMA.

Ram from amazon bah if you get GPU so can get free shipping. 30 USD one stick iirc

Case from Lazada? Some Armageddon Microtron T2X looks stylish and really cheap. 49? Haven't include shopback+discount codes

Sent from a mere cat using GAGT

Oh yea...idea sia i probably getting from amazon then haha, case maybe i just get from SLS bah cus i need them to help me set up after all. I dont dare help my friend set up cus responsibility too high XD

The 950 like too ex for our budget leh which is 700~800 max. I plan to chip in about 100+ lor as birthday gift. I think 750ti should be more than enough for his LoL and anime watching. Plus the monitor he using idk if its even 1080p hahahaah

IceCreamPoop

Here's something to consider:

CPU+MB: Intel Core i3-4160 + ASRock H81M-HDS R2.0 @ $237
RAM+GPU: Kingston ValueRAM DDR3-1600 CL11 8GB + Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB @ $198 (Amazon US)
HDD: Western Digital Blue 1TB @ $77
PSU: FSP300-50HMN 300W @ $30 (t258jgn)
CASE: Armaggeddon Microtron T2X @ $40 (Leapfrog Global)

Total: $582

Buy others from PC Themes, #04-15.

All Amazon US prices after estimated local bank conversion rate at SGD1.485 and inclusive of free shipping.
Buy Amazon $50 Gift Card get free $10 with 1215GCARDS promo code to save even further!
http://www.amazon.com/b?node=11158618011

Waaa nice lah LuiBin shushu! Just one question though, can consider getting 450~500w for this system? So next time if upgrade to 960 no problem also :D how much more will the psu cost ah if liddat? Btw how to use the promo code?

MoneyFace =p

Waaa nice lah LuiBin shushu! Just one question though, can consider getting 450~500w for this system? So next time if upgrade to 960 no problem also :D how much more will the psu cost ah if liddat? Btw how to use the promo code?
A 550W will cost $69... Upgrade if you think worth it for future graphics card upgrade...

Buy $50 GC using the code at checkout and wait for $10 free GC to come lor. Read some say need to raise to CSO for it.

IceCreamPoop

Just a quick question before i wrap things up (until i have other stuff to ask that is :p) how come the stuff from amazon no free shipping as an option?

The two items i have in my cart cart are:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0089JIDLC?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=ox_sc_act_title_1&smid=A5C7I211CAD5J
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00KHUE0MC?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=ox_sc_act_title_2&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

both are eligible for free shipping but it is not shown as an option leh when i try to check out :(

Buy $50 GC using the code at checkout and wait for $10 free GC to come lor. Read some say need to raise to CSO for it.

ohh thanks $$! :)

MoneyFace =p

Just a quick question before i wrap things up (until i have other stuff to ask that is :p) how come the stuff from amazon no free shipping as an option?

The two items i have in my cart cart are:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0089JIDLC?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=ox_sc_act_title_1&smid=A5C7I211CAD5J
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00KHUE0MC?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=ox_sc_act_title_2&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

both are eligible for free shipping but it is not shown as an option leh when i try to check out :(

ohh thanks $$! :)
Get the normal height one, cos that one not sold by Amazon...

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0099U25IW/ref=pd_luc_rh_mrairec_01_03_t_img_lh?ie=UTF8&psc=1

IceCreamPoop

Hey Money bro i just got the ram u mentioned and the 750ti just now from Amazon, now just have to play the waiting game. Total cost was 122.98 usd after the $10 extra from GC.

Just another question though :s13::s13::s13:

So for a 450w~500w PSU what exact model would you recommend? FSP or Super Flower?
And casing got anything smaller but at similar price point/quality?o.o Just checked with my bruhhh and he needed to put this under desk so would be nice to have something a little smaller. If dont have also nvm cus the current one fits but just that its just nice.

Btw would like to say thanks for all the help man this makes it twice i got help from bros in this forum liao.....i damn touched T.T

Bollum

Current considerations:

i3 + respective mobo
750ti -->http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00KHUE0MC
1tb wd blue hdd
cheap case
cheap ram 8gb
OS (reddit)

That's awfully nice of you :)

Edit :

IceCreamPoop

That's awfully nice of you :)

Edit :

well i mean...he did get me a wallet 2 years back which i am still using now.....and i have never gotten him anything XD i guess subsidizing and building it for him would be a nice way to celebrate his birthday without breaking a hole in my wallet.

plus i get to work on a pc now muahahahaha :D

MoneyFace =p

Hey Money bro i just got the ram u mentioned and the 750ti just now from Amazon, now just have to play the waiting game. Total cost was 122.98 usd after the $10 extra from GC.

Just another question though :s13::s13::s13:

So for a 450w~500w PSU what exact model would you recommend? FSP or Super Flower?
And casing got anything smaller but at similar price point/quality?o.o Just checked with my bruhhh and he needed to put this under desk so would be nice to have something a little smaller. If dont have also nvm cus the current one fits but just that its just nice.

Btw would like to say thanks for all the help man this makes it twice i got help from bros in this forum liao.....i damn touched T.T
FSP will be fine for him.. Super Flower is higher end...

How about Cooler Master N200? Get from Video Pro Online at just $52
Since delivery charges at $10 for under $100 order, consider buying the 1TB HDD from them too to get free shipping.

IceCreamPoop

FSP will be fine for him.. Super Flower is higher end...

How about Cooler Master N200? Get from Video Pro Online at just $52
Since delivery charges at $10 for under $100 order, consider buying the 1TB HDD from them too to get free shipping.

The case seems to be a mATX, any tips on how to install stuff in this? Or can ask PC Themes help me install when i go buy other stuff from them foc?

cus liddat only left Mobo, CPU and PSU that i getting from them and idk if them will so good heart help anot :/

MoneyFace =p

The case seems to be a mATX, any tips on how to install stuff in this? Or can ask PC Themes help me install when i go buy other stuff from them foc?

cus liddat only left Mobo, CPU and PSU that i getting from them and idk if them will so good heart help anot :/
T2X chassis also mATX mah... These 2 chassis have similar standard layout so you do not need to worry over installation, simply have 3 slots lesser than regular mid ATX tower.

CPU+MB combo just get from PC Themes lor and pay them to assemble for you. Even if you buy everything there also must pay for assembly..

IceCreamPoop

T2X chassis also mATX mah... These 2 chassis have similar standard layout so you do not need to worry over installation, simply have 3 slots lesser than regular mid ATX tower.

CPU+MB combo just get from PC Themes lor and pay them to assemble for you. Even if you buy everything there also must pay for assembly..

no lah just worried cus need get the right mobo liao liddat, quite stressed will get wrong by accident hahaha. So no more yi long korkor charm? ;_;

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.