Buying Condo advice

Sinkie

if u r buying for investment, u should consider more on resale where u can earn the rental immediately if u can rent it out.

for buc, u need to wait till completion which will be years later.

something to consider.

i am also comtemplating buying hdb resale, but seems like hdb resale price has peaked and buying now is like get stucked..

Sinkie

Like that also can?
Haha, you buying condo or HDB resale? :s22:

actually i also dont know.. next year i can hoot hdb resale as forever alone, but i am also ok to hoot a 3bedder for investment but would get myself got drown in debt.. thats why reading around to look for advice.

Kokky83

actually i also dont know.. next year i can hoot hdb resale as forever alone, but i am also ok to hoot a 3bedder for investment but would get myself got drown in debt.. thats why reading around to look for advice.

Ec owner must wait 30mths before he can get another new ec/bto? If so 30mths before TOP or oni 30mths after selling then can apply for new ec/bto?

Sinkie

Ec owner must wait 30mths before he can get another new ec/bto? If so 30mths before TOP or oni 30mths after selling then can apply for new ec/bto?

I think must own the ec for 10 years then can considered ec as pte

If u have a bto, u won't be able to own a second Hdb or bto

Gamma~

Though irrelevant to TS's question but it's kind of related so i just ask here.

We know that buyers don't need to pay their agents for private property transactions as sellers' agents/developers will pay them. What happens if the buyer manage to find a seller without going through his agent and nego with the seller's agent directly? Does the seller's agent "pay" the buyer instead? Or die die must bring the buyer's agent in and let him have a free piece of cake?

grix17

Though irrelevant to TS's question but it's kind of related so i just ask here.

We know that buyers don't need to pay their agents for private property transactions as sellers' agents/developers will pay them. What happens if the buyer manage to find a seller without going through his agent and nego with the seller's agent directly? Does the seller's agent "pay" the buyer instead? Or die die must bring the buyer's agent in and let him have a free piece of cake?

Similar to your question, what about property agents making such purchases? Can they be their own agent?

kyteo79

I'm about 30. Looking to sell about 35-38. If need be, I can hold longer. I do know about being eligible to buy HDB at 35, but that's pretty far away and I have no doubt I can afford it whether I buy private property or not... Just whether I wanna dispose of the private property. Currently staying with parents so it's not a concern to move or not. Thank for replying.

Would you recommend I buy a HDB instead if I'm 35 now?

Dun waste time...

I used to think of getting a resale HDB when 35 so wait and wait and wait ...
now 37 .. end of the day get private ... why ?

Dun waste time and opportunity loss. Dun troublesome.

Can afford go private ... and rent out ...

HDB ? u need to see his face or her face ... then later u need to see who your tenants face ... pay and pay and pay your taxes also dunno go for what causes.

private u pay more but u get what u need and also fast ..

kyteo79

i am also comtemplating buying hdb resale, but seems like hdb resale price has peaked and buying now is like get stucked..

Think again boss ...

there is nothing call peaked cos there is always another peak with the white shirts and pants around ... see the coe ... later u see the property price.

What is the issue is the supply and demand ... supplies is so much ... demand ?
u answer yourself lah ...

so many new flats so the old one how ? There will not be issues till 5 years later ... the new flat will command a very high price... then the current old ones.

if you want to buy resale now... consider the age and location and price discount against the peak period bah...

I give up resale hdb and top up more to get a resale EC (private since over 10 years).

Unless you wana go for a excutive HDB for the floor space!

kyteo79

i am 37 and took the debt route.

HDB resale i can pay 50% based on what i have now assuming 700-800k for HDB. However do not make sense at all... or hot location ie. clementi 1979 1700sqft adjorned unit asking 1.1m

so 7 -10 years later who got money (or i stand correct - my potential buyers) to buy from me ? a 40-50 year old HDB flat ?

So went for a good property of about 12-1300 sqft at 1m. When people are scared you need to access the situation proper and chiong. if all people buy i stop... My purchase is really a good steal at close to 20% discount from peak.

What i wasted is 5 years since 33 year old i was thinking and thinking ... but okie lah cos i almost enter the market at the peak ....

New developments sure make money is see the holding power...

for me is to hedge against future so i dun really care if i can rent out or not...

deodorant

Guys & gals, wanna ask, private resale how does the valuation work?

For HDB, as we know, after seller issue OTP then only buyer can request valuation report, and any above/below the agreed sales price will be Cash Over/Under Valuation.

For private, is there such concept as valuation report also? Or will the bank generally grant you 80%?

SBC

Call bank mortgage to provide an indicative valuation price.
Can cross reference on SRX too.

LTV - depends on your profile and if property is your first one.

MoreGoodEars

thats why i skip the bankers.

they always come up with too much crap. this cannot, that see how, those maybe..

i just ask the other party. i dont care what the paper says, whats your best offer. take it leave it.

but i agreed with someone above mention, just go straight in and buy when you see what you like, dont waste anymore time. by that time comes, you will regret you didn take action when you should have and end up regretting you missed a Half Million Free Boat Ride ..like the people in front me when they had the chance :)

hyman

Thank for all the sharing. Just wondering how you guys pick which property is worthy of at least a deeper look leading up to an investment?

I look at price psf and location. As most condo are not built when one buys it, for the quality I look at developer record. I also look at the rent one is able to get around that area. Anything else I should take particular note in?

Commonwealth tower seems interesting despite it's shoebox size. Any opinion?

Bro, bought your dream home? :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.