Calvin Cheng's Polling Day Post

LAMtopia

Link: http://johnislam.blogspot.sg/2015/09/on-calvin-chengs-polling-day-post.html

Calvin%2BCheng.png

As an ex-NMP, I would think that Calvin Cheng has the decency to observe the spirit of cooling off day, which means not campaigning or canvassing for votes.

The ELD said on 9th Sep that "Candidates and their SUPPORTERS should refrain from conduct that goes against the spirit behind the prohibition against campaigning on Cooling-off Day and Polling Day."

Although cooling off day does not apply to individuals, it does apply to alternative news channels. If Calvin Cheng has indeed reached 1 million people as he has claimed, then he is more influential than an alternative news channel. Furthermore, as an ex-NMP, he has a greater responsibility to show impartiality and respect for the voting process.

In my humble opinion, Calvin Cheng is the worst NMP ever nominated for Parliament. The NMP system was supposed to bring alternative voices with distinguished public service records not affiliated with any political party into the Parliament. However, Calvin Cheng was a member of YPAP when he was an NMP which in itself is a conflict of interest. This conflict of interest turned out to be true as Calvin Cheng was hardly non-partisan. His rhetoric is at best weak and at worst, one-sided half truths or plain lies. Furthermore, when found guilty by the Competition Commissions of Singapore of price-fixing, he justified it by claiming that it is good for society, comparing himself to the likes of Microsoft and Bill Gates.

Fortunately, we have had many other great NMPs like Eunice Olsen, Eugene Tan, Kuik Shiao-Yin and Siew Kum Hong, who helped restore the purpose and identity of the NMP scheme and helped bring alternative non-Partisan voices to Parliament.

PS: Observing, the spirit of Polling Day and as a non-partisan member of society who has no distinguished public service record (unlike Calvin Cheng), I am not here to convince or canvass you to vote for any party. You are free to vote for any party you wish, and your vote is secret.

L.A.M.

Link: http://johnislam.blogspot.sg/2015/09/on-calvin-chengs-polling-day-post.html

LAMtopia

No one interested in Calvin Cheng liao ah? If that's the case can close this thread?

zhaohan

u cant be a NMP by opposing the incumbent, hence his behaviour

Senna Wales

So many words, so little content. What did we learn from his post? Nothing we don't already know. Waste of time.

informal

if the person who was heading or championing some initiatives can always handover to the nxt person one what. no one is indispensible

d515s23

Tan Cheng Bock was right to vote against NMP because he know there will be people like this idiot.

kindaichi83

kar cheng is the most disgusting fag ever to grace this planet.

nmp is supposed to be more or less neutral but this blatant support is just sick. i hope he dies by being knocked or choked and i meant every word of it.

hope he go commit suicide also.

Jin_GY

No matter how many balls he carry, he can't make it into the parliament one lah. He is the worst kind of mp we can have. We have lost George Yeo, what's more a xia suay. Next on the list is Vivian......

blong

Wow talk until like that, his success in real life must greatly depend on PAP being in absolute power.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.