Buying laptop from Amazon?

serverxeon

Check whether the keyboard is correct.

Later you end up buying overseas keyboard layout very headache one.

serverxeon

Charger nowadays most laptop support usbc charger. Get your own 65W usbc charger from Lazada lor

Nakedtoes

Go amazon Facebook and see their reviews.. I can tell you amazon is no more the amazon 2 years ago. I kana many times shipped me wrong items, kana scam by them said refunded but bank didn't recieve etc.. Since Feb until now.. Ding dong bank n amazon.. No different from those scam syndicate..

cosmothecat

Laptops bought from USA shopping sites comes with USA warranty only

That is a risk you have to take. Hope that QC is good and can last longer than 1 year

I imported one from USA, used for 3 years already. Back then, if I bought the same laptop in Singapore, it would have been S$2800 but buying from USA, all costs included only came out to be S$1500

Yes, clearance prices in USA are really cheap

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/anyone-used-vpostusa-before.7147588/#post-156955440

cosmothecat

Lazada selling at 3.1k.
Amazon 2.5k
S$600 savings, I will not risk it

I imported mine from USA due to S$1300 nett savings, that was significant enough to justify the risks

Also, prices quoted on Lazada already included GST (if applicable). Prices quoted on Amazon USA does not include GST yet. You need to calculate the shipping cost and GST, will these 2 costs eat away the $600 savings.

kyang69

What's wrong with buying from Courts, HN or BD??
If not wait a while for The Tech Show, coming at of October 2025.

Buy online then later got problem very sian one.

cosmothecat

What's wrong with buying from Courts, HN or BD??
If not wait a while for The Tech Show, coming at of October 2025.

Buy online then later got problem very sian one.
Laptop prices very expensive in Singapore

There is this weird pricing pattern:

During the transition of a laptop model from say 2024 model to 2025 model, in USA, their shopping sites will slash prices very deeply for 2024 model to clear stocks.

However, in Singapore, the 2024 model will continue to be selling at recommended retail price whole of 2025 and maybe start to reduce a bit in price in 2026.

It is such clearance sale that are worth importing from USA.

jeffrey745

Safe to buy laptop from Amazon US?
Yes pretty safe. 2 of my asus laptops bought from Amazon USA. 1 of them going for almost 10 years liao and still working well. i jus bought a travel adapter to use their charger?

tshace

Laptops bought from USA shopping sites comes with USA warranty only

That is a risk you have to take. Hope that QC is good and can last longer than 1 year

I imported one from USA, used for 3 years already. Back then, if I bought the same laptop in Singapore, it would have been S$2800 but buying from USA, all costs included only came out to be S$1500

Yes, clearance prices in USA are really cheap

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/anyone-used-vpostusa-before.7147588/#post-156955440
Can the charger be used here?
US voltage is 110V, ours 220V

the_dog

Bought 3 laptops from Amazon US before. Only one time got a problem with the seller sending me a different model from what I ordered, and I had to pay first for shipping it back, and it wasn't cheap, but luckily Amazon refunded the purchase price and shipping fee after they received the item. Took a few weeks to settle.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.