Can buy SIA stocks now? they must have bought a lot of oil futures to hedge right??

alchemist_acid

what if they have already sold the future contracts at a loss in order to raise cash? :s13::s13:

theMKR

its moi idea hor, dun front run moi.

moi currently unemployed, let me find job first, collect pay, buy SIA 1st, then u all buy

Eternal-fire

transac

They hedge to use not to sell. It may reduce its operating cost but if I am not wrong only 20% are hedge. The rising cost of the remaining 80% is likely to offset any gains.

theMKR

They hedge to use not to sell. It may reduce its operating cost but if I am not wrong only 20% are hedge. The rising cost of the remaining 80% is likely to offset any gains.
now demand lower, might as well sell....

o0KelviN0o

They’re gonna sell it to other airlines and buy more. Buy low sell high!

Geminiboy

When it concerns money, moi no troll.

Source [Real News] : https://www.channelnewsasia.com/business/singapore-airlines-expect-q4-loss-fuel-hedges-936701

So basically, if oil continues to stay up, or go to potential $300 per barrel, SIA is going to huat BIG liao.....

What do you think?

Disclaimer: moi have no SIA shares, and have never bought an air tix before.... :sad:
you really think so? they kena burnt so badly by their pre-covid oil hedges when air travel came to a halt in 2020. at the moment, they have to conserve cash until full recovery. even if they do hedge, do you think they will dare hedge a lot given the uncertainty still how much air travel will recover.

theMKR

you really think so? they kena burnt so badly by their pre-covid oil hedges when air travel came to a halt in 2020. at the moment, they have to conserve cash until full recovery. even if they do hedge, do you think they will dare hedge a lot given the uncertainty still how much air travel will recover.
assuming they didnt change their positions.

they hedge at 58, when it was 30, a difference of -28 they loss 2.5b

now its 130.... a difference of +72..... guess how much they gain?

Geminiboy

assuming they didnt change their positions.

they hedge at 58, when it was 30, a difference of -28 they loss 2.5b

now its 130.... a difference of +72..... guess how much they gain?
yes if they have taken all their contract deliveries and stored all the fuel somewhere until now. but they could also have sold quite a lot to raise cash, because there are storage fees to pay. need to look into their financial statements to have a clue.

theMKR

yes if they have taken all their contract deliveries and stored all the fuel somewhere until now. but they could also have sold quite a lot to raise cash, because there are storage fees to pay. need to look into their financial statements to have a clue.
i would expect them to sell and not play contango has they are eventually not a oil trading coy.

but my projection is based on 58usd a barrel futures until march 2025.....

Arshavin2015

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.