Building gaming pc

gamefreak84

Hi everyone!

Need some inputs from u guys for building a gaming pc.
I will be buying the Acer predator xb271hu monitor in dec so I'm gonna be building a rig that can support it. My Budget for the rig will be around 2.5k.
So need help from u guys out there for the components.
Oh and I don't think I will be doing oc.
And I have a separated budget for other peripherals.

Motherboard + Intel Chip
Asus Z170 Pro Gaming + i6600 is this ok?
RAM G.Skill Ripjaws V series/trident (8GB x2)
Graphics Card (1070) ASUS GTX 1070 8GB strix?
Graphics Card (1080) ASUS GTX 1080 8GB strix?
SSD Samsung 950 Pro M2 256GB
Hard Disk Western Digital Black 2TB
Power Supply preferred EVGA but not sure how many watts tho
Cooling system Not sure?? prefer premium air cooler
Casing NZXT H440 or CM master case 5??
Windows OS Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit

Is this kind of setup ok?
Please help me :)
Thanks for replying in advance!!
Forgot to mention mostly for playing aaa games lor like bf1,witcher 3, tomb raider.

timpeh82

Hi everyone!

Need some inputs from u guys for building a gaming pc.
I will be buying the Acer predator xb271hu monitor in dec so I'm gonna be building a rig that can support it. My Budget for the rig will be around 2.5k.
So need help from u guys out there for the components.
Oh and I don't think I will be doing oc.
And I have a separated budget for other peripherals.

Motherboard + Intel Chip
Asus Z170 Pro Gaming + i6600 is this ok?
RAM G.Skill Ripjaws V series/trident (8GB x2)
Graphics Card (1070) ASUS GTX 1070 8GB strix?
Graphics Card (1080) ASUS GTX 1080 8GB strix?
SSD Samsung 950 Pro M2 256GB
Hard Disk Western Digital Black 2TB
Power Supply preferred EVGA but not sure how many watts tho
Cooling system Not sure?? prefer premium air cooler
Casing NZXT H440 or CM master case 5??
Windows OS Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit

Is this kind of setup ok?
Please help me :)
Thanks for replying in advance!!
no need Z170 mobo if not doing OC
16gb ram is enough for now
if use acer xb271hu, I suggest getting GTX 1080 to make full use of 165hz
PSU, 600 to 650W should be just nice
air cooler cannot beat water cooling
window OS can get from carousell, window 10 Pro at only $20
The rest wait for more pros to reply :)

MianBaoFren

i think if u dun intend to do sli/oc, pls forget about the z170.
but if u die die want the m.2 ssd, get the h170.
here's a mobo guide to help u.
https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/Z170-H170-H110-B170-Q150-Q170---What-is-the-Difference-635/

for gpu, a 1070 is fine. preferably, a 1080 if u can manage.
but i prefer zotac for the 5 year warranty and palit for the price.
haven't taken a good look at what each brand is offering though.

heard good things about superflower so u can try that.

i dun even think u need extra cpu cooler if u not overclocking. i let the experts decide.

get ur os from reddit @ microsoft software swap. it's cheaper.

on a serious note, at that budget, u can consider overclocking.

ZrE0_Cha0s

but what games are u playing?
really need that high end?

mobo+ chip:

1) anyway since u gotten a z170 series board maybe can consider getting a k series as well, else can consider getting a H170 board with i5 6500 for your gaming setup.

2) next are u going to SLI in the future?

Ram: if u did end up getting a h170 board, just get a valueram 2133Mhz.

GPU: just take GTX 1080 since ur budget is that high.

PSU: for this build u can consider SF Ledex 650W gold

CPU cooler: can consider Cryorig H5/H7 but if intend to get k series can go for Cryorig R1 or noctuna D15.

case: your preference, since we won't know what u want from the case.

overall the setup is good for high/ultra settings but im not sure if the setup u comes with is already 2.5k or more.

gamefreak84

thanks for the input!
Wahh didn't know can get the OS that cheap sia!

I don't think i will be doing sli.. I actually very noob so that's why need help from u guys..
Why high end aar?? So can match the monitor?? ��

MoneyFace =p

Hold on your horses. Next year CNY will have brand new CPU platforms from both Intel and AMD and maybe AMD high end Vega GPUs for you to choose from....

gamefreak84

i think if u dun intend to do sli/oc, pls forget about the z170.
but if u die die want the m.2 ssd, get the h170.
here's a mobo guide to help u

for gpu, a 1070 is fine. preferably, a 1080 if u can manage.
but i prefer zotac for the 5 year warranty and palit for the price.
haven't taken a good look at what each brand is offering though.

heard good things about superflower so u can try that.

i dun even think u need extra cpu cooler if u not overclocking. i let the experts decide.

get ur os from reddit @ microsoft software swap. it's cheaper.

on a serious note, at that budget, u can consider overclocking.

Thanks for the input bro.

Hmm ok mayb I can consider overclocking then.
Superflower? Nvr heard of it leh I go Google later.
So 650 watt shud be enough right?
And thanks for the link!
I only tried msi for the gpu leh not sure bout other brands but I will take a look the gpu that u mention.

gamefreak84

Hold on your horses. Next year CNY will have brand new CPU platforms from both Intel and AMD and maybe AMD high end Vega GPUs for you to choose from....

Alamak bro.. u meant the kabylake and zen thingy?? I don't think I will go for that le.. too extreme I think..

gamefreak84

but what games are u playing?
really need that high end?

mobo+ chip:

1) anyway since u gotten a z170 series board maybe can consider getting a k series as well, else can consider getting a H170 board with i5 6500 for your gaming setup.

2) next are u going to SLI in the future?

Ram: if u did end up getting a h170 board, just get a valueram 2133Mhz.

GPU: just take GTX 1080 since ur budget is that high.

PSU: for this build u can consider SF Ledex 650W gold

CPU cooler: can consider Cryorig H5/H7 but if intend to get k series can go for Cryorig R1 or noctuna D15.

case: your preference, since we won't know what u want from the case.

overall the setup is good for high/ultra settings but im not sure if the setup u comes with is already 2.5k or more.

Hi bro, just wanna know if i5 6500k enough for aaa games?
Ok just saw there's no i5 6500k lol... feeling a bit retarded right now
Btw I saw that mostly the price u guys get from sls is from pc themes right? Any idea where I can get their updated list since their list in here is outdated

gamefreak84

cpu/mobo - i5 6600k/asus z170 pro gaming - 629 if u guys can recommend other mobo for oc that will be nice
ram - gskills ripjaws v 2400 mhz cl15 - 142 like this can right? No need higher mhz?
gpu - will think later.. i saw the 1080 price is insane :( mayb will get 1070
psu - sf leadex 650w gold f.mod - 159
ssd - Samsung 950 pro m.2 256gb NVMe ssd - 305
hdd - wd 2tb black 64mb sata3 - 182
cpu cooler - noctua nh d15 - ???
casing - anyone here using the noctua air coolers knows what casing can fit this cooler?

so far total cost is 1417 without cooler,casing and gpu.
All price I got from pc themes

let me know if this setup is overkill for aaa games. Any feedback will be great guys
btw how many years u guys think this setup can tahan? :s22:

qwerty_111

cpu/mobo - i5 6600k/asus z170 pro gaming - 629 if u guys can recommend other mobo for oc that will be nice
ram - gskills ripjaws v 2400 mhz cl15 - 142 like this can right? No need higher mhz?
gpu - will think later.. i saw the 1080 price is insane :( mayb will get 1070
psu - sf leadex 650w gold f.mod - 159
ssd - Samsung 950 pro m.2 256gb NVMe ssd - 305
hdd - wd 2tb black 64mb sata3 - 182
cpu cooler - noctua nh d15 - ???
casing - anyone here using the noctua air coolers knows what casing can fit this cooler?

so far total cost is 1417 without cooler,casing and gpu.
All price I got from pc themes

let me know if this setup is overkill for aaa games. Any feedback will be great guys
btw how many years u guys think this setup can tahan? :s22:

- that asus motherboard is a good motherboard
- it can support 3400mhz memory. why not get high frequency memory?
- nvidia 1080 graphics card cost ~$1k. so expensive.
- psu up to u. if u intend to get nvidia 1080 i suggest u get higher wattage psu.
- noctua air cooler not good enough for overclocking. most pple get liquid cooler.
- casing up to u.

lalalalalala

If u dont oc just get i5 6500 and a H150 board. The money saved can pump to gtx 1080 which would be great to drive ur monitor.

Ram more or less the same. The freq and timings cancel each other off. Recommend 16gb for bf1

If oc then 6600k with asus z170 is fine. Cooler wise noctua is abit ex. Cheapo very will be cm 212x or if spend more can get a deepcool or other brand dual tower cooler. If want to do high oc then get water cooler like corsair h100i

Sent from OnePlus A0001 using GAGT

-Synchronicity-

- noctua air cooler not good enough for overclocking. most pple get liquid cooler.

Not always true - http://www.relaxedtech.com/reviews/noctua/nh-d15-versus-closed-loop-liquid-coolers/2

The nh-d15 is on par with h100i and loses to krakenx61 at 4 degrees. Furthermore the noise/performance ratio is the best(no noisy water pumps). Not to forget the probability of water leakage.

The main reason why people get aio is -

1. Size constraints - good air cooleers are huge
2. aesthetics
3. The really premium aios(280mm rad, cryorig a80, etc) really cools better not the sub $150s aio

Krabs.

reply to above few posts ...

overpriced ram , get from amazon (other brand that qualify for free shipping other than Gskill) can save you $30

no , as I last checked in march 2016 , that specific motherboard still limited to 2500mhz and lower due to bios
there is a long thread at corsair ram forum complaining how asus north america washed their responsibility off .... box write compatible over 3000mhz but cannot run it

air cooler lose slightly to those 240mm AIO because noctua/phanteks using slower fan
if the fans are higher speed as these 2k++ rpm fans on AIO ... their temps would be about the same and air cooling lower noise due to bigger spacing between fins compared to AIO radiator
the main negative point about big dual tower 1kg air cooler , is the computer casing as a whole need to be handled carefully , cannot drop or put vertically in car go over hump , the 1kg cantilever load on shock can break apart

change to lower end SSD ... samsung 850 evo ... it's under $139 after you stack coupon discount
you don't need to whack $300 on that 250gb ssd

change to cheaper harddisk
brand choose yourself
just FYI WD black 2tb at $184 is $100 higher than the cheapest 2tb hdd ..... my personal opinion that price difference is excessive .... paying double also won't guarantee your WD black is immune to breakdown

give up overclocking ..... use the funds saved from cooler and motherboard to get 1080

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.