Buying MOBO+ CPU from TradePac

FlushX

Hi all,

I know that this question might have been asked before, but I can't seem to find the relevant thread.

I intend to purchase CPU+MOBO bundle only. Wonder if the listed price stands or is top up necessary?

Thanks in advance for the clarification.

royfrosty

Hi all,

I know that this question might have been asked before, but I can't seem to find the relevant thread.

I intend to purchase CPU+MOBO bundle only. Wonder if the listed price stands or is top up necessary?

Thanks in advance for the clarification.

It does not stands. A top up is needed. But of cause theres room to bargain.

The top up can range from $18-$70 depending on the bundle mobo. Usually the high end ones will be a lot more in topping up.

FlushX

The top up can range from $18-$70 depending on the bundle mobo. Usually the high end ones will be a lot more in topping up.

If so, need to take the ala carte pricing from mynextcom when doing cost calculation. Sigh

eddief4

They will mark but even with the markup, it's still the cheapest in all SLS.

I bought my I5 4690 + Asus H97 pro gamer from them and they marked it up to 491 different from price list.

Never bargain because shop was way too busy.

My advice is to go on a day when not busy like weekday so can take your time to bargain. Go on saturday confirm lots of customers.

eddief4

If so, need to take the ala carte pricing from mynextcom when doing cost calculation. Sigh

I find mynextcom is only cheap for their casing+PSU combo.
MB+CPU wise, they're by far one of the more expensive ones.

royfrosty

Just take PC themes pricing. They are better in terms of pricing for mobo and cpu to compare with tradepac in order to guage the pricing.

avsquare

Actually do you have an idea how they even calculate price for mobo/CPU for non full PC purchases?

I've recently bought Z97A-USB 3.1 mobo from them, the price list says mobo $308 but I haggled to $282. :s22:

FlushX

They will mark but even with the markup, it's still the cheapest in all SLS.

I bought my I5 4690 + Asus H97 pro gamer from them and they marked it up to 491 different from price list.

Never bargain because shop was way too busy.

My advice is to go on a day when not busy like weekday so can take your time to bargain. Go on saturday confirm lots of customers.

That's almost $40 difference! Ouchhhh

koroshiya8

I think I wols but always tot mb and CPU can buy as a bundle in itself. Why must buy full PC then have the pricing ? And if this is so then what is the definition.of.full.pc. must include GPU, casing, KB etc ?

royfrosty

I think I wols but always tot mb and CPU can buy as a bundle in itself. Why must buy full PC then have the pricing ? And if this is so then what is the definition.of.full.pc. must include GPU, casing, KB etc ?

Full pc. So long as 1 or 2 items not there still can close 1 eye.

eddief4

That's almost $40 difference! Ouchhhh

Haha, I'm sure if I haggle can get lower but most shops charge around 500 for my combo and I wanted to get out of there fast due to the weather so just take it loh :s13:

Saved enough on ram and windows OS anyway :s13:

royfrosty

Actually do you have an idea how they even calculate price for mobo/CPU for non full PC purchases?

I've recently bought Z97A-USB 3.1 mobo from them, the price list says mobo $308 but I haggled to $282. :s22:

Got target range.

For most Entry Level boards such as H81 boards the price varies from $18-$25 additional.

For Beginner Level boards such as B85 boards the price varies from $18 for non gaming aesthetic boards, and $35 for gaming aesthetic boards.

For Intermediate boards such as H97 boards the price varies from $30 for a gaming aesthetic boards and $40 for gaming aesthetic boards.

For Semi Advanced boards such as Z97 non SLI capable boards the price varies from $30-$40.

For Advanced boards such as Z97 with SLI capable boards the price varies from $40-$70. $40 for brands like MSI, Gigabyte and ASRock. Asus will commence a staggering $70 additional for their "so call atas" boards that is at $400-$600 price board.

All this were based on my past experience till now. And each time i go there to buy things, i will take notice and also jot it down.

ArcticCheetah

tradepac otaku spotted
Got target range.

For most Entry Level boards such as H81 boards the price varies from $18-$25 additional.

For Beginner Level boards such as B85 boards the price varies from $18 for non gaming aesthetic boards, and $35 for gaming aesthetic boards.

For Intermediate boards such as H97 boards the price varies from $30 for a gaming aesthetic boards and $40 for gaming aesthetic boards.

For Semi Advanced boards such as Z97 non SLI capable boards the price varies from $30-$40.

For Advanced boards such as Z97 with SLI capable boards the price varies from $40-$70. $40 for brands like MSI, Gigabyte and ASRock. Asus will commence a staggering $70 additional for their "so call atas" boards that is at $400-$600 price board.

All this were based on my past experience till now. And each time i go there to buy things, i will take notice and also jot it down.

trento

Go PC themes get quote. Then go Tradepac get another quote. Take the cheaper one. Pricelist doesn't matter when you do it this way.

FlushX

Go PC themes get quote. Then go Tradepac get another quote. Take the cheaper one. Pricelist doesn't matter when you do it this way.

This method very satki. But time consuming

theReas

my experience couple of weeks back only, i went down to purchase 4690k,

went to a few shop including tradepac, tradepac actually offered me the highest price wor.

can go try one shop that just directly opposite this razer shop, sorry i cant remember whats the shop name, the razer shop outside got display a few razer keyboard and mouse de.

that shop straight away gave me the cheapest price liao.

FlushX

went to a few shop including tradepac, tradepac actually offered me the highest price wor.

can go try one shop that just directly opposite this razer shop, sorry i cant remember whats the shop name, the razer shop outside got display a few razer keyboard and mouse de.

Can share how much is it?

royfrosty

Buying standalone CPU? That for sure high price. Cause they dont wanna sell CPU standalone. Neither do they wanna sell board alone.

theReas

Can share how much is it?

i got quoted 380 by tradepac, then i negotiate with the guy there for like 20 mins, lowest can go still like 360.

i sian liao, i walk away then chance upon that shop, so i went in to check on monitor first, after the price is good i also ask him on the cpu chip set loh.

turns out he immediately gave me 350 which of course i dont want waste any more time to bargain liao.

:o

avsquare

Got target range.

Okay, that's interesting, but then how come I buy mobo only I actually get it cheaper than listed instead of tio marked up?

Or they mobo bo chup?

Cos if I go by your tips:

Asus Z97A-USB3.1 + i7-4790K combo = $689

i7-4790K processor only = $476

I bought the Z97A-USB3.1 mobo @ $282

$282+$476 = $758

That is exactly $70 mark up for Asus boards.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.