Bye bye Windows

eggie011

Welcome to the dark side! I used Linux for my work. Creating documents and writing scripts.

When I do presentation to clients and they saw my Linux desktop, they were quite impressed, haha.

Windows was only used for playing Diablo.

Nuclear Boy

so many versions of linux, jin confusing... :frown:
Just starting out and want to feel like you're still on Windows: Linux Mint <-- Try this first (or Zorin OS)

Want stability at all cost: Debian (or Fedora - for more frequent up-to-date version updates)

Want to be on the cutting-edge: Arch Linux (and its associated distro; I'm on EndeavourOS)
(There's also CachyOS for the system optimisations, also Arch-based; many gamers are moving to this)

AngelRomeo

Have not been using my ROG laptop (Windows 10) for months as everytime when the machine starts up, it will then start doing all the software update nonsense.

And by the time it finished, the machine also felt quite laggy until me no mood to use liao.

So finally decided to remove Windows from the laptop and install Zorin OS.

Wah not bad...it's so much smoother and easy to use. Tried Steam also no issue.

Microsoft can go eat sh*t!!
Mac OS better

stanlawj

Have not been using my ROG laptop (Windows 10) for months as everytime when the machine starts up, it will then start doing all the software update nonsense.

And by the time it finished, the machine also felt quite laggy until me no mood to use liao.

Windows 10?
I thought this OS is dead.

cosmothecat

Indeed.

Mac OS > Zorin OS > Windows.
Yes, if your MacBook / Mac Mini is relatively new and able to run the latest version of MacOS, then it is actually a better computer

But for people with really old Macs that are not able to run the latest version of MacOS, then no choice but to install Linux in order to extend the useful life of the computer. Older MacOS does not support latest version of modern web browsers.

firestyle

Yes, if your MacBook / Mac Mini is relatively new and able to run the latest version of MacOS, then it is actually a better computer

But for people with really old Macs that are not able to run the latest version of MacOS, then no choice but to install Linux in order to extend the useful life of the computer. Older MacOS does not support latest version of modern web browsers.
Personally I find the GUI for MacOS better than Zorin - e.g. moving windows around etc.

Thus it really depends on your use case.

If my old Mac with the older version of OSX is good enough for my daily needs (and not needing the latest version), then I will likely stay put with OSX.

leonaheidern

dual boot lo.

but ya seriously now i do stuff from my Android to a raspberry pi

windows laptop is there just for a bigger screen

luffix7

ohh full review can on Zorin OS, nv heard b4 sia

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.