Can someone explain the fall of Sim Lim to me?

Emperor_Hippo

Song bros still there?
No more already I think.

Level 6 all kena taken over by KTV.

If you are talking about the most consistent shop, it's the game shop at the corner of Level 4.
Those guys had been there for nearly 20 years.

tokong

Now you are talking sense. I think Sim Lim case is much more than just rentals... More challenges are from those online shops... Just my 3 cents.
The shops can go online also.

Back to the same issue which Ma Yun pinpointed before: if you don't change, the environment will change you.

Wix is a very good easy to use tool to build a sell site. too bad, good tool, lazy people.

tokong

Don't pin it on Jover.

He merely brought back to the consciousness of the masses, where is Sim Lim Square.
It had always been there. Everyone knows about it.
Aftershock changed to move with times, sell online in front, backend is factory, now huat until cannot recog house. if they still in sim lim now probably i guess already still a struggling small shop.

coyote

The shops can go online also.

Back to the same issue which Ma Yun pinpointed byefore: if you don't change, the environment will change you.

Wix is a very good easy to use tool to build a sell site. too bad, good tool, lazy people.

Many of the shops already went online. You can check on shopee to see many familiar names there.

Conway

Aftershock changed to move with times, sell online in front, backend is factory, now huat until cannot recog house. if they still in sim lim now probably i guess already still a struggling small shop.
people like to **** on aftershock but they are one of the pioneers in this space imo

buy their pre build or customize your own, deliver to your place. after sales service all in.

no need ownself go sls, no need draw money, no need waste time comparing price then ump between shops to get all the parts to save few bucks. no need cab home

is actually decent if you dont wanna waste too much time doing your own research before buying.

Mclairs83

in the past, i have to make do with other parts because of out of stock.. and if i insist, i need to go up and down to each store and find the parts i want. it's so ******* irritating and tiring.

imagine u want to DIY a PC, i spent 3-4hrs finding the parts i want. come back home still need to self assemble.. its like an event running from morning till night.

now with shopee, lazada + taobao. to me makes no sense to support local brick & mortar retailers already.

SinkieAMDL

For games it's easy: long time already have Steam and etc. Also these days with this country and homes getting more and more cramped, even if want to collect physical boxes, no space. So now no choice all buy digital. Last time when I move home had to throw away all my music CD's. Sibei heart pain. But no choice, keep moving into smaller and smaller house coz now we sinkies bo bian competing with all the tiongs et al in rental market. So no space for hobbies and etc.

For hardware: these days hardware really last much MUCH longer. Last time games used to really push hardware, so get extra 30-50% FPS from CPU/GPU upgrade really matters when already struggling to maintain 40-50FPS. These days, as long as stick to 1080p or 1440p, can really stretch. I used my 1080Ti all the way until 4000 Series released, and even then I decided to change from desktop to notebook because I sibei BTH all the shops at SLS when they overcharged for hardware during COVID.

So I went from 1080Ti Desktop to 3080Ti Laptop (playing at 1080P). For me because of the whole COVID saga price gouging SLS and esp distro's like Ban-Phark-Leong have permanently lost my business in SG. At the end the SLS shops suffer, well too bad. They had their one-time fun, now me and many friends permanently boycott. Some of us change to notebooks, others change to pre-built from the bigger manufacturers. And seriously, 3080Ti Laptop runs everything for me at 100+ FPS. Esp since mostly play smaller indie games.

Emperor_Hippo

in the past, i have to make do with other parts because of out of stock.. and if i insist, i need to go up and down to each store and find the parts i want. it's so ******* irritating and tiring.

imagine u want to DIY a PC, i spent 3-4hrs finding the parts i want. come back home still need to self assemble.. its like an event running from morning till night.

now with shopee, lazada + taobao. to me makes no sense to support local brick & mortar retailers already.
Not exactly. It's a sadistic thrill.

tokong

Many of the shops already went online. You can check on shopee to see many familiar names there.

Shopee is too cluttered. I think in the early 2000s got some chap wanted to build an online mall for Sim Lim (like Aliexpress but only for Sim Lim Square stores), he went to pitch his deck but wasn't selected.

I thought that was a great idea but oh well.

Emperor_Hippo

It's business.

If they were to continue remaining that "we are all friends, let's have fun" mentality, they would had shuttered eons ago.

Sure, its "just PC parts", but for Aftershockz, the probable strategy is never about "selling parts" but banking on branding and the inherent laziness of 95% of the folks who will come to the eventual realization that it's a pain in the a** to walk around, buy parts, self-assemble, setup and troubleshoot.

Because Aftershockz does not want to earn from the 5% of true hardcore.
They wanna earn from the 95%.

Thus.

shodan99

Last time sls is so famous, in the early 2000s, my Dutch engineers also know sls. On weekends in Singapore, they will go shopping at sls for pc parts.

tokong

Put your knowledge on that to good use. I see that you have good pc hw skills.

Order the parts from Taobao or Aliexpress will do, cheap and good.

I worked in Sim Lim back in 1998. Until now I still got a few lobangs to earn pocket money on weekends.

Today just finished replacing an industrial place's C: to a new SSD a while ago.

Fhkj8li.jpeg

Emperor_Hippo

I worked in Sim Lim back in 1998. Until now I still got a few lobangs to earn pocket money on weekends.

Today just finished replacing an industrial place's C: to a new SSD a while ago.

Fhkj8li.jpeg
The utter lack of such DIY skills and laziness in our populace is costing them money.

Change out one SSD = Few hundred dollars + a few minutes
Change out the whole set = Few thousand dollars + a few days

But for some strange illogical reason, people seem to favour the latter choice cos they think its a waste of time and Marketing folks are deceiving the general population on the whole "compatibility" thing.

The_King

Fhkj8li.jpeg
What brand of he u get from tb?

sales69

Fhkj8li.jpeg
Change HDD can make money now???

Sic lobang pls. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.